Primary Sources Online A-Z: Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences and Professional Programs

Zines, newspapers and ephemera, oral histories, films and photographs from archival collections housed across the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, and Canada. Diverse perspectives, materials produced by grassroots organizations and under-represented groups are presented alongside government records and mainstream media to showcase the key social, cultural, and political concerns of the decade.

A collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organized according to each saint's feast day, and includes all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indices. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers are also included.

Explore the history of European colonisation across the African continent in the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth century through rare printed works, diaries and journals, correspondence, maps, photographs, and film footage.

Search a collection of African-American newspapers dating from the 1800s. It contains large numbers of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements, which illustrate the African-American experiences.

Use this database to find newspapers published by or for African Americans exploring such diverse disciplines as cultural, literary and social history, ethnic studies, political science, ethnic studies, diaspora studies, and womens studies.

Features more than 170 wide-ranging magazines by and about African Americans.

More than 40 nineteenth- and twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Explore five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration.

AM (formerly Adam Matthew) publishes unique primary source collections from archives around the world. Collections span the social sciences and humanities and cover a multitude of topics ranging from Medieval family life and Victorian medicine to 1960s pop culture and global politics.

Includes Early American Newspapers Series 1 (1690-1876), 3 (1783-1922), 6 (1741-1922), 7 (1773-1922), and 18 (1825-1879). Spanning two centuries and 40 states, these archives of selective content from historical newspapers are primary sources for researching crucial conflicts from the Civil War to World War I, movements ranging from early states rights to women's suffrage, noteworthy citizens, local events, natural disasters; political campaigns; and the evolution of American culture.

The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collections include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. There are a series of five databases: Series 1 through 5: 1684-1912 (specifically Series 1: 1684-1820, Series 2: 1821-1837, Series 3: 1838-1852, Series 4: 1853-1865, Series 5: 1866-1912)

Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

From historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.

Listen to 170,000+ tracks from America's past including country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, shape note singing and more.

Find historical documents, maps, chronology, posters, and primary sources on westward expansion in America from the early eighteenth (1700s) to the mid-twentieth century (1950s). Topics include railroads, pioneers, exploration, Canada, the Gold Rush, agriculture, prairie lands and more.

A collection of the International Secretariat records of Amnesty International. Includes materials on the history of key political events, global social change and the development of a global movement for human rights covering themes including state violence, political prisoners, minority rights and more.

Explore British government files from the Foreign, Colonial, Dominion and Foreign and Commonwealth Offices spanning the period 1948 to 1980. This resource is divided into three sections: 1948-1966, 1967-1975 and 1976-1980.

Collections sourced from The National Archives, Kew, the official archive of the United Kingdom. Containing diplomatic correspondence, letters, reports, surveys, material from newspapers, statistical analyses, published pamphlets, ephemera, military papers, profiles of prominent individuals, maps and many other types of document, it consists of the history of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries from the British state’s point of view.  

Collections of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other topical areas.

ARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology.

The Atlanta Daily World was the first black daily in the nation in the 20th century. Use this database to find full-page digital archive of the Atlanta Daily World covering 1931-2010. Part of ProQuest Historical Newspapers.

Berg Fashion Library is a resource for students and researchers of fashion studies. It is interdisciplinary in nature, with great visual and integrated content in the areas of fashion, museum studies, cultural studies, anthropology, and more.

African American newspapers that are included in the ProQuest Historical Newspaper collection: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-2010), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010)

Digital archive of British newspapers from 1732 to 1950 including national and regional newspapers from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also included in the collection. Contains collections 1-5.

Collection of newsreels produced by the Topical Film Company providing a glimpse into the early twentieth century - from everyday interests, such as sport and fashion, to coverage of key events, such as the First World War, the Suffragette Movement, and the establishment of the Irish Free State.

