Research Guides: Nursing: Clinical Tools

Ask us

Librarian

Liz Weinfurter

Email me at

Contact:

Health Sciences Library
Phillips-Wangensteen Building

612-624-6492

This guide covers resources for nursing research and practice.

Evidence-Based Practice and Point of Care Resources

DynaMed
An evidence-based clinical decision support tool. Contains over 3,000 topic summaries covering diseases, disorders, diagnostics, and drugs with extensive references to journals and practice guidelines.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The Cochrane collection is designed to provide information and evidence to support health care decision-making.

The available databases are: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (regularly updated reviews of the effects of health care interventions); Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness: DARE (critical assessments and structured abstracts of good systematic reviews published elsewhere); The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register: CENTRAL (bibliographic information on controlled trials); The Cochrance Database of Methodology Reviews: CDMR (systematic reviews of methodological studies); Health Technology Assessment Database: HTA (information about health technology assessments); NHS Economic Evaluation Database: NHS EED (National Health Service (UK), structured abstracts of articles describing evaluations of health care interventions); browse by Cochrane Collaborative Review Group; and the Cochrane Reviewer's Handbook.

Coverage: 1996 - present
VisualDx
Tool to build and visualize a differential diagnosis based on physical signs and symptoms, lab results, history, environmental exposure, and more. Contains a large medical image library, with special emphasis on dermatology for skin of color.

Last Updated: Aug 6, 2025 5:47 PM

Resources for: Nursing

Ask us

Librarian

Evidence-Based Practice and Point of Care Resources