Cannabis research: agricultural, environmental and edibles

This book highlights current Cannabis research: its botany, authentication, biotechnology, in vitro propagation, chemistry, cannabinoids biosynthesis, metabolomics, genomics, biomass production, quality control, and pharmacology.

The legislative requirement for cannabis to undergo laboratory testing has followed legalization of medical and recreational use in every U.S. state to date.

Hemp and cannabis, both belonging to Cannabis sativa, have emerged as some of the most valuable crops because of their multiple functionalities - industrial, medicinal, and recreational uses. Like all other crops, they are at risk of diseases and pests. In certain cases, an entire hemp field can fail due to unexpected disease. As a new and highly regulated crop, research on Cannabis crop diseases is scarce, and the science of plant diagnostics is not well covered in the literature.

Recent Advances in the Science of Cannabis describes progress in a variety of significant areas of cannabis science. This unique book covers topics in cultivation and secondary metabolites, aroma and chemotypes, cannabinoid structures, physiology and pharmacology, as well as the development of unique topical products. State-of-the-art analytical methods and instrumentation are covered, including current developments in mass spectrometry and chromatography, as well as microbial testing.

The surge of interest in cannabis-based medicinal products has put an extremely high demand on testing capabilities, particularly for contaminants such as heavy metals, which are naturally taken up through the roots of the plants from the soil, growing medium, and fertilizers but can also be negatively impacted by the grinding equipment and extraction/distillation process.

Hemp as a Modern U.S. Commodity Crop provides an overview of industrial hemp as an agronomic crop in western cropping systems. Emphasis is given to the long history of hemp, mostly in the United States, and to current production issues pertinent in the US as well as Europe and Canada. There are many questions still to be answered - starting with those to be addressed by the most basic classical plant breeding techniques and continuing to the most modern analytical techniques of plant tissues and genetics.

This is the most accessible, attractive, and easy-to-use beginner's guide to growing marijuana. In only 144 illustrated pages, High Times editor, Danny Danko, covers the basics of successful pot cultivation. "This book gives new growers the exact information they need to grow successful cannabis crops.

A simple step-by-step system for identifying, repairing, and preventing problems with marijuana plants. What's Wrong with My Marijuana Plant? is the first problem-solving book for marijuana growers with an effective and easy-to-use visual diagnostic system pioneered by Deardorff and Wadsworth for identifying pest, disease, and environmental problems by symptom. What are those rusty spots on your leaves? What bug is eating your buds? Why are your sativa sprouts covered in fuzz? Find out fast AND learn how to fix it! This bookcontains all-organic solutions (vitally important to protect your health, the health of your plants, and the environment) plus best growing practices to avoid problems before they start. Written in easily understandable, non-technical language and heavily illustrated with precise photography to allow rapid and accurate diagnosis, this is an essential resource for beginning and experienced growers alike.

This guide is the culmination of 20 years of experience in marijuana cultivation and collaboration with growers from all over Europe. For the enthusiast and professional alike, this is the most authoritative grow book to be released in more than a decade. With more than 200 photographs and 20 tables, it describes in detail how growers can maximise their yield and potency of their crops using state-of-the-art equipment and tools available from any gardening store. The first book to fully explain the newset growing technique, Screen of Green, that is sweeping through Europe.

Ed Rosenthal's Cannabis Grower's Handbook is the definitive guide for all cultivators - from first-time home growers to experienced large-scale commercial cannabis operators. It breaks down the fundamentals of marijuana cultivation and demonstrates their practical applications in gardens of any size. Learn new techniques to maximise yield and efficiency and to grow bigger, more potent resinous buds.

Food Safety Lessons for Cannabis-Infused Edibles details the world of cannabis-infused edibles and the way its manufacturing is evolving as the industry moves from isolation to regulatory compliance. The cannabis industry has unique challenges as cannabis-infused edibles are not regulated as food, drugs or dietary supplements at the federal level. Despite these current conditions, the industry is aware of the need to examine the safety of these edibles and prepare for a future of federal compliance. The book looks at the cannabis industry through a scientific lens to increase awareness and expertise in food safety within the field of cannabis-infused edibles. Includes lessons learned by the food industry Presents unique challenges in the manufacture of cannabis-infused edibles Provides information of US Federal food safety compliance Explores the current state of research regarding edibles

Analysis of Cannabis, Volume 91, contains a wide variety of information on the analysis of cannabis and hemp, including cannabinoids, terpenes, volatile solvents and metals. Specific chapters in this new release include the Comprehensive Analytical Testing of Cannabis and Hemp, Machine Learning Methods for Inferring Chemotype Profiles in Cannabis Sativa, Recent Analytical Methodologies and Strategic Pharmacological Applications of Cannabinoids, Analysis of Cannabinoids in Plants, Marijuana Products and Biological Tissues, LC-based (UV and MS) Analysis of Cannabinoids, Testing Cannabis Samples for Heavy Metal Contamination using Microwave Assisted Digestion and ICP-MS Techniques, Applications of GC-MS Techniques for Cannabis Analysis, and much more.

