Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
Amy Riegelman
she/her
Contact:
Mailbox:
Wilson Library Room 10
University of Minnesota
309 19th Ave. S.
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Wilson Library Room 10
University of Minnesota
309 19th Ave. S.
Minneapolis, MN 55455
612-625-7778
This guide is designed for new researchers to find articles, sources and get started with research in topics related to Psychology.
Start with:
- APA PsycInfoFind articles in thousands of psychology journals, from 1806 to current. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- PubMedSearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Ovid MEDLINESearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Ovid MEDLINE is optimized for advanced literature searches. Coverage is from the 1940s to the present.
Then try any of the following:
- Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- PsycArticlesPsycArticles contains the full text of articles from APA (American Psychological Association) journals and allied organizations since 1988. It covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
- PsycTestsA research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.
- ERIC Education (Ebscohost)ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a database of full-text education literature and resources. With coverage dating back to 1966, it is essential for education researchers of all kinds.
- ScopusSearch for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Also check out:
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The Cochrane collection is designed to provide information and evidence to support health care decision-making.
- Campbell Collaboration C2The Campbell Collaboration Library is a full text database of systematic reviews covering social interventions, including social work, education, criminology, and international development.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)Find surveys, tests, observation checklists, and questionnaires used to assess health and behavior of infants, children, adolescents, adults, and the elderly. Topics covered include public health, communication, psychology, management, nursing, organizational behavior, medicine, sociology, physical education, psychiatry, human resources, gerontology and dental medicine. Includes information about the test such as title, author, publication resource, reliability and validity. Note: One users can access at a time.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in PrintUse to identify tests, surveys and evaluations in education, psychology, business, law, healthcare, counseling, and management. In addition to test reviews, descriptions of the purpose, target population, administration, scores, price, author, and publisher for all listed tests are provided. The Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print, from the Buros Institute, contains the most recent descriptive information and critical reviews of new and revised tests from the Buros Institute's 9th and more recent Yearbooks. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- PsycTestsA research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales and other assessments as well as descriptive and administrative information.
- Test Collection in Wilson Library AnnexA collection of 1200 psychological and educational inventories is housed in the Wilson Library Annex. This is primarily an archival collection since new inventories are not currently being purchased. Access to this collection is restricted given test security requirements. Students must present a current student ID or other photo identification along with a signed, dated note from a faculty member accepting responsibility for test security. The test collection is not open to the general public and tests may not be copied or circulated. Currently the Wilson Annex materials additionally require making an appointment with staff in Wilson Library, wilscirc@umn.edu OR 612-624-3321.
- ETS Test Collection Database (Educational Testing Service)The Test Collection at ETS (TestLink) is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices most of which were created by authors outside ETS/ With information about tests from the early 1900s to the present, the Test Collection at ETS is the largest compilation in the world.
- American Psychological Association: Testing and AssessmentThe APA's web site with information about psychological testing, standards for testing, and locating tests.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 2:53 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=837426