Learn about using and researching AI tools like ChatGPT.
Tips for doing research ABOUT ChatGPT
Artificial intelligence and tools like ChatGPT are a fascinating research topic. Here are a few tips as you work on finding sources and learning more about these tools.
Example keywords or search terms:
- chatGPT
- artificial intelligence or ai
- large language models
- generative ai
- machine learning
- chatbots
- Language models
- ethics or bias
- Prompt engineering
- misinformation
- racism
- Reinforcement Learning from Human Feedback (RLHF)
- content moderation
- ghost workers
- algorithm
- artificial general intelligence
- deepfakes
- AI generated images
- AI watermarking
- AI generated music
- ai generated art
One way to narrow this topic could be to consider how it impacts certain parts of life. For example:
- Law and legal
- Healthcare and medicine
- Business or employment
- Education and learning
- Science
- Publishing and writing
- Communication studies
- Art
- Music
- and more
Suggested databases to search for sources:
- ACM (Association For Computing Machinery) Digital LibraryFull text of most Association for Computing Machinery journals and proceedings since 1950. It also includes publications of affiliated organizations.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteSearch for journal articles on topics such as communication, mass media, film, television, marketing, business communication, health communication, and more.
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Sample of books available from the UMN Libraries
Machine learning and artificial intelligence by ISBN: 9783031122828Publication Date: 2023The new edition of this popular professional book on artificial intelligence (ML) and machine learning (ML) has been revised for classroom or training use. The new edition provides comprehensive coverage of combined AI and ML theory and applications. Rather than looking at the field from only a theoretical or only a practical perspective, this book unifies both perspectives to give holistic understanding. The first part introduces the concepts of AI and ML and their origin and current state. The second and third parts delve into conceptual and theoretic aspects of static and dynamic ML techniques. The fourth part describes the practical applications where presented techniques can be applied. The fifth part introduces the user to some of the implementation strategies for solving real life ML problems.
Augmented education in the global age : artificial intelligence and the future of learning and work by ISBN: 9781003230762Publication Date: 2023Augmented Education in the Global Age: Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Learning and Work is an edited collection that explores the impact of Artificial Intelligence on learning and work, and how this emerging technology will transform and disrupt our current institutions. Chapters in this book discuss the history of technological revolutions and consider the anxieties and social challenges of lost occupations as well as the new economic and labor opportunities in the evolution of industries. Chapter authors unpack the nature of augmented education, from revamping curriculum and personalizing education, to redesigning learning spaces and redefining teaching in a computational era. Ultimately the book discusses policy and planning for an augmented future, arguing that education systems are undergoing a metamorphosis and will need to adapt in order to support competitive labor systems amid global competition and the race against automating technologies.
Artificial Intelligence in Information and Communication Technologies, Healthcare and Education by ISBN: 9781003342755Publication Date: 2022-12-27Artificial Intelligence in Information and Communication Technologies, Healthcare and Education: A Roadmap Ahead is designed as a reference text and discusses inter-dependability, communication and effective control for the betterment of services through artificial intelligence, as well as the challenges and path ahead for AI in computing and control across different domains of business and human life. The book accommodates technologies and application domains including backbone hardware, systems and methods for deployment, which help incorporating intelligence through different supervised and probabilistic learning approaches. Features The book attempts to establish a connection between hardware, software technologies and algorithmic intelligence for data analysis and decision support in domains such as healthcare, education and other aspects of business and mobility. It presents various recent applications of artificial intelligence in information and communication technologies such as search and optimization methods, machine learning, data representation and ontologies, and multi-agent systems. The book provides a collection of different case studies with experimentation results than mere theoretical and generalized approaches. Covers most of the applications using the trending technologies like AI/ML/DS, IoT and underlying information and communication technologies. The book is aimed primarily at advanced undergraduates and postgraduate students studying computer science, computer applications, and information technology. Researchers and professionals will also find this book useful.
Human and machines : philosophical thinking of artificial intelligence by ISBN: 9789811963056Publication Date: 2023This book shares Chinese scholars philosophical views on artificial intelligence. The discussions range from the foundations of AIthe Turing test and creation of machine intelligenceto recent applications of AI, including decisions in games, natural languages, pattern recognition, prediction in economic contexts, autonomous behaviors, and collaborative intelligence, with the examples of AlphaGo, Microsofts Xiao Bing, medical robots, etc. The books closing chapter focuses on Chinese machines and explores questions on the cultural background of artificial intelligence. Given its scope, the book offers a valuable resource for all members of the general public who are interested in the future development of artificial intelligence, especially from the perspective of respected Chinese scholars.
