Related Guides
Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
Getting Started
Find Articles:
- International Encyclopedia of LinguisticsOnline encyclopedia on linguistics, including historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics including connections of linguistics with other disciplines of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies.
- Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)Search journals in linguistics and language sciences from 1973 to the present including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics in journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
- Revista Internacional de Lingüística IberoamericanaA journal specialized in linguistics jointly published by Iberoamericana Editorial Vervuert, the Ibero-American Institute of Bremen University and the Ibero-American Institute of Berlin.
Find Books:
Biculturalism and Spanish in Contact: Sociolinguistic Case Studies by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781315100357Publication Date: 2018Provides an original and modern analysis of the development of Spanish and its contact with other languages using a sociolinguistic framework from both synchronic and diachronic angles.
The Linguistics Student's Handbook (2nd ed.) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781474474085Publication Date: 2021Part reference work, part revision guide, and with tables providing summary information on some 300 languages, the book provides a new learning tool as a supplement to your usual textbooks.
Lingüística de corpus en español / The Routledge Handbook of Spanish Corpus Linguistics by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780429329296Publication Date: 2022
Multilingualism: a Very Short Introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198724995Publication Date: 2017Considering multilingualism in the context of globalization, Maher also looks at the fate of many endangered languages as they disappear from the world.- The Cambridge Handbook of Spanish Linguistics byCall Number: eBookISBN: 9781316779194Publication Date: 2018A state-of-the-art, in-depth survey of the topics, approaches and theories in Spanish linguistics today. The language is researched from a number of different perspectives.
Additional Resources to Check Out:
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the WorldEthnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world's known living languages. Our subscription features include: language profiles, classic static country language maps, country profiles, and language family trees (classification).
- OLAC Language Resource Catalog SearchFrom the Open Language Archives Community (OLAC), it provides citations and some direct access to information about languages, including details of text collections, audio recordings, dictionaries, and software, sourced from dozens of digital and traditional archives.
- Blackwell Handbooks in Linguistics (series)eBooks and print books in the "Blackwell Handbooks in Linguistics" series held at UMN Libraries
- Linguistic Data ConsortiumLDC is a repository for linguistic datasets, corpora, and other resources for research on human language. Use the link above to view descriptions and sign up for access to the corpora and datasets available to current UMN faculty, students, and staff. Quick overview of corpora available.
Last Updated: Sep 27, 2024 2:05 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/spanishlinguistics