Business homepage
- Business information websiteFind quick access to all of the business resources and databases on this homepage along with news, events, research guides, and video tutorials.
Remote help and contact
Have business research questions? Ask us!
Contact the business librarians at busref@umn.edu for research help
Looking for in-depth help? Let's meet!
Schedule an appointment for a virtual meeting with a business librarian @ calendly.com/busref
Come in for Office Hours!
Walk-in to meet our Business Reference Associate on Wednesdays from 1:00PM to 3:00PM in Walter Library's Toaster Innovation Hub. Ask for help with resumes, cover letters, business articles, business data, marketing reports, and a lot more.
This guide is intended to help researchers locate information on public and private companies. .
Company Profiles
- Mergent Intellect (Business)Mergent Intellect provides access to private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. It also provides access to contact information for over 250 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
- HooversIncludes information on more than 162 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information. Important note: downloading company lists is not available on the academic subscription.
- PitchBookPitchbook is a mediated-access database. Please see Additional Information. Use PitchBook to search thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. Establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details.
- PrivCoDatabase of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
This resource requires creation of a personal account using U of MN e-mail address. - Orbis (Company Research)
The University Libraries no longer subscribes to this resource due to economic sanctions required by Moody’s. For interglobal company data please visit EMIS Professional or Capital IQ Pro
Orbis delivers information on over 170 million public and private companies across the globe. The information includes: financial strength metrics and projected financials, associated news and independent research, extensive corporate ownership structures and beneficial ownership, original filed documents, individuals associated with companies, global M&A deals and rumors. - MarketLine Reports (Business)Part of the Business Source Premier Enhanced database, select Company Profiles to locate reports from Datamonitor. These are primarily U.S. public companies. This database contains various reports and articles on companies, industries, and market research. Business Source Premier Enhanced includes articles and other research materials on companies.
- Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)Directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
- GlobalData Medical This link opens in a new windowMarket research platform for the medical device industry. Includes news, deals, and companies. Each user must register for a personal account using their U of MN email address from the link above.
Financial Information
Public Companies
Many public companies make their annual reports freely available on their websites. Look for a link called "Investor Relations".
- Mergent Online (Business)Profiles of public corporations around the world that includes summaries, company histories, property, financials, subsdiaries, joint ventures, long term, press release and historical annual reports.
- S&P Capital IQ (with access to Aftermarket Research)University students, staff, and faculty must create a user profile. Click "New User?" and input your UMN credentials to gain access. Credentials will then work for both Capital IQ and Capital IQ PRO.
Standard & Poor's Capital IQ is a resource for financial data, analytics, and research. The web-based platform combines deep information on public and private companies, markets, and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. Capital IQ includes access to Aftermarket Research, an extensive collection of embargoed analyst research reports, offering coverage across more than 1,800 research providers including 30 million+ reports (current & historical back to 1995).
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu 2 business days ahead of your visit to arrange for login access. - FitchConnect (formerly BMI Research) This link opens in a new windowUMN affiliates: Please email busref@umn.edu to request an account.
Detailed reports on global industrial and municipal markets, companies and nonprofits, emphasizing emerging markets. Include extensive country risk and credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial analysis, and ESG scores. Find intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes. - PitchBookPitchbook is a mediated-access database. Please see Additional Information. Use PitchBook to search thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. Establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details.
- Orbis (Company Research)
The University Libraries no longer subscribes to this resource due to economic sanctions required by Moody’s. For interglobal company data please visit EMIS Professional or Capital IQ Pro
Orbis delivers information on over 170 million public and private companies across the globe. The information includes: financial strength metrics and projected financials, associated news and independent research, extensive corporate ownership structures and beneficial ownership, original filed documents, individuals associated with companies, global M&A deals and rumors. - HooversIncludes information on more than 162 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information. Important note: downloading company lists is not available on the academic subscription.
- Bloomberg ProfessionalNews and analytics for over 129 countries and 250 exchanges for the financial services industry. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies.
Bloomberg Professional desktop is available in Wilson Library (West Bank Campus), and laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster). See access instructions below.
Using Bloomberg Professional in Wilson Library. Direct specific questions to the Libraries business specialists: busref@umn.edu.
Using Bloomberg Professional laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster)
Private & VC Backed Companies
- PitchBookPitchbook is a mediated-access database. Please see Additional Information. Use PitchBook to search thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. Establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details.
