British and Irish Studies

Search for articles in newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, and newswire feeds across a variety of library databases.

Full-text news from over 9,000 news sources in the U.S. and international newspapers, major wire services, and hundreds of local broadcasting outlets and blogs. There are over 100 Minnesota sources. Mostly English language news coverage with some 200 titles in Spanish, French, Afrikaans and other languages.

Access to "The Economist" from July 1997 to the most recent issue.

Search millions of newspapers, business magazines, and newswires with international and foreign language coverage with all editions of the Wall Street Journal. Financial information for publicly traded companies, stocks, funds, currencies, and common market indexes. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.

International news from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. Over 800 of the world's top news sources.

Search for articles in newspapers, magazines, broadcast transcripts, and newswire feeds across a variety of library databases.

Hundreds of U.S., international and regional newspapers from the 1980s to present. Includes a number of smaller Minnesota newspapers such as Duluth News Tribune, Bemidji Pioneer, Lake Country News, Pine Journal (Cloquet), Post-Bulletin (Rochester), Worthington Daily Globe, as well as papers from Wisconsin. Select television and radio news transcripts from major networks are also available.

Search thousands of news sources from the U.S. and around the world. Includes major newspapers, newswires, and foreign language news. Most sources include the latest 10-20 years, with select titles going back to the 1980s. This link goes directly to news content in WestlawNext; switching to "all content" in the database will include legal sources.

Search newspapers and news stories from major newspapers, news magazines, and online news outlets of the U.S., Canada, Britain, Australia, and elsewhere in the world. Useful for background research on current topics, major events in history, and people in the news.

More than 26,000 digitized pamphlets from collections in seven universities in the UK, covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of 19th century Britain. Also includes some periodicals from 17th and 18th centuries.

Digital archive of British newspapers from 1732 to 1950 including national and regional newspapers from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also included in the collection. Contains collections 1-5.

Collection of newsreels produced by the Topical Film Company providing a glimpse into the early twentieth century - from everyday interests, such as sport and fashion, to coverage of key events, such as the First World War, the Suffragette Movement, and the establishment of the Irish Free State.

Full-text searchable copy of every issue of "The Economist" from 1843. Full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue. Access is not available for the most current 4 years.

Digital archive of the Financial Times, the leading daily business newspaper of Britain and Europe, covering 1888-2016. Search and download articles or full pages that include articles, advertisement, charts, illustrations, photographs, and supplementary content.

Search online access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.

Ireland's "only independent newspaper," the Irish Times provides comprehensive news reporting, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more, beginning with 1859. The Weekly Irish Times’ coverage includes The Times Pictorial. Coverage: 1859 - 2022.

Explore publications covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist theory and practice. Issues include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism, Civil Rights, class struggle, and alternative social organization.

The Punch Historical Archive includes the complete run of the weekly magazine, as well as its annual Almanack, seasonal issues, and indexes.

Search and explore full-page images of The Scotsman, founded in 1817 in Edinburgh. It provides an independent voice and uniquely Scottish analysis of local and global events.

Collection of newspapers produced by and/or for service members during and immediately after World War II (1939-1948), featuring titles from the major theaters, for both Allied and Axis forces. Includes newspapers in English, German, Czech, Hindi, Russian, French, Italian, Afrikaans, Swahili, and other African languages.

A digital collection covering British news media from 1757-1817, it contains about 700 newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney. The contents were published mostly in London, and some were published in English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

Search full text and digital archive of "The Times of London" newspaper for the years 1785-2019. View either a specific article or a complete page with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories.

The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive presents one of the world's premier contemporary literary reviews in fully searchable image format. Content coverage available from 1902 to 2014.

Search or browse a list of titles and details for historic newspapers and magazines from England and the United Kingdom from 1800 to 1900. Does not search the full text.