Contains a wide range of materials related to British history from the early 1600s onward, including the colonization of America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia. The collection contains sources that relate to both politics and history, including colonial missionary records, slavery in the Americas, World War One, and shipping records. Primary sources include journals, correspondence, official records and personal papers.

David Sarnoff, President of the Radio Corporation of America (RCA), and other industry papers detailing the expansion of radio and television technology, and the rise of mass media empires, accelerated America's transformation into a consumer-based society.

Full-page digital archive of The Chicago Defender, 1905-2010. A leading African-American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago.

With documents encompassing events from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the Peoples Republic, this resource collects sources from nine archives to give an incredible insight into the changes in China during this period.

This database provides access to over 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 40,000 bibliographic records with this incredible resource on Colonial History. In addition to Britain's colonial relations with the Americas and other European rivals for power, this collection also covers the Caribbean and Atlantic world. It is an invaluable resource for scholars of early American history, British colonial history, Caribbean history, maritime history, Atlantic trade, plantations, and slavery.

Search and explore full-page images of newspapers of the Communist Party, USA, 1919-2013. Covers workers’ rights, social issues, national and international politics, culture, and Party activity. Contributors include writer Richard Wright, folk singer Woody Guthrie and political cartoonist Robert Minor.

Provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.

This collection of fire insurance maps covers Minnesota towns and cities from 1867-1970. Sanborn maps are valuable historical tools for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

Every book, pamphlet, serial, and other printed work of significance published in America 1639 - 1800 with 36,000 items and 2.4 million page images when complete.

Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America from 1801 through 1819. Contains many state papers and government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; and congressional, state and territorial resolutions.

Hilary Ng'weno (1938-2021), is considered Kenya’s most accomplished journalist. This collection includes the full run of several historically significant publications from Ng’weno’s media company, including: The Weekly Review, 1975-1999. The Nairobi Times, 1977-1983, Rainbow children’s magazine, 1976-1995. Also includes Making of a Nation documentaries and oral histories.

Full page images of key newspapers from East Africa from the 1940s to the early 2000s.

Search a vast collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Contains royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947. Includes research tools, essays, chronology, etc.

Over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).

Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership (EEBO TCP) contains searchable, marked-up text for over 60,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). EEBO TCP covers a subset of the titles available in Early English Books Online (Page Images).

Search books from the Enlightenment period in Great Britain between 1701 and 1800 with over 180,000 English-language titles and editions printed in the United Kingdom and the Americas. It includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more.

Edited correspondence among the greatest thinkers and writers of early 17th to mid-19th century in Europe, the Americas, and Asia with their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources.

Search original documents and primary sources for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences including exploration, colonization and more including British, French, Spanish, Portuguese, and German points of view, as well as that of indigenous peoples from Africa, India and North America. The sections cover Cultural Contacts, 1492-1969; Empire Writing and the Literature of Empire; The Visible Empire; Religion and Empire; and Race, Class and Colonialism, c 1783-1969.

Portal to open access primary historical documents for European countries that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Texts, video, sound files, maps, photographs and other imagery, databases, and other documentation are also available. Coverage is from Prehistoric Europe to present day.

The Fashion and Race Database is an online, educational platform that expands the narrative of fashion history and challenges mis-representation within the fashion system. Research tools include access to a library of essays and a podcast.

Find primary sources on the personal experiences of men and women in World War I including diaries, newspapers, posters, postcards, photographs and more. Also find including interactive maps, chronology, and image galleries.

Search primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities included (e.g. oil, spices, wine, tobacco, silver and gold, coffee, tea, cotton, fur, etc.) transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.

Collection of primary and secondary sources; artworks; photographs and maps for the study of travel, c1550-1850.

Find articles, advertisements, and covers of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from its first appearance in 1867 to the current month.

HarpWeek contains the scanned images of pages of the magazine Harper's Weekly for the years 1857-1912, with a series of indexes to search for news, editorials, fiction, illustrations, photos, political cartoons, advertisements.