- Preqin Venture CapitalInvestors, fund performance, firms, funds, fund terms, deals and exits, service providers and more. Note: You must be connected to the University's VPN or Eduroam in order to access. Large file download requests require you to enter your UMN email, Smaller downloads will occur immediately without entering email. Contact busref@umn.edu with questions.
- CB InsightsNational Science Foundation-backed company that uses data to provide Venture Capitalists, corporate strategy and Mergers & Acquisitions groups, and investment bankers with intelligence on emerging companies and disruptive technology trends.
- PrivCoDatabase of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
This resource requires creation of a personal account using U of MN e-mail address.
Nonprofit Organizations
- GuideStar: The National Database of Nonprofit OrganizationsInformation on nonprofit organizations in the United States that register with the Internal Revenue Service. Includes financial information, mission, programs, board of directories and historical 990 tax returns filed with the IRS with more detail about expenditures and revenue. Search for nonprofits by location, size, and types of services.
Directories for Locations, Headquarters and Subsidaries
- Mergent Intellect (Business)Mergent Intellect provides access to private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. It also provides access to contact information for over 250 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
- Uniworld OnlineSearch for company infromation on multinational firms operating around the world. U.S. companies listed have a substantial investment in overseas operations--wholly or partially owned subsidiary affiliate or branch. Non U.S. companies (foreign firms) listed have substantial investment within the United States.
- HooversIncludes information on more than 162 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information. Important note: downloading company lists is not available on the academic subscription.
- Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA)Directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
- Orbis (Company Research)
The University Libraries no longer subscribes to this resource due to economic sanctions required by Moody’s. For interglobal company data please visit EMIS Professional or Capital IQ Pro
Orbis delivers information on over 170 million public and private companies across the globe. The information includes: financial strength metrics and projected financials, associated news and independent research, extensive corporate ownership structures and beneficial ownership, original filed documents, individuals associated with companies, global M&A deals and rumors.
Nonprofit Organizations
- GuideStar: The National Database of Nonprofit OrganizationsInformation on nonprofit organizations in the United States that register with the Internal Revenue Service. Includes financial information, mission, programs, board of directories and historical 990 tax returns filed with the IRS with more detail about expenditures and revenue. Search for nonprofits by location, size, and types of services.
Supply Chain and Procurement
- PanjivaUniversity students, staff, and faculty must request a user login and password. Please contact busref@umn.edu.
A database of global suppliers, manufacturers, and trade professionals. Includes industry research and daily news and analysis. - ProcurementIQAccess to procurement reports covering a multitude of indirect purchasing lines. Reports cover product/service pricing dynamics, product characteristics that affect the purchasing decision, supplier benchmarking and supply chain risks, and negotiation questions and tactics.
- IBIS World (Business)Find the "Supply Chain" section within industry reports under the "About" tab.
- McKinsey & CompanyInsights on manufacturing & supply chain operations from McKinsey & Company.
- Bloomberg ProfessionalNews and analytics for over 129 countries and 250 exchanges for the financial services industry. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies.
Bloomberg Professional desktop is available in Wilson Library (West Bank Campus), and laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster). See access instructions below.
Using Bloomberg Professional in Wilson Library. Direct specific questions to the Libraries business specialists: busref@umn.edu.
Using Bloomberg Professional laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster) - RAND CorporationInsights and commentary on supply chain management from the RAND Corporation. See also the research publications on supply chain policy from RAND Social and Economic Well-Being.
Analyst/Equity Reports
- Morningstar Institutional Equity Research (MIERS) (a module of PitchBook)Locate recent and historical equity research analysis by Morningstar covering more than 1500 stocks globally—across all sectors, industries, and regions. Report types include Market, Sector, Observer, Company and more. Access using your PitchBook account. Don't have a PitchBook account but want to sign up? Get detailed instruction on setting up an account at: libguides.umn.edu/pitchbook
- Aftermarket Research (a module of S&P Capital IQ)Extensive collection of embargoed analyst research reports, offering coverage across more than 1,800 research providers including 30 million+ reports (current & historical back to 1995). Note: UMN affiliated users will create an individual account through a self-registration process. Follow the steps after selecting from the link above.
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu ahead of your visit to arrange for login access.
