Goldstein Museum of Design

This digital collection of historic reports provides accessibility to early information about the City of Madison around the turn of the 20th century. The Madison Park and Pleasure Drive Association Reports denote the moneys received and expended and work done by the Madison Park and Pleasure Drive Association in order to attract attention to the city's natural beauty and surrounding lakes. The impetus behind the association was that by making Madison's natural surroundings more accessible, visitors would get a better idea of the magnificence of the location, and advantages of Madison as a summer resort or place of permanent residence. The Madison Park and Pleasure Drive Association Reports offer a glimpse into a time in local history when pleasure drives were first considered, and thought to be of skeptical benefit to the public. These same drives and walkways are now considered an integral part of Madison's landscape. The Museum's holdings of books, wood and metal type, hand presses, and printing equipment are part of a world class collection to preserve the history of American letterpress and printing heritage. Our partnership with the University of Wisconsin Library Digital Collections Center has allowed us to add the original journal and ledger books from Hamilton's early history and share that bounty of hand-written entries to a world wide audience.

Though digital tools may have allowed designers new power and flexibility, typography remains the bedrock of good graphics, and one of the most exciting areas of experimentation. Despite the myriad collections of type design produced, no one has before attempted a thematic and critical overview of digital typography and the oft-unpublished radical works that lead to these designs. This book is extensively illustrated with the work of dozens of typographers from around the world, and illuminates the rich history of digital typography from its physical properties and production methods, through the development of typographic styles, to the full diversity of its uses in print, architecture, film, TV, and other media.

Theory of Type Design, by internationally renowned Dutch graphic designer and typographer Gerard Unger (born 1942), is the first complete and accessible theory of the breathtakingly varied field of typography. "Of all designed objects letters are probably the most pervasive," as Unger explains at the beginning of his study. "Very familiar yet amazingly diverse in their appearance ... there seems to be no limit to human ingenuity when it comes to varying letterforms." Unger approaches the diversity and creativity of the field with a wide-ranging, reflective, critical theory of how we design and make sense of text. The history of typography is surveyed, from cuneiform script to Wim Crouwel's New Alphabet and today's digital developments, and explored in relation to how our eyes and brain process various letter shapes in order to understand text. This volume consists of 24 concise chapters, each clearly describing a different aspect of type design (from practical considerations like spacing and rhythm, legibility, size and italics to more ineffable considerations like personality and preference). This theoretical material is illuminated by more than 200 illustrations and practical examples, and an extensive glossary succinctly explains terminology and key ideas. Internationally oriented, and taking into consideration the past, present and future of typography, Theory of Type Design will be an indispensible resource for graphic design students, professionals, and those with a general interest in text and printed matter.

The Anatomy of Type is the ultimate stylistic guide to the intricacies and design of 100 indispensable typefaces. A delightful, colorful, and visual reference guide created by Stephen Coles and Tony Seddon--two acknowledged pros in the font design world--The Anatomy of Type was developed with typographers, graphic designers, and font geeks in mind, graphically and visually expanding on the current font-mania initiated by Simon Garfields's Just My Type.

An illuminating account of the design inspirations and technical transformations that have shaped the digital typefaces of the 21st century In this fascinating tour through typographic history, Paul Shaw provides a visually rich exploration of digital type revival. Many typefaces from the pre-digital past have been reinvented for use on computers and mobile devices, while other new font designs are revivals of letterforms, drawn from inscriptions, calligraphic manuals, posters, and book jackets. Revival Type deftly introduces these fonts, many of which are widely used, and engagingly tells their stories. Examples include translations of letterforms not previously used as type, direct revivals of metal and wood typefaces, and looser interpretations of older fonts. Among these are variations on classic designs by John Baskerville, Giambattista Bodoni, William Caslon, Firmin Didot, Claude Garamont, Robert Granjon, and Nicolas Jenson, as well as typefaces inspired by less familiar designers, including Richard Austin, Philippe Grandjean, and Eudald Pradell. Updates and revisions of 20th-century classics such as Palatino, Meridien, DIN, Metro, and Neue Haas Grotesk (Helvetica) are also discussed. Handsomely illustrated with annotated examples, archival material depicting classic designs, and full character sets of modern typefaces, Revival Type is an essential introduction for designers and design enthusiasts into the process of reinterpreting historical type.

The Evolution of Type examines 100 landmark typefaces from the history of font design, from the type used by Johannes Gutenberg to produce his 42-Line Bible, to the latest digital typefaces. It reveals the meaning behind typographic characters and shows how the use of type has changed over time. A full spread is devoted to each typeface and its origins. Concise text describes the design history and usage of the face, and its long-term impact on the development of typefaces. Annotated enlargements show the new features that the typeface introduced and highlight its most important design characteristics. The book is organized in six chapters: 1455-1700 The start of it all: The first typefaces are designed in Germany, Italy, France and the Netherlands 1700-1890 The emergence of literacy: The popular desire for reading material drives invention 1890-1920 The first technological age: Type foundries become big business and mass production becomes reality 1920-1960 Type meets art: Typographic originality and creative culture embrace on an industrial scale 1960-1990 Type become cool: Type influences international style 1990-today The second technological age: Typesetting for the masses. The Evolution of Type has practical applications in many fields of graphic design. General readers will enjoy learning about something that they encounter every day. They will gain an appreciation for the unique characteristics of a word beyond its dictionary definition.

The history of type in America is chronicled through the typefaces and biographies of 62 of the most influential type designers, and through the description and history of nine American type foundries working in metal, photo, serigraphic and digital formats.

