Business homepage
- Business information websiteFind quick access to all of the business resources and databases on this homepage along with news, events, research guides, and video tutorials.
Remote help and contact
Have business research questions? Ask us!
Contact the business librarians at busref@umn.edu for research help
Looking for in-depth help? Let's meet!
Schedule an appointment for a virtual meeting with a business librarian @ calendly.com/busref
Come in for Office Hours!
Walk-in to meet our Business Reference Associate on Wednesdays from 1:00PM to 3:00PM in Walter Library's Toaster Innovation Hub. Ask for help with resumes, cover letters, business articles, business data, marketing reports, and a lot more.
Listed here are links to online databases and associated pages detailing print and electronic resources for conducting marketing related research.
Find market research reports and market share
- Mintel Market ResearchMintel reports provide market research on consumer products, services, and lifestyles to identify economic drivers, leading companies, market share, market size, trends, segmentation, and analysis of consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. The library subscription includes Mintel Trends to analyze consumer trends by sectors, demographics, themes and regions.
- Mintel Global New Products DatabaseMintel Global New Products Database (GNPD) is a source of new product information. GNPD includes new product launches since 1996, spans 86 countries in all CPG categories, including OTC healthcare and records image, product and package details.
- PassportEuromonitor's Passport is a comprehensive market research database incorporating research analysis and detailed statistics of global markets and consumers. Its emphasis is on consumer-related industries across more than 200 countries and regions. Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu ahead of your visit to arrange for login access.
- MarketResearch.com AcademicMarket research reports on service industries, consumer goods,food and beverage, heavy industry, life sciences, technology and media.
- MarketsandMarketsProvides detailed niche market research reports on current trends and industries; including but not limited to: AI, Big Data & Analytics, Blockchain, IoT, Nanotechnology, and Wearables. Covered industries include Aerospace & Defense, Automotive, Banking, Agriculture, Medical, and more. NOTE: Reports are read-only. Researchers may download report charts and tables. Additional download options available for faculty. Please contact busref@umn.edu for details.
- EMIS ProfessionalFind company and industry information, reports, statistics, proprietary mergers and acquisitions, credit analytics, benchmark indicators and trend comparisons to help understand emerging markets.
- Frost & Sullivan Market Research ReportsUse for business research and to find Frost & Sullivan's market and industry reports for over 300 markets and 250,000 companies for industrial markets organized into categories for Aerospace and Defense, Automotive and Transportation, Chemicals, Materials, Food; Electronics and Security, Energy and Power Systems, Environment and Building Technologies, Healthcare and Medical Devices, Measurement and Instrumentation, Information and Communication Technologies, and Industrial Automation and Process Control.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Data can be accessed by searching or browsing by industry, topic, country, digital market or infographic. The Global Consumer Survey offers a global perspective on consumption and media usage, covering the offline and online world of the consumer. It is designed to help marketers, planners and product managers understand consumer behavior and consumer interactions with brands.
- FitchConnect (formerly BMI Research) This link opens in a new windowUMN affiliates: Please email busref@umn.edu to request an account.
Detailed reports on global industrial and municipal markets, companies and nonprofits, emphasizing emerging markets. Include extensive country risk and credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial analysis, and ESG scores. Find intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes. - Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965Access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the eras foremost consumer analyst, market research pioneer and widely-recognised father of Motivational Research.
- Gartner Research (CSOM affiliates only)Gartner is a leading provider of research and analysis about the global information technology industry.
This resource is not paid by the Libraries, and the access is limited to those affiliated with the Carlson School of Management. Gartner can be accessed by Carlson students/faculty/staff by going to the Carlson IT Service Center Research Databases/Datasets page (linked above), For access issues, please contact CSOM IT Service Center directly: csomhelp@umn.edu.
- GlobalData Medical This link opens in a new windowProvides medical device industry intelligence covering 16 therapy areas.
- Simmons InsightsSurvey data from the the Simmons National Consumer Survey to find target markets and consumer profiles for brands and products. Use Simmons advertising campaigns, market research, and business plans. Limited to 25 simultaneous users. NOTE: Please click logout when done to end session.
