Resources for: American Studies

Provides data and reports for US economic measures including inflation, prices, pay, benefits, employment, and productivity.

Starting in 1997, the agriculture census has been conducted under the auspices of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS). For 1992 and earlier years, the census was conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau or its predecessors.

Source of open data from the US government. Includes data on agriculture, climate, energy, health, and manufacturing. Also includes some state and local government data.

This site offers a wealth of economic data and information, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, balance of payments regional economic data, and more. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.

Use Historical Statistics of the United States Millenium Edition to find statistics about the United States produced by the United States Census Bureau since 1790 with additions, revisions and analysis by noted social scientists. This edition includes statistics on migration, poverty, nonprofit organizations, slavery and Native Americans. Tables may be searched and downloaded in Excel or other formats, either individually or in large groups. Users may create custom tables and graphs. Citations may also be downloaded in multiple formats.

Search and find social science datasets, both publicly and privately collected and published. This includes data sets for US and other countries that cover demographics and census, opinion polls, urban studies, education, economics, geography, legal systems, governments and elections, political behavior and attitudes, health care and other social indicators.

Provides census microdata and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. Microdata allows the user to extract data at the individual response level, allowing for detailed and specific variable analysis

Provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.

Longitudinal household survey data collected since 1968 with data covering employment, income, wealth, expenditures, health, marriage, childbearing, child development, philanthropy, and education.

Provides comparable data across all 50 states from U.S. counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas across a broad variety of topics that include economy, education, crime, government finance, health, population, religion, social welfare, and transportation.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. Annual reports available through the Census website for 1878-2012. See ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. for 2013-present.

Federal Reserve Board survey with data about family income, net worth, balance sheet components, credit use, and other financial outcomes.