Typography encompasses design for reading, whether in print or on screens, where a set of visual choices to do with font, layout, and print size are taken to enhance a written message. Paul Luna explores the fascinating history of our letters, considering why typographic decisions are taken, and their impact on our own words. Includes bibliographical references and index.

When we encounter type, how do we understand what it means? How is the tone of type influenced by how it is set, when it is made, and where it exists? What part does visual language play? Considering social, spatial, and temporal contexts, this text informs and inspires students, educators, and professionals looking to engage more deeply with the type they use and see. Featuring case studies, diverse typographic practices, and interviews with practicing artists and designers, Giving Type Meaning serves to inform how and why we understand what type says. The book includes: - The importance of cultural and social values and context - Using visual, gestural, and physical space - How time impacts type – looking at both historical context and using time as a medium - A wide range of non-Latin examples from Kanji characters, Thai scripts, and Devanagari scripts to Arabic calligraphy

Why does a newspaper look different than a magazine or a book? What effect does using a certain typeface or a specific grid have? And why do some layouts just seem right, and others seem simply wrong? Richly illustrated with numerous examples from around the world, this comprehensive handbook and reference volume addresses the most important aspects of good book, poster and advert design, offering guidance on everything from building a website and the correct use of colors and fonts through to column width and line length. Sketches and clarifying text serve to explain technical terms that are indispensable to understanding the interface of designing and producing print media.

This revolutionary guide is not only the first to look at how typography in design creates a call to action, but it also explores type and image as language. Stop, Think, Go, Do is packed with arresting imagery from around the world that influences human behavior. Page after page, you'll find innovative messages that advocate, advise caution, educate, entertain, express, inform, play, and transform.

Packages on store shelves, posters on building walls, pages of a website--all contain information that needs to be communicated. And at the heart of that communication is type: visually interesting, interactive, expressive and captivating. Each letter must come alive; therefore, each letter must be carefully crafted or chosen. A solid foundation in typography, as well as an understanding of its nuances, will help you optimize your visual communication--in whatever form it takes. By breaking down the study of type into a systematic progression of relationships--letter, word, sentence, paragraph, page and screen--award-winning graphic designer and professor of communication design Denise Bosler provides a unique and illuminating perspective on typography for both print and digital media and for designers of all skill levels. Through instruction, interviews and real-world inspiration, Mastering Type explores the power of each typographic element--both as it stands alone and as it works with other elements--to create successful design, to strengthen your skill set and to inspire your next project. AUTHOR: Denise Bosler is a graphic designer, illustrator, and professor of communication design at Kutztown University in Pennsylvania. For the last fifteen years, Denise has focused her design work on print collateral, product packaging, and identity. She has produced numerous award-winning logo and packaging designs featuring hand rendered and custom type. For the past eight years, Denise has taught typography and upper level graphic design classes, allowing her to apply her extensive practical knowledge. Her website is bosler.com.

Awarded an American Graphic Design Award of Excellence by Graphic Design USA in 2014Conveying the authors' love of the letterpress process and product, this book covers everything you need to know to create beautiful work. Beginning with the technology and history of type and the printed page, it continues with the fundamentals of measurement, terminology and the lay of the case. Guidance on planning the concept, gathering inspiration and critiquing your work will help you develop your skills or show you how to lead others to do so. The authors also show how contemporary digital processes are highly compatible with letterpress and have expanded its boundaries in the 21st century. A must for students who wish to learn letterpress and instructors as a handy reference.

Our successful compilation is now available in a softcover edition. Today's graphic designers, Illustrated bys, and typographers are rediscovering old printing techniques and handicrafts. They are inspired by passion for the unique; the feel of different papers, press cuts, and embossing; the brilliance of printing inks; and the originality of bookbinding techniques. The book Impressive presents the results of this passion. The current fascination with old-fashioned printing presses and techniques started with individual designers and smaller collectives creating one-of-a-kind printed material by hand for special occasions, such as weddings or birthdays. Impressive features these artists and their personal work as well as a broad range of business cards, invitations, stationery, and publications that are designed and produced in a way that is both nostalgic and contemporary. Historical styles--from the Victorian grandeur of floral elements and adornments to the aesthetics of classical modernism--are used and referenced as well as combined and reinterpreted in unusual ways. Traditional and more exotic techniques such as silk-screen printing, stamping, woodcut, or linocut are used--what counts is doing it yourself. Impressive investigates the interplay between traditional handiwork and current trends in graphic design. The work collected in this book shows how relevant and exciting the modern use of traditional design forms can be and how much it can inspire the visual culture of the future.

This book presents an overview of the convergence of traditional letterpress with contemporary digital design and fabrication practices. Reflecting on the role of letterpress within the emergent hybrid post-digital design process, contributors present historical and contemporary analysis, grounded in case studies and current practice. The main themes covered include the research on letterpress as a technology and medium; a reflection on the contribution of letterpress to arts and design education; and current artistic and communication design practice merging past, present and future digital fabrication processes. This will be of interest to scholars working in graphic design, communication design, book design, typography, typeface design, design history, printing, and production technologies.

A new generation of graphic designers has discovered letterpress--a technology so old it's new! With its unique visual and tactile impact, it has reemerged as a potent print medium. Now revised and updated with new examples of contemporary work, Letterpress continues to be an essential text for all enthusiasts of this printing process. Displaying an eclectic range of typographic material, it celebrates the technical ingenuity, conventions and rebellions, art and craft of letterpress. Presented against the background of William Morris's seminal work and the unstructured methodologies of the avant-garde artists, the contemporary scope of letterpress is revealed through the work of graphic designers, book artists, illustrators, and the rich and varied private presses. Expand your knowledge of the craft of communication, break the rules to create effective design. Letterpress is a must. --From cover. Includes bibliographical references and index.