Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
This guide covers search tools for research in topics related to Chemical Engineering.
Start with:
Looking for general background information or chemical or physical property data?
-
KnovelOnline access to books, databases, and conference proceedings from a number of publishers that cover all areas of engineering and includes content relevant to related sciences (e.g., chemistry and earth sciences). It includes interactive graphs and tables.
-
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 8th ed.The classic "authoritative reference work that covers comprehensively the field of chemical engineering as well as important related fields."
-
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 9th Edition
by
Call Number: TSCI REF Quarto TP151 .P45 2019ISBN: 9780071834087Publication Date: 2018-08-29Now in its 85th Anniversary Edition, this industry-standard resource has equipped generations of engineers and chemists with vital information, data, and insights. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technological advances and processes, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, Ninth Edition, provides unsurpassed coverage of every aspect of chemical engineering. You will get comprehensive details on chemical processes, reactor modeling, biological processes, biochemical and membrane separation, process and chemical plant safety, and much more.
Then try any of the following:
Looking for an article?
-
ScopusSearch for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
NOTE: A personal free Elsevier account may be required to perform select actions in the database such as exporting results. -
Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Also check out:
-
SciFinderSciFinder is one of the best databases for topics related to chemistry and adjacent fields. It includes journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and patents. Find substance and reaction information as well as suppliers and chemical regulatory data.
-
Compendex ArchiveNOTE: Select 'Ei Backfile' to search the content in the 'Compendex Archive'
Covers scholarly and technical periodicals, conference proceedings, and report literature from 1884-1968 in all engineering disciplines including applied physics, electronics, materials science, and related fields in science and management. Indexes nearly 3000 sources worldwide.
Last Updated: Sep 12, 2025 11:50 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/Chemical-Engineering