Research Guides: CHEM 1086: Chemistry for the Life Sciences II Laboratory: Home

Have questions?

Contact me for research help on this subject.

Email Me

Contact:

Walter 345

612-624-9399

Tutorial: How to Find Chemical and Physical Property Information
Finding chemical and physical property data is not always easy because there is no one place where all types of data for all substances is located, and it is not always clear where to look or whether you have looked in the right places. This tutorial will show you how and where to search.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Annually published reference source for chemical and physical property data, nomenclature, structure, and composition of substances. Includes physical constants of organic and inorganic compounds, conversion factors, and much more.
Knovel
Online access to books, databases, and conference proceedings from a number of publishers that cover all areas of engineering and includes content relevant to related sciences (e.g., chemistry and earth sciences). It includes interactive graphs and tables.

For a tutorial on using Knovel, go to Start a research project with Knovel.
Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals
Classic reference source for chemists with over 10,000 entries on drugs and pharmaceuticals, common organic chemicals and laboratory reagents. The entries include data such as chemical names, molecular formula, chemical structure, physical data, and literature references.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
Chemical and physical property data from NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Searchable by name, chemical formula, CAS registry number, molecular weight, chemical structure, or selected ion energetics and spectral properties.
PubChem
PubChem is an open chemistry database with information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.

more... less...

PubChem is focused primarily on small molecules and is a product of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Property Data for Chemicals and Materials
Find additional sources of chemical and physical property data, spectra, and thermodynamic properties as well as safety information.

In addition to going through links on the library website, we have 2 other ways to access resources from off-campus.

Proxy Bookmarklet for off-campus access
Add this button to your browser toolbar and click on it to reload a page and authenticate as a U of M user.
Virtual Private Network (VPN)
Download and log in to VPN before accessing resources

Last Updated: Aug 6, 2025 2:34 PM