Learn about consumer spending
- Mintel Market ResearchMintel reports provide market research on consumer products, services, and lifestyles to identify economic drivers, leading companies, market share, market size, trends, segmentation, and analysis of consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. Includes Mintel Trends to analyze consumer trends by sectors, demographics, themes and regions.
- Simmons InsightsSurvey data from the the Simmons National Consumer Survey to find target markets and consumer profiles for brands and products. Use Simmons advertising campaigns, market research, and business plans. Academic license restricted to 5 simultaneous users along with an embargo of 3 years for current survey data. **The Simmons website requires Adobe Flash in order to view content.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowCreate custom maps and reports on SimplyAnalytics using extensive data on demographics, consumers, real estate, housing, employment, crime, health, and more. Data includes Nielsen Scarborough local insights and crosstabs, AGS Census, Claritas PRIZM consumer segment, MRI Simmons consumer survey data, consumer expenditures and buying power, as well as public data sources such as the US Census, American Community Survey, FBI uniform crime reports, NOAA climate data, and CDC health data.
Limited to 5 simultaneous users. "Sign in as a guest" if you do not wish to register for a free personal account. A personal account allows you to save your work. - PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is a web-based online data and mapping application that provides access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources.
- MarketLine Reports (Business)Industry reports and company profiles cover key facts, history, employees, major products, revenue analysis, SWOT analysis, top competitors, locations and subsidiaries. Industry Reports include analysis, market size, market share, forecasts, segmentation, and leading companies. Access via Business Source Premier
Consumer surveys
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowCreate custom maps and reports on SimplyAnalytics using extensive data on demographics, consumers, real estate, housing, employment, crime, health, and more. Data includes Nielsen Scarborough local insights and crosstabs, AGS Census, Claritas PRIZM consumer segment, MRI Simmons consumer survey data, consumer expenditures and buying power, as well as public data sources such as the US Census, American Community Survey, FBI uniform crime reports, NOAA climate data, and CDC health data.
Limited to 5 simultaneous users. "Sign in as a guest" if you do not wish to register for a free personal account. A personal account allows you to save your work. - Simmons InsightsSurvey data from the the Simmons National Consumer Survey to find target markets and consumer profiles for brands and products. Use Simmons advertising campaigns, market research, and business plans. Academic license restricted to 5 simultaneous users along with an embargo of 3 years for current survey data. **The Simmons website requires Adobe Flash in order to view content.
- Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new windowGallup Analytics provides trends in public opinion polling, using Gallup US Daily Poll questions and Gallup World Poll questions . Output formats include tables for time-series trends, charts and scatterplots, and maps for individual poll question responses. Questions in the World Poll vary by year and country. Gallup has a tool for identifying questions and when they were asked in a country. The subscription to Gallup Analytics includes mediated access to Gallup poll data for the US Daily Poll and World Poll. Contact library staff at busref@umn.edu for more information.
- iPoll (Roper Center for Public Opinion Research) This link opens in a new windowiPOLL is a collection of polling sources from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. It includes surveys from 150 polling organizations that include all major news outlets, Gallup polls, and other research institutions. Use these polls to compare public opinion from 1935-present on a range of issues.
- MyBestSegments (Claritas)Zip code analysis of lifestyle types that define households by segments to provide a picture of who lives where and what they are like. (Formerly Nielsen MyBestSegments)
- Sports Market Analytics (SBRnet)Formerly called Sports Business Research Network (SBRNet). Contains research data on the entire sports market including, consumer expenditures, brand share, participation, attendance and statistics about sport facilities, TV viewership, directories and full text articles from specialized sports industry magazines.
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowPolling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 700,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.
- Nielsen Datasets at the Kilts Center for MarketingEligible to use the datasets
Only tenure-track faculty from accredited US-based colleges and universities can subscribe to access to the datasets. This excludes clinical professors, adjunct professors, lecturers, and other non-tenure track faculty. Access by PhD students and postdoctoral research associates is permitted as part of our institutional subscription, provided they are supervised by a tenured or tenure-track faculty.