Take your baking to new heights with these 50 delicious, home-baker friendly cannabis-infused desserts. There has been a long tradition of marijuana-infused baked goods. Brownies are the perennial favorite, but as legalization sweeps the country, the humble brownie is starting to look, well, boring. Enter Sugar High, which shows you how to dose your dough and make the very best cannabis-baked goods. From the pioneer of cannabis-infused cooking, these 50 recipes range from sweet treats that are elegant and classic to bars, cakes, and cookies that are gooey and decadent. Recipes include the following: -Brown Butter Salted Chocolate Chip Cookies -Tart and Sweet Citrus Bars -The Easiest Strawberry Shortcake -S'Mores Bars -Decadent Seasonal Trifle -Creamy Coconut Gelato -Doughnuts with Strawberry, Maple, and Chocolate Glazes -And more! Fun and authoritative, Sugar High will also guide the reader to choosing the strain and dose of cannabis that's right for them so that enthusiasts and dabblers alike can whip up sweet treats to share with--and wow--their friends.

"The Julia Child of Weed" (Daily Beast) presents a foodie's guide to cannabis: a smart, sophisticated, and inviting lifestyle cookbook, featuring 100 delectable recipes and 75 full-color photos, that teaches at-home chefs how to safely create and experience edibles. JeffThe420Chef is revolutionizing the world of edibles. He first began cooking with cannabis to help a close friend's mother manage the pain, nausea, and discomfort of cancer treatments. Along the way, he developed an intricate process that effectively neutralizes the taste of cannabis when infusing it into butters and oils--opening the door to a new understanding of edibles. In The Ganja Gourmet, JeffThe420Chef teaches home cooks how to safely create and experience healthy cannabis edibles. He begins with his signature "light tasting" CannaButter and CannaOils, which are the secret to his outrageously delicious and truly unique recipes. By mastering these staples, you can easily incorporate cannabis into everyday dishes--and the pot-sibilities are endless! From Eggs Canna-dict and Gnocchi with Hazelnut Canna-Pesto to Fish Tacos with Chipotle Canna-aioli and Pot-zah Ball Soup, these mouthwatering recipes take cooking with cannabis beyond midnight munchies, delighting the taste buds of recreational and medicinal users alike. The Ganja Gourmet covers everything from brunch and small plates to salads and gourmet dinners, offering gluten free, vegetarian, vegan, and kosher options along the way. These recipes are fully adaptable to your needs, whether you want a full course meal for pain management or a quick snack to help you focus, relax, and enhance creativity. JeffThe420Chef combines his fun-loving approach to cooking with practical information about marijuana--including specifics about dosing, the principal strains, and the ingredient's medical and recreational benefits. Whether you're new to edibles or a long-time medicinal user, The Ganja Gourmet will educate and entertain you, all while serving as your ultimate guide to cannabliss.

The award-winning culinary herbalist shows how easy, safe, and delicious it is to cook with cannabis--with the help of her unique, foolproof dosing chart. This cookbook makes it easy to master the art of cooking and baking with cannabis! More than 100 recipes feature a spectrum of single-serve dishes, from healthy to decadent, all of which include raw or decarboxylated cannabis (a heating process that converts THCA into psychoactive THC). Plenty of practical information covers key issues such as extracting the maximum benefit from cannabis, dosing, and infusing with cannabis, as well as tips for first-time users who wish to safely make delicious cannabis edibles. Every serving delivers 5mg THC, just the right amount to experience both the recreational and gustatory pleasures of cannabis. There are so many delicious choices for every meal--Canna-Pancakes or a Mini Quiche with Arugula & Smoked Salmon for breakfast, for example, or a Black Bean Burger or Asparagus-Stuffed Mushrooms for later in the day. You'll also find innovative riffs on popular snacks, like hummus and tostadas, along with a stellar list of desserts, including Grilled Bananas with Canna-Honey, Savory Pears, and Chocolate Truffles.

