Resources for: History of Medicine

IndexCat is the online Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office, (Index-Catalogue), printed from 1880 - 1961.

Find articles about the history of science in all historical periods. Includes subjects like magic and alchemy, as well as more modern concepts of science.

America: history and life provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present with over 2,000 journals including all key English-language historical journals. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.

Searches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

Searches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Ovid MEDLINE is optimized for advanced literature searches. Coverage is from the 1940s to the present.

This database allows you to search the archives of major American newspapers

This database gives you the history of a word, which you can use to determine whether your search terms are optimized for the time period for which you are trying to find primary sources

Early English Books Online is a repository of over 125,000 titles published in England in the early modern period that have been digitized

Find full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

Covers the most of the sciences, including veterinary medicine and zoology. Also includes a list of references cited in the source article, and can retrieve a list of works that have cited a specific author or a specific earlier work. Impact factors for many journals are also available. Coverage 1900-date

A great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.