HathiTrust provides access to millions of books and other materials. Full text searching of most books is available and books in the public domain (generally older books) can be freely viewed and/or downloaded. Books still in copyright have more limited access. Users with print-reading disabilities can apply for special access to digitized works by emailing wilsref@umn.edu.

Candid, unedited interviews from the private collection of author and film-maker Nasreen Munni Kabir, Hindi Cinema offers a unique insight into the film industry from the years 1950-2010 through the experiences of leading film-makers. Also includes photos, posters, and a brief history.

Collections of books, manuscripts, and ephemera providing a historical view of disabilities from the seventeenth to twentieth century. Materials include personal memoirs, reports and proceedings of organizations and institutions, policies and programs concerning persons with disabilities. Rehabilitation, treatments, methods of education, and other forms of remediation are documented.

Search online access to the entire run of the Illustrated London News from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003.

Materials documenting the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the granting of independence for India and Pakistan in 1947. The sources range from the papers of key East India Company representatives and colonial officials to records of daily life in Agra, Bombay, Lahore, and Madras. Materials are from the National Library of Scotland.

Search historic newspapers from Latin America in the 19th and 20th centuries (1800s-1900s).

Explore publications covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist theory and practice. Issues include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism, Civil Rights, class struggle, and alternative social organization.

Unpublished poems, working notebooks, holograph manuscripts, drawings and other rare documents trace the inspiration and genesis behind the periods greatest works from a broad range of authors from across the nineteenth century.

The Stationers Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this resource of research material for historians and literary scholars.

Find color images of rare books, ephemera, maps and other materials relating to 18th, 19th and early 20th century London.

Find articles in the Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005, the oldest and largest black newspaper in the western United States and the largest African-American owned newspaper in the United States.

Search articles, full pages and images of the Los Angeles Times newspaper. The archive runs from 1881 to 9 years ago.

A full-text searchable archive of primary source documents from as early as 1620 and up to 1979. Includes constitutional conventions and compilations (reports, journals, proceedings, and debates, and supplementary documents published by the conventions including, manuals, rules of order, and information for the use of delegates); city charters (the texts of enacted and proposed charters and ordinances in American jurisdictions); law dictionaries; early U.S. state codes; and colonial records.

Use this source to find primary sources and full text books from the 1460-1850 period with focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

Access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the eras foremost consumer analyst, market research pioneer and widely-recognised father of Motivational Research.

Original manuscript and typescript papers created and collected by the Mass Observation organisation, photographs and interactive features created by recruiting a team of observers and a panel of volunteer writers to study the everyday lives of ordinary people in Britain from 1937 until the mid-1950s.

Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.Access to Module I (1850-1927) content only.

Primary source material recounting the personal experiences of 350 years of migration. Explore Colonial Office files on emigration, diaries and travel journals, ship logs and plans, printed literature, objects, watercolours, and oral histories supplemented by secondary research aids. Includes access to "Module 1 : The Century of Immigration" & "Module 2 : The Modern Era."

Historical run of full-text digital replicas of daily Minneapolis newspaper. Includes news articles, editorials, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, notices, illustrations and photographs and all other full image content. (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

Jazz Music Library streams over a half-million audio tracks from about 45,000 albums issued by such major labels as Verve, Impulse, Jazzology, Black Swan, Circle Records, Paramount, Concord, Fantasy, Milestone, Monterey Jazz Festival Records, Original Jazz Classics, Pablo, Peak, Prestige, Riverside, Stretch Records, and Original Jazz Classics. The list of artists ranges from Buddy Guy, Charlie Parker, Chuck Mangione, Dinah Washington, Diana Krall, Ella Fitzgerald, Etta James, Grover Washington, Jr., Les Paul, Louis Armstrong, Nina Simone, and Peggy Lee, to Quincy Jones, Ramsey Lewis, Sarah Vaughan, Stan Getz, Bill Evans, Billie Holliday, Thelonius Monk, Tony Bennett, and many others.

