This guide covers search tools for research in topics related to film studies.
- Film and Television Literature Index with Full-TextSearch articles on film and television studies' topics including theory, preservation, restoration, writing, production, cinematography, reviews from "Variety" back to 1914 and more.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteSearch for journal articles on topics such as communication, mass media, film, television, marketing, business communication, health communication, and more.
Then try any of the following:
- Humanities & Social Sciences RetrospectiveUse Humanities & Social Sciences Retrospective to find journal articles for the humanities and social sciences.
- Visual History ArchiveA fully streaming video collection of more than 55,000 primary source testimonies from the USC Shoah Foundation of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides, including the Armenian Genocide, the Cambodian Genocide, the Central African Republic Conflict, contemporary antisemitism, the 1994 Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda, the Guatemalan Genocide, and the Nanjing Massacre. Note: only available remotely to UMN users. See Visual History Archive Online (version for non-UMN users).
Also check out:
- Internet Movie Database (IMDB)The most comprehensive movie source on the web. Provides information on movies around the world, from earliest times to the latest releases. Includes filmographies, plot summaries, reviews, biographical data, etc.
- Motion Picture Scripts DatabaseSearchable interface to the film script holdings of six Los Angeles-area collections: the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the American Film Institute, the Frances Howard Goldwyn Hollywood Regional Library, the University of California at Los Angeles, the University of Southern California, and the Writers Guild Foundation.
Last Updated: Mar 23, 2021 2:33 PM