"The go-to private chef for cannabinated celebrities and weed lovers . . . is using marijuana to take gourmet dining to a higher level." --LA Weekly A Forbes "The Best Cannabis Cookbooks" Selection In her cookbook, chef and author Andrea Drummer guides home cooks through an adventure of the palette. Chef Drummer is a firm believer that the food always comes first. Cannabis Cuisine is about the art of marijuana as an ingredient. It's more than a cannabis cookbook. Like a fine wine, cannabis is meant to be paired according to its unique profile. With every dish, she looks to the textures, flavors and scents of the bud before masterfully pairing it with ingredients that transcend the dish. The culinary arts and science of responsible dosage are presented in a way that treats cannabis as one of the best ingredients in the world to cook with. Every item she prepares incorporates the flavor profile of the strain that she is using with what is being prepared, thus the cannabis is just as important as any other ingredient. Never before have recipes been presented like this. From the comforts of southern kitchens to the upscale stoves of Michelin star restaurants, each recipe is carefully crafted to elevate both the dish and the cook. In this book, you'll learn: The basics of pairing buds How to create unique butters and oils to incorporate in every meal Tips for elevating breakfast, lunch and dinner The secret of marijuana as a flavor powerhouse How to properly dose cannabis infused cuisine "Not only is her food out-of-this-world amazing, but her attention to detail is truly unique." --PopSugar

An Upscale Cookbook for Enthusiasts of All Skill Levels That Approaches Cannabis as an Ingredient to Explore Cannabis is one of the hottest ingredients to hit the culinary world, and cannabis-infused food is an evolving art and science. In The Cannabis Kitchen Cookbook, chefs in the know from Amherst to Anaheim share their secrets for infusing everything from oil and agave to soups and cocktails with this once taboo ingredient. Covering every meal from brunch to late-night cocktails and snacks, The Cannabis Kitchen Cookbook approaches cannabis as yet another fine ingredient to be studied and savored, like a great wine, a premium cigar, gourmet chocolate, or single malt scotch. With more than one hundred fully tested recipes from experienced professional chefs, The Cannabis Kitchen Cookbook guides readers through the process of making fresh, tasty, and healthy home-cooked meals using cannabis as the main additive. The cookbook also provides step-by-step instructions on preparing cannabis for use in the kitchen as well as advice on personalizing dosage for different tastes. Tips for trimming, processing, storing, and preserving cannabis are included along with a "buyer's guide" that sheds light on the many varieties of cannabis flavor profiles, showcasing strains based not only on feel-good levels, but more importantly, taste-good levels Contributors to this Collection include . . . Leslie Cerier * Mike DeLao * Scott Durrah * Joey Galeano * Rowan Lehrman * Andie Leon * Catjia Redfern * Herb Seidel * Donna Shields * Grace Gutierrez * Lucienne Bercow Lazarus * Emily Sloat * Rabib Rafiq * Chris Kilham Skyhorse Publishing, along with our Good Books and Arcade imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of cookbooks, including books on juicing, grilling, baking, frying, home brewing and winemaking, slow cookers, and cast iron cooking. We've been successful with books on gluten-free cooking, vegetarian and vegan cooking, paleo, raw foods, and more. Our list includes French cooking, Swedish cooking, Austrian and German cooking, Cajun cooking, as well as books on jerky, canning and preserving, peanut butter, meatballs, oil and vinegar, bone broth, and more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

Bring cannabis into your kitchen with these tasty recipes for bite-sized, low-dose treats A tasty and unique collection of cannabis recipes: This collection of 30 bite-sized, low-dose recipes ventures boldly beyond pot brownies with tasty, unique, and innovative treats. Designed for bakers of all skill levels, Edibles: Small Bites for the Modern Cannabis Kitchen includes simple recipes like Spiced Superfood Truffles alongside more advanced recipes like Strawberry Jam Pavlovas - all brought to life with vibrant photography. How to make magical butter and cannabis oils: Complete with instructions for creating master cannabis ingredients such as magical butter and oils, as well as detailed information on dosage and portions, Edibles gives newbies and cannabis connoisseurs alike the info they need to create an easy, safe, and absolutely heavenly edibles experience. Delectable cannabis edibles sweets & treats: If you've enjoyed recipes from The Medical Marijuana Dispensary by Laurie Wolf & Mary Wolf, The Official High Times Cannabis Cookbook by Elise McDonough & Sara Remington or Cannabis Cuisine by Andrea Drummer - you'll want to take pleasure in savoring the collection of cannabis edibles treats in Edibles: Small Bites for the Modern Cannabis Kitchen.