A freely available search tool and widget that brings together over 400,000 digitized materials documenting African American culture and history from over 1,000 libraries, archives, and cultural heritage institutions.
Digital collection of primary sources related to critical people and events in African American history. From Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement, through the Civil War, to the Civil Rights Movement and the Contemporary Era.
A wide range of Black Studies resources including scholarly journals from around the world, US Black Newspapers, scholarly essays, historic indexes of Black Studies literature, and historic photos and videos.
Search printed historic materials such as books, pamphlets and broadsides (early posters) which record African American history, literature and culture. Topics include descriptions of African American lifeslave and freethroughout the Americas, abolitionist movements and much more.
The Givens Collection consists of over 10,000 books, magazines, and pamphlets by or about African Americans. Included are novels, poetry, plays, short stories, essays, literary criticism, periodicals, and biographies that span nearly 250 years of American culture, with particular strength in the areas of the Harlem Renaissance and the Black Arts Movement.
Use this database to find newspapers published by or for African Americans exploring such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history, ethnic studies, political science, ethnic studies, diaspora studies, and womens studies.
Search a collection of African-American press in the South from Reconstruction through the Jim Crow period. Written by African Americans for African Americans. Includes first-hand reporting, editorials, and features on current domestic and international events, often focusing on racial issues. Also poetry, lessons on manners and prayer, instruction for raising children, and lifestyle advice for young men and women, and news about churches, particularly the African Methodist Episcopal (A.M.E.) Zion church.
Titles include: The Advocate (1907-1912), Athens Republique (1921-1926), The Banner-Enterprise (1883-1884), The Bee (1882-1884), The Black Dispatch (1917-1922), The Educator (1874-1875), The Langston City Herald (1892-1900), The Louisianian (1870-1871), The Muskogee Cimeter (1904-1920), The Nashville Globe (1907-1918), The National Forum (1910), Pioneer Press (1911-1917), The Republican (1873-1875), Semi-Weekly Louisianian (1871-1872), The Tulsa Star (1913 -1921), Western World (1903-1904).
African American newspapers that are included in the ProQuest Historical Newspaper collection: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)
Search old editions major U.S. newspapers and the Times of India. Papers include the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Other titles include the Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Christian Science Monitor, Jewish Advocate, the Jewish Exponent, Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, South China Morning Post, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1990, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
This fully searchable full-text archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.
This full-text archive covers art, news, politics and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes over 3,100 issues providing a broad view of culture, fashion and entertainment from its first issue in 1951 through 2014.
Find articles from scholarly journals in the field of Black Studies from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary; spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social, and political issues of importance to the Black Studies discipline.