- Bloomberg Professional TerminalBloomberg Professional is a real-time financial services industry data integrator providing news and analytics for over 129 countries and 250 exchanges. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies. Bloomberg Professional market coverage includes: Governments, Preferred, Corporate's, Mortgages, Money Markets, Municipals, Equities, Commodities, Indices, Currency & Derivatives. Also included is Bloomberg Government.
Bloomberg Professional is accessible via a stand alone terminal on the first floor in the Wilson Library. For access details please review Using Bloomberg Professional in Wilson Library. Direct specific questions to the Libraries business specialists: busref@umn.edu.
Two additional Bloomberg Professional laptops are available for check out in Walter Library for use in The Toaster.
Financial Ratios
Use these financial ratios to determine how your company's ratios match the industry norms.
- Key Business RatiosKey Business Ratios, from Dun and Bradstreet, help you to assess how a business is doing compared to an industry or a competitor. The 14 key business ratios cover the critical areas of business performance --solvency, efficiency and profitability. They are broken down into median figures, with upper and lower quartiles. Ratios are arranged by Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes -a four-digit number that classifies business establishments by defining the industries in which they do business.
There is a known issue with this title in which the user may receive the error message "Disallowed Key Characters." If this occurs, clear the history/cache of the browser and close and reopen the browser. If this does not work, try using a different browser (clearing history/cache if necessary.) - BizminerBizMiner offers industry financial analysis benchmarks for over 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Their market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Bizminer is a great resource to use when developing business plans, or for any sort of entrepreneurship initiatives where you need to measure peer performance in an industry.
- HooversIncludes information on more than 162 million businesses, both public and private, around the world. Business data includes Annual Revenues, Employee Counts, Corporate Family Tree, Key Contacts, Analyst Reports, SWOT reports, stock data, financials and other vital information. Important note: downloading company lists is not available on the academic subscription.
Historical Company Information
- Mergent ArchivesSearchable database of corporate and industry related documents. Mergent archives contains more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries.
- ProQuest Historical Annual ReportsDatabase offers corporate annual reports for U.S. companies from 1884 to the present. Key data (financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies) are indexed in the citation and can be searched. Reports can be browsed by company name, industry or date. Cross-searchable to other historical periodical databases.
- Applied Science & Business Periodicals RetrospectiveIndexes seven decades of articles on important events, issues and trends in the history of business and industry (including the complete file of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957), plus historical sources in the applied science and technology field for the 20th Century. Covers more than 2,000 periodicals that include more than 4.5 million articles. An excellent resource for tracking down important studies, exploring historical controversies, finding papers by innovators, researching the development of a particular technology, and more.
- Data Explr This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 45 years of U.S. private company listings either as view-only or as manipulatable data. Content includes sales figures, employee counts, SIC Codes, addresses and family tree. Download specific years or a range of years of information. University of Minnesota subscription includes the D&B Historical Data File. Individual account creation using UMN email is required.
Global Company Information
- EMIS ProfessionalFormerly known as "ISI Emerging Markets" Delivers company and industry information, relevant proprietary content, reports, statistics, fundamental news, customized alerts, an advanced search engine, proprietary M&A information, peer analysis, credit analytics, benchmark indicators, and trend comparisons, to help understand emerging markets. While many documents are in English, some are in their native language. Much of the financial and economic data is downloadable in a spreadsheet-ready format. Dates of coverage vary. News coverage extends back 5 years. Other documents are most recent only.
- FitchConnect (formerly BMI Research) This link opens in a new windowUMN affiliates: Please email busref@umn.edu to request an account.
Detailed reports on global industrial and municipal markets, companies and nonprofits, emphasizing emerging markets. Include extensive country risk and credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial analysis, and ESG scores. Find intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes. - Orbis (Company Research)
The University Libraries no longer subscribes to this resource due to economic sanctions required by Moody’s. For interglobal company data please visit EMIS Professional or Capital IQ Pro
Orbis delivers information on over 170 million public and private companies across the globe. The information includes: financial strength metrics and projected financials, associated news and independent research, extensive corporate ownership structures and beneficial ownership, original filed documents, individuals associated with companies, global M&A deals and rumors.
For additional resources, see the Global Business research guide.
Last Updated: Nov 21, 2024 9:22 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/CompanyInformation