Additional Resources
Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Engineering Librarian
This guide is designed for new researchers to find articles, sources and get started with research in topics related to computer science.
Start with:
- ACM (Association For Computing Machinery) Digital LibraryFull text of most ACM journals and proceedings since 1950, including publications of affiliated organizations.
- ScopusSearch for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics.
- IEEE XploreFull-text access to the transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Includes all current IEEE Standards.
Then try any of the following:
- Lecture Notes in Computer ScienceProvides the full text of significant conference proceedings in the field of computer science.
- Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology.
- Engineering VillageSearch journal articles from 1884-1968 on engineering. Searches both Inspec (1898-1968) and Compendex (1884-1968) Archives for articles and conference papers related to engineering, computer science, and physics.
Search tips
The following search tips tend to work across different databases:
- Use the word AND to link concepts together: innovation AND product complexity
- Use the word OR with parentheses to search for synonyms: education AND (AI OR artificial intelligence)
- Use quotation marks to search for a specific phrase: “knowledge management”
- Use an asterisk to search for multiple endings of a root word: comput* - to find compute, computer, computing, computation
Also check out:
- KnovelOnline access to reference books, databases, and conference proceedings from a number of publishers that cover all areas of engineering; includes interactive graphs and tables.
- Charles Babbage Institute Archives
The Charles Babbage Institute Archives (CBIA) collects, preserves and provides access to rich archival collections and rare publications documenting the history of technology, from the era of electromechanical calculators, through the development of the digital computer, mainframes, mini and microcomputers, software, the Internet, and computer graphics.
Off-campus access to library resources
Current University students, staff and faculty should be able to get full text and online access to the University Libraries from anywhere. Here are three ways to access the library full text from off campus.
- Search the University of Minnesota library website. Log in with your UMN Internet ID and password to access resources.
- Log in using the U of M Virtual Private Network (VPN). You will need to download it VPN software to your computer from campus OIT (Office of Information Technology).
- Install the Libraries' Proxy Bookmarklet to your browser and click it to reload the page with your U of M login to get access to full text. Watch a proxy bookmarklet video (3 min) to learn more.
View examples and learn more on our How to get to full text from on and off campus Guide.
Last Updated: Nov 1, 2024 4:47 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/CSE