Available Datasets
Consumer Panel Data include longitudinal data beginning in 2004 with annual updates. These data track a panel of 40,000 - 60,000 US households and their purchases of fast-moving consumer goods from a wide range of retail outlets across all US markets.
Retail Scanner Data consist of weekly pricing, volume, and store environment information generated by point-of-sale systems from more than 90 participating retail chains across all US markets. Data begin in 2006 and include annual updates.
Just added:
Nielsen’s Ad Intel data cover ad occurrences for a variety of media types across the United States, for the years 2010-2015, with annual updates available each year. These data can be broken down by Market Code (i.e. ~200 Designated Market Areas (DMAs), which can be matched to DMAs in the Consumer Panel and Retail Scanner datasets).
To learn more about University of Minnesota researcher access and user requirements please see: Nielsen Datasets Access Guide
Consumer demographics and statistics
- Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowSearch statistical publications from US and state government agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowCreate custom maps and reports on SimplyAnalytics using extensive data on demographics, consumers, real estate, housing, employment, crime, health, and more. Data includes Nielsen Scarborough local insights and crosstabs, AGS Census, Claritas PRIZM consumer segment, MRI Simmons consumer survey data, consumer expenditures and buying power, as well as public data sources such as the US Census, American Community Survey, FBI uniform crime reports, NOAA climate data, and CDC health data.
Limited to 5 simultaneous users. "Sign in as a guest" if you do not wish to register for a free personal account. A personal account allows you to save your work. - PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is a web-based online data and mapping application that provides access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources.
- Nielsen Datasets at the Kilts Center for MarketingEligible to use the datasets
Only tenure-track faculty from accredited US-based colleges and universities can subscribe to access to the datasets. This excludes clinical professors, adjunct professors, lecturers, and other non-tenure track faculty. Access by PhD students and postdoctoral research associates is permitted as part of our institutional subscription, provided they are supervised by a tenured or tenure-track faculty.
Available Datasets
Consumer Panel Data include longitudinal data beginning in 2004 with annual updates. These data track a panel of 40,000 - 60,000 US households and their purchases of fast-moving consumer goods from a wide range of retail outlets across all US markets.
Retail Scanner Data consist of weekly pricing, volume, and store environment information generated by point-of-sale systems from more than 90 participating retail chains across all US markets. Data begin in 2006 and include annual updates.
Just added:
Nielsen’s Ad Intel data cover ad occurrences for a variety of media types across the United States, for the years 2010-2015, with annual updates available each year. These data can be broken down by Market Code (i.e. ~200 Designated Market Areas (DMAs), which can be matched to DMAs in the Consumer Panel and Retail Scanner datasets).
To learn more about University of Minnesota researcher access and user requirements please see: Nielsen Datasets Access Guide
Marketing and advertising strategies
- WARC (advertising)Campaign research source includes case studies, market reports, statistics, and articles from the trade magazines Admap and Market Leader as well research from the International Journal of Market Research, the Journal of Advertising Research, the International Journal of Advertising, and the Journal of Advertising History.
- WinmoInformation about advertisers, agencies, public relations firms and media buying services. Limited to 2 simultaneous users.
- VivvixFind advertising media spending by company, brands, products, or industries across all media channels. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- Mintel Global New Products DatabaseMintel Global New Products Database (GNPD) is a source of new product information. GNPD includes new product launches since 1996, spans 86 countries in all CPG categories, including OTC healthcare and records image, product and package details.
- AdAge Datacenter and Digital EditionSearch for articles or consult the Datacenter to find rankings and statistics about media companies and advertising agencies and the archives for past issues and access to the AdAge Datacenter.
- AdForumUse this database to research advertisements by agencies, advertiser, brands, campaigns, or creative staff. It contains video and images for advertisements produced for television, cinema, magazines, outdoor, and digital, along with audio recordings of radio advertisement and covers the work of agencies worldwide with interviews for case studies, packaging, branding and design for major brands.
Last Updated: Nov 26, 2024 10:23 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=844948