Related Guides
Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
This guide is designed for new researchers who need to find articles, sources, and get started with research in topics related to the religion and philosophy of Buddhism.
Start with:
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesSearch topics, especially in the humanities and the social sciences, on East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide. You can also find citations to journal articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and more.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerialsThe American Theological Library Association (ATLA) Religion Database lists journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Some listings link to full text of articles.
- Buddhist Digital Resource CenterThe Buddhist Digital Resource Center preserves, documents, and disseminates Buddhist texts. Their collection contains approximately 23,700 works.
- PhilPapers : Philosophical Research OnlinePhilPapers is a philosopy index and bibliography of maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, PhilPapers monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
Then try any of the following:
- Project MuseSearch for full-text journals in literary theory, classics, history and cultural studies, philosophy, film, theater and performing arts, political science, and mathematics.
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains 100 language and subject dictionaries and other reference works, and searches across these resources. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Also check out:
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by ISBN: 9781438108711The Encyclopedia of Buddhism provides easy access to the terms, concepts, personalities, historical events, institutions, and movements that helped shape the history of Buddhism and the way it is practiced today.- Buddhist Philosophy byISBN: 9780199716555Find important philosophical texts from each major Buddhist tradition. Each text is translated and introduced by a recognized authority in Buddhist studies.
Last Updated: Nov 17, 2023 1:34 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=825334