History, Iberian, and Latin American Studies Librarian
This guide is designed for new researchers to find articles, sources and get started with research in topics related to history including all periods of history and all geographical areas.
What are citations?
Citations indicate:
- which ideas are taken from others
- from whom those ideas were taken; give credit where credit is due
- allow researchers to find, read, and comment on each others’ sources
- Tutorial: What are citations?Understand what citations are, why they are important, and how to create and use them.
Resources for Chicago Manual of Style
- Purdue Online Writing LabGOOD FIRST STOP FOR CITATION QUESTIONS. Online guide to formatting citations in Chicago as well as APA, MLA and other styles.
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineThis resource provides online access to the latest edition of The Chicago Manual of Style, which covers a variety of topics from manuscript preparation and publication to grammar, usage, and citation formating. The citation quick guide covers both the author-date and the notes and bibliography systems.
Citations Managers
What are citation managers? They are apps that allow you to import citation information from databases and catalogs, save PDFs, and format citations for your research using different citations styles (e.g. MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.). Some managers also allow you to include your own notes.
Common citation managers include Zotero, Mendeley, and Endnote. Many of these are FREE! More information on citations and a comparison of citation managers.
- Citation Managers (e.g. Zotero, EndNote Online, etc.)Citation managers are software packages used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to: import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources; save links to pdfs and other documents; format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles; and include your own notes.
- Citation Manager WorkshopsUMN Libraries offers a number of 1-hr. workshops on citation managers throughout the year. These include a general introduction to citation managers as well workshops on Zotero and EndNote. Registration required.
RESOURCES FOR ZOTERO
- Zotero (Citation tool)Free, web-based software that is useful for organizing your research sources, creating bibliographies and sharing sources with others.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 3:15 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/histmajorpaper