The collection presents an overview of the most commonly studied operas in music history, opera literature, and performance classes. Multiple performances and worldwide stagings of the major operas allow for analysis of stage design, vocal techniques, roles, and musical interpretation across time periods, opera houses, and conductors.

Search full-page digital archive of the New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993. This leading Black newspaper of the 20th century reached its peak in the 1940s.

Full-page, digital archive of the New York Times. The archive runs from 1851 to 4 years ago. Search and view images of articles, advertising, photos, and more (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers).

Search U.S. newspapers from the 19th century (1800-1899) including access to every article, advertisement and illustration.

Search primary source collections of the nineteenth century (1800s) with books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Topics include British politics, theater and music; European literature, Asian exploration, photography, and more.

North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights and brings these writings the attention they deserve, by publishing the full text of plays written from Colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print. Almost a quarter of the collection consists of previously unpublished plays. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the assistance of our editorial board

ODells Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwoods American Theatre Companies series are just a few of the many in-copyright sources included in the Theatre in Context Collection. Placed alongside thousands of playbills, posters, photographs, and related theatrical ephemera, users will be able to paint a more comprehensive picture of the life and evolution of dramatic works.

Over 230 manuscripts written or compiled by women living in the British Isle during the 16th and 17th centuries. Contents include account books, advice, culinary writing, meditation, travel writing, and verse. Perdita manuscripts can be searched by name, place, genre, and first lines of both poetry and prose.

Major archive of historical volumes of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.

This historical newspaper and one of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community, the Courier challenged the misrepresentation of African-Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms to advance the cause of civil rights.

Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 700,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.

This unique collection showcases the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century, through an extensive range of material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Explore an array of printed sources, including rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera.

Search old editions major U.S. newspapers and the Times of India. Papers include the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Other titles include the Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Christian Science Monitor, Jewish Advocate, the Jewish Exponent, Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, South China Morning Post, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.

Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict. Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

A comprehensive record of the performance history of the Royal Shakespeare Company and its predecessor, the Shakespeare Memorial Theatre. Includes almost 1,400 prompt books to uncover how productions took shape, and explore the creative process behind the company's most important presentations in extensive additional documentation including production records, costume designs, music files and photographs.

The Scripta Sinica database also known as "Han ji dian zi wen xian zi liao ku" (漢籍電子文獻資料庫) is developed and maintained by the Academia Sinica. This database contains over 1,400 Chinese classic titles including almost all of the important Chinese classics, especially those related to Chinese history.

A digital collection covering British news media from 1757-1817, it contains about 700 newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney. The contents were published mostly in London, and some were published in English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India.

This searchable collection is a resource for students and scholars researching American history, culture, and politics in the 1960s. It provides access to diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.

This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries, with 16 key areas of focus: slavery in the early Americas; African coast; the Middle Passage; slavery and agriculture; urban and domestic slavery; slave testimony; spiritualism and religion in slave communities; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; legislation and politics; freed slaves, freedmen and free black settlements; education; slavery and the Islamic world; varieties of slave experience; slavery today and the legacy of slavery. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.

This collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba.

Ten searchable 19th and 20th century newspapers from what are now India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Years of coverage fall between 1864 and 1922. Titles below.

Search primary and secondary materials from South Asia, including books, magazines, reports, historical journals, video, audio, zines, newspapers, letters, diaries, and more, principally from the 19th Century to the present. In English and South Asian languages.

State Papers Online, 1509-1714 is a collection of English government documents originating from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries--when the King or Queen acted as Prime Minister as well as Monarch. The papers feature the office archives and correspondence of the secretaries of state serving the Monarch as facsimile manuscript documents. This collection contains information on every facet of English government, including social and economic affairs, law and order, religious policy, crown possessions and intelligence gathering as well as Britain's international relations and foreign policy.

