Related Guides
Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
This guide covers search tools for research in topics related to Linguistics.
Start with:
- International Encyclopedia of LinguisticsOnline encyclopedia on linguistics, including historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, philosophical, and sociolinguistics including connections of linguistics with other disciplines of computer science, mathematics, philosophy, the social and behavioral sciences, and literary studies.
- Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)Search journals in linguistics and language sciences from 1973 to the present including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics in journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
- MLA International BibliographyUse the MLA International Bibliography to find scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This index has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteSearch for journal articles on topics such as communication, mass media, film, television, marketing, business communication, health communication, and more.
Then try any of the following:
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Ethnologue: Languages of the WorldEthnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world's known living languages. Our subscription features include: language profiles, classic static country language maps, country profiles, and language family trees (classification).
- OLAC Language Resource Catalog SearchFrom the Open Language Archives Community (OLAC), it provides citations and some direct access to information about languages, including details of text collections, audio recordings, dictionaries, and software, sourced from dozens of digital and traditional archives.
- Oxford Bibliographies: LinguisticsSearch expert commentary and detailed annotated bibliographies to find high quality sources of information in Linguistics.
- Oxford Handbooks in Linguistics (series)eBooks and print books in the "Oxford Handbooks in Linguistics" series at UMN Libraries
- Blackwell Handbooks in Linguistics (series)eBooks and print books in the "Blackwell Handbooks in Linguistics" series held at UMN Libraries
- APA PsycInfoFind articles in thousands of psychology journals, from 1806 to current. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Linguistic Data ConsortiumLDC is a repository for linguistic datasets, corpora, and other resources for research on human language. Use the link above to view descriptions and sign up for access to the corpora and datasets available to current UMN faculty, students, and staff. Quick overview of corpora available.
Also check out:
The English Language: a Very Short Introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198709251Publication Date: 2018In this Very Short Introduction Simon Horobin investigates how we have arrived at the English we know today, and celebrates the way new speakers and new uses mean that it continues to adapt. Engaging with contemporary concerns about correctness, Horobin considers whether such changes areimprovements, or evidence of slipping standards.
Languages: a Very Short Introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199590599Publication Date: 2012How many languages are there? Are new languages still being discovered? Why are so many languages disappearing? In this Very Short Introduction, linguist Stephen Anderson addresses such questions as he illuminates the science behind languages.
Linguistics: a Very Short Introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780192801487Publication Date: 2003-06-26Linguistics falls in the gap between arts and science, on the edges of which the most fascinating discoveries and the most important problems are found. Beginning at the 'arts' end of the subject with the common origins of languages, and finishing at the 'science' end with the newest discoveries regarding language in the brain, this guide covers all the major aspects of linguistics from a refreshing and insightful angle.
The Linguistics Student's Handbook (2nd ed.) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781474474085Publication Date: 2021Part reference work, part revision guide, and with tables providing summary information on some 300 languages, the book provides a new learning tool as a supplement to your usual textbooks.
Multilingualism: a Very Short Introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780198724995Publication Date: 2017Considering multilingualism in the context of globalization, Maher also looks at the fate of many endangered languages as they disappear from the world.
Sociolinguistics: a Very Short Introduction by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780199858613Publication Date: 2013This Very Short Introduction deals with the social life of language: language in its sociocultural context. The field ranges from micro-analyses to broadly-based policy and planning undertakings. As such, this book draws from sociolinguistics, the sociology of language, and psycholinguistics.The relationship between language and identity - whether of an individual or a group - is a strong thread linking all the topics covered in the book.
Last Updated: Sep 27, 2024 2:05 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/linguistics