Using AI for Dialoguing with Texts by ISBN: 9781000806793Publication Date: 2022-11-18This concise volume offers an accessible introduction to state-of-the-art artificial intelligence (AI) language models, providing a platform for their use in textual interpretation across the humanities and social sciences. The book outlines the affordances of new technologies for textual analysis, which has historically employed established approaches within the humanities. Neuman, Danesi, and Vilenchik argue that these different forms of analysis are indeed complementary, demonstrating the ways in which AI-based perspectives echo similar theoretical and methodological currents in traditional approaches while also offering new directions for research. The volume showcases examples from a wide range of texts, including novels, television shows, and films to illustrate the ways in which the latest AI technologies can be used for "dialoguing" with textual characters and examining textual meaning coherence. Illuminating the potential of AI language models to both enhance and extend research on the interpretation of texts, this book will appeal to scholars interested in cognitive approaches to the humanities in such fields as literary studies, discourse analysis, media studies, film studies, psychology, and artificial intelligence.
Artificial intelligence and the arts : computational creativity, artistic behavior, and tools for creatives by ISBN: 9783030594756Publication Date: 2021Emotions, creativity, aesthetics, artistic behavior, divergent thoughts, and curiosity are both fundamental to the human experience and instrumental in the development of human-centered artificial intelligence systems that can relate, communicate, and understand human motivations, desires, and needs. In this book the editors put forward two core propositions: creative artistic behavior is one of the key challenges of artificial intelligence research, and computer-assisted creativity and human-centered artificial intelligence systems are the driving forces for research in this area.
Robot souls : programming in humanity by ISBN: 9781003366614Publication Date: 2024Two of the biggest design problems in Artificial Intelligence are how to build robots that behave in line with human values and how to stop them ever going rogue. One under-explored solution to these alignment and control problems might be to examine how these are already addressed in the design of humans. Looking closely at the human blueprint, it contains a suite of capacities that are so clumsy they have generally been kept away from AI. It was assumed that robots with features like emotions and intuition, that made mistakes and looked for meaning and purpose, would not work as well as robots without this kind of code. But on considering why all these irrational properties are there, it seems that they emerge from the source code of soul. Because it is actually this 'junk' code that makes us human and promotes the kind of reciprocal altruism that keeps humanity alive and thriving. Robot Souls looks at developments in AI and reviews the emergence of ideas of consciousness and the soul. It places our 'junk code' in this context and argues that it is time to foreground that code, and to use it to look again at how we are programming AI.
Concepts of artificial intelligence and its application in modern healthcare systems by ISBN: 9781003333081Publication Date: 2024This reference text presents the usage of artificial intelligence in healthcare and discusses the challenges and solutions of using advance techniques like wearable technologies, image processing in the sector.
Artificial intelligence for business creativity by ISBN: 9781003287582Publication Date: 2024Artificial Intelligence for Business Creativity provides an in-depth examination of the integration of Artificial Intelligence (AI) into the business sector to foster creativity. The book explores the interplay between micro-level individual creativity and macro-level organizational innovation through the lens of AI. It delves into three crucial areas where AI can stimulate business creativity: product and service design, optimized processes, and enhanced organizational collaboration. The authors also highlight the versatility and capability of generative AI systems in promoting creativity and innovation. Intended for business leaders, managers, entrepreneurs, and those interested in AI and creativity, the book offers practical guidance and insightful recommendations on how organizations can effectively utilize AI to enhance their creative process.
News about these tools
Here are a few places to learn more about this technology and its impacts on college students and universities.
- MN Daily - Podcast - Episode 123: Artificial Intelligence in Education
The Minnesota Daily sat down with CSE professors to explore the rising trend of ChatGPT and its implications in the field of education. - A Generative AI Primer, May 11, 2023 from Jisc (UK)
- Ortez, Sabrina. What is ChatGPT and why does it matter? Here's what you need to know. ZDNet
- Discussing ChatGPT and Writing with Students (UMN Writing Across the Curriculum)
- Fiesler, Casey. TikTok videos exploring ChatGPT and AI in higher education, such as this introductory video.
- Inara, Scott. April 18, 2023. "Yes, we are in a (ChatGPT) crisis" Inside Higher Ed.
- Metzler, Katie. December 7, 2022. “How ChatGPT Could Transform Higher Education.” Social Science Space.
- Warner, John. December 5, 2022. “Freaking Out About ChatGPT—Part I.” Inside Higher Ed.