Watch hundreds of online videos, including documentaries and definitive performances of the worlds most important plays. From Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage of the work of Samuel Beckett including a range of 20th century theatre history. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances deliver an authentic, behind-the-scenes look at hundreds of productions.

Search literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.

Search full text and digital archive of "The Times of London" newspaper for the years 1785-2019. View either a specific article or a complete page with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories.

Brings together hundreds of accounts by women of their travels across the globe from the early 19th century to the late 20th century. Researchers will find sources covering a variety of topics including; architecture; art; the British Empire; climate; customs; exploration; family life; housing; industry; language; monuments; mountains; natural history; politics and diplomacy; race; religion; science; shopping; war. A wide variety of forms of travel writing are included, ranging from unique manuscripts, diaries and correspondence to drawings, guidebooks and photographs. The resource includes a slideshow with hundreds of items of visual material, including postcards, sketches and photographs.

Find 2000+ full text plays with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.

Provides access to full-text newspapers, journals, and digital libraries compiled and hosted by East View Information Services. Russian-studies resources include: Current Digest of the Russian Press, International Affairs digital archive, Literaturnaia Gazeta digital archive, Russian Central Newspapers, Russian National Bibliography, World News Connection, and more

A rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history, including volumes of all the reports, documents, and journals of the US Senate and House of Representatives. Covers the years 1817-1994; see ProQuest Congressional for present day coverage.

Find House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1660. Includes Records of proceedings, the Debates (Hansard), and the House of Commons journal; Sessional papers providing information to parliament on matters of policy and administration: Bills, House papers, and Command papers. Also includes the House of Lords presented to the Commons, such as reports prepared by Lords Select Committees.

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes evening news from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).

A fully streaming video collection of more than 55,000 primary source testimonies from the USC Shoah Foundation of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides, including the Armenian Genocide, the Cambodian Genocide, the Central African Republic Conflict, contemporary antisemitism, the 1994 Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda, the Guatemalan Genocide, and the Nanjing Massacre. Note: only available remotely to UMN users. See Visual History Archive Online (version for non-UMN users).

Historical and primary documents on popular entertainment in the nineteenth (1800s) and early twentieth centuries (early 1900s) including topics such as "Moving pictures, optical entertainments, and the advent of cinema"; "Optical delights" ; "Music hall, theatre, and popular entertainment" features material on music halls, pleasure gardens, exhibitions, scientific institutions, variety and vaudeville, and spectacles such as firework displays and ballooning; "Circuses, sideshows, and freaks" focuses on the world of traveling entertainment ; "Spiritualism, sensation, and magic" explores the relationship between the popularity of Victorian magic shows and conjuring tricks and the emergence of sances and psychic phenomena.

Search the full text digital archive of the Washington Post newspaper. The archive runs from 1877 to 17 years ago. View individual articles or full pages including advertisements, editorials, etc. (via ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

An archival research resource comprised of leading womens interest consumer magazines. Coverage ranges from the late-19th century through to 2005 and these key primary sources permit the examination of the events, trends, and attitudes of this period. Among the research fields served by this material are gender studies, social history, economics/marketing, media, fashion, politics, and popular culture.

Diaries and oral histories for the study of the lives and experiences of less well-known women, told through their own words. Featuring content from both regional and national archives across the UK and Ireland.

Search newspapers and news stories from major newspapers, news magazines, and online news outlets of the U.S., Canada, Britain, Australia, and elsewhere in the world. Useful for background research on current topics, major events in history, and people in the news.

World Newspaper Archive is a collection of historical newspapers published in Africa, Latin America, and South Asia throughout the 19th and 20th centuries. It provides excellent coverage of the people, cultures, issues and events that have shaped world history. Additional collections covering other regions will be added over time.

Explore the phenomenon of world's fairs from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos. Through official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts, this resource brings together multiple archives for rich research opportunities in this diverse topic.