- Watkins, Marc. December 14, 2022. “AI Will Augment, Not Replace.” Inside Higher Ed.
- Wellborn, Aaron. March 9, 2023. "ChatGPT and Fake Citations."
- Bowman, Emma. December 19, 2022. “A new AI chatbot might do your homework for you. But it's still not an A+ student.” National Public Radio.
- What students are saying about ChatGPT. New York Times, Feb. 2, 2023
- Collection of articles on Artificial Intelligence (AI) from EDUCAUSE
- Shannon Bond, June 13, 2023. "AI-generated images are everywhere. Here's how to spot them" from National Public Radio.
- Choi, Jonathan H. and Hickman, Kristin E. and Monahan, Amy and Schwarcz, Daniel B., ChatGPT Goes to Law School (January 23, 2023). Journal of Legal Education.
- What is Social Justice and How Can AI Help Achieve It? from USC Center for AI in Society, 2019.
- Sample, Ian. Programs to detect AI discriminate against non-native English speakers, shows study from the Guardian, 2023.
Watermarks
- Kyle Wiggers, December 10, 2022. "OpenAI’s attempts to watermark AI text hit limits" from TechCrunch
- Tammy Xu, April 21,2023, "With AI Watermarking, Creators Strike Back" from IEEE Spectrum
Criticisms of the technology
Here are a few places to learn more about the limitations and criticisms of this technology:
- Marks, Andrea. 2023. Bestiality and Beyond: ChatGTP Works Because Underpaid Workers Read About Horrible Things. Rolling Stone.
- Bogost, Ian. 2022. ChatGPT Is Dumber Than You Think Treat it like a toy, not a tool. The Atlantic
- Aomuoh, Fionna. 2023. The 6 biggest problems with ChatGPT right now. DigitalTrends.
- Perrigo, Billiy. 2023. OpenAI Used Kenyan Workers on Less Than $2 Per Hour to Make ChatGPT Less Toxic. Time.
- David, Emilia. 2022. Viral chatbot ChatGPT will be overhyped, then overlooked, and then, perhaps, essential. Business Insider.
- McQuinllan, Dan. 2023. ChatGPT Is a Bullshit Generator Waging Class War. Vice.
- Antoine, Allen. 2023. BlackGPT: Five Reasons That Black Students Should Learn About and Use Artificial Intelligence Models. Computer Science Teachers Association.
Impacts on research or science
Here are a few places to learn more as they apply to research that faculty or students might do :
- Giray, L. (2023). Prompt Engineering with ChatGPT: A Guide for Academic Writers. Annals of Biomedical Engineering. https://doi.org/10.1007/s10439-023-03272-4
- Hill-Yardin, E., Hutchinson, M., Laycock, R., & Spencer, S. (2023). A Chat(GPT) about the future of scientific publishing. Brain, Behavior, and Immunity, 110, 152-154.
- Illia, Laura, et al. “Ethical Implications of Text Generation in the Age of Artificial Intelligence.” Business Ethics, the Environment & Responsibility, vol. 32, no. 1, 2023, pp. 201–10.
- Manjoo, F. (2020, Jul 30). How Do You Know a Human Wrote This?: [Op-Ed]. New York Times.
-
Biswas, S. (2023). Role of Chat GPT in Public Health. Annals of Biomedical Engineering, Annals of biomedical engineering, 2023.
-
Thunström, Almira Osmanovic. June 30, 2022. “We Asked GPT-3 to Write an Academic Paper about Itself—Then We Tried to Get It Published.” Scientific American.
Impacts on creatives and creators
Here are a few places to learn more as they apply to the arts, music, images, video, etc.
- Joe Coscarelli, April 19, 2023. "An A.I. Hit of Fake ‘Drake’ and ‘The Weeknd’ Rattles the Music World" from New York Times
- July 11, 2023. "Ask the Expert: What are legal issues surrounding AI, its impact on the arts?" from Indiana University
- Erik Uebelacker. July 9, 2023. "Sarah Silverman Sues ChatGPT Creator for Copyright Infringement" from the Daily Beast.
- Clare Hutchinson & Phil John. July 20, 2023. "AI: Digital artist's work copied more times than Picasso" from BBC News.
- Adam Hencz. "AI-Generated Art Controversy: The Future of Creativity or a Replacement for Human Talent?" from Artland Magazine.
- Sara Shaffi, January 23, 2023. ‘It’s the opposite of art’: why illustrators are furious about AI" from the Guardian.
Last Updated: Apr 8, 2024 11:47 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/chatgpt