The sources highlighted below are intended to offer a broad view of secondary business intelligence tools available to you through the University of Minnesota Libraries. We welcome your questions and comments.

Sizing the Potential Market

Market & Industry Research Reports B2B & B2C

Industry reports for the United States, Canada, China, and selected global topics. Each reports provide overviews, leading companies, sales information, and authoritative sources for researching hundreds of industries. Includes Business Environmental Profiles that summarize key drivers for industries in the U.S.

BCC's market research reports explore major economic, scientific, and technological developments in industrial, pharmaceutical, and high technology organizations.

Frost & Sullivan's 1800 analysts and consultants cover more than 300 markets and 250,000 companies for industrial markets organized into categories for Aerospace and Defense, Automotive and Transportation, Chemicals, Materials, Food; Electronics and Security, Energy and Power Systems, Environment and Building Technologies, Healthcare and Medical Devices, Measurement and Instrumentation, Information and Communication Technologies, and Industrial Automation and Process Control.

Market research reports on service industries, consumer goods,food and beverage, heavy industry, life sciences, technology and media.

GlobalData is a leading provider of global business intelligence including market, competitor, product and customer information. It provides in-depth research, analysis, data and forecasts through a range of interactive online databases, reports and management briefings. Global coverage.

ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals.

Gartner is a leading providers of research and analysis about the global information technology industry. Areas of focus include customer relationship management, business-to-business e-commerce, supply chain management, wireless, emerging technologies, security, IT services and vendors, IT spending and strategies.

This resource is not paid by the Libraries, and the access is limited to those affiliated with the Carlson School of Management. For access issues, please contact csareait@umn.edu.

Providing business intelligence for companies/organizations in the healthcare arena looking for innovative and evidence-based analysis to inform their key decision making. Full report access.


Bloomberg Professional is a real-time financial services industry data integrator providing news and analytics for over 129 countries and 250 exchanges. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies. Bloomberg Professional market coverage includes: Governments, Preferred, Corporate's, Mortgages, Money Markets, Municipals, Equities, Commodities, Indices, Currency & Derivatives. Also included is Bloomberg Government.

Bloomberg Professional is accessible via a stand alone terminal on the first floor in the Wilson Library. For access details please review Using Bloomberg Professional in Wilson Library. Direct specific questions to the Libraries business specialists: busref@umn.edu.

 

Provides keyword searchable access to the full text of more than thirty medical and drug textbooks.

The Libraries' subscription to this resource allows for 5 users at any one time. If you get a busy signal, please wait a few minutes and try accessing the site again.

DynaMed Plus is an evidence-based clinical decision support tool with content from a team of physicians. It is designed for use at point-of-care. Over 3,200 topic summaries covering diseases, disorders, diagnostics, and drugs are derived from peer reviewed journals and systematic evidence review databases.

Mintel reports provide market research on consumer products, services, and lifestyles to identify economic drivers, leading companies, market share, market size, trends, segmentation, and analysis of consumer attitudes and purchasing habits. The library subscription includes Mintel Trends to analyze consumer trends by sectors, demographics, themes and regions.

Key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets, and consumers. Statistics on brands, companies and consumer products worldwide include market size and market share. Useful for researching global consumer markets with analysis of lifestyles for countries. Includes profiles and strategic information about companies that sell leading consumer goods.

Formerly known as "ISI Emerging Markets" Delivers company and industry information, relevant proprietary content, reports, statistics, fundamental news, customized alerts, an advanced search engine, proprietary M&A information, peer analysis, credit analytics, benchmark indicators, and trend comparisons, to help understand emerging markets. While many documents are in English, some are in their native language. Much of the financial and economic data is downloadable in a spreadsheet-ready format. Dates of coverage vary. News coverage extends back 5 years. Other documents are most recent only.

Government & Private Data/Statistics

Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository. Data-Planet Statistical Datasets offers powerful capabilities to compare & contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views. 
Many of the data sets are available for download as GIS data -- look for the "Map" icon to identify this functionality.

Index to statistical publications from US and state government agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States database provides enhanced online access to key federal statistical tables covering demographics, economics, and social indicators. The Statistical Abstract, in publication since 1878, is a key starting point for determining the statistical measures used by the United States government. Updated monthly.

Collection of statistical abstracts of approximately 40 countries, both individually searchable and cross searchable. These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Global and regional statistical compendia issued by international organizations and research firms are also included.

Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government's open data. You can find Federal, state and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more. The Data.gov team works at the U.S. General Services Administration, and data on the site are provided by hundreds of organizations, including Federal agencies.

This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.

The Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP, pronounced "H-Cup") is a family of health care databases and related software tools and products developed through a Federal-State-Industry partnership and sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). HCUP databases bring together the data collection efforts of State data organizations, hospital associations, private data organizations, and the Federal government to create a national information resource of patient-level health care data (HCUP Partners).

These statistics cover trade in services and include detail by partner country as far back as 1995 using the Harmonize system; allows interactive selection on parameters: country, service, partner, expression, units, and year.

PolicyMap is a web-based online data and mapping application that provides access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources. A complete list of data available can be found in the data directory

PolicyMap also provides tutorials and a short video tutorial as well.

SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) contains extensive data including demographic, real estate, housing, employment, consumer spending, health data, D&B business points-of-interest file and marketing data from EASI including Life Stages and Mediamark Research (MRI) with current estimates of usage and consumption (propensity) for thousands of very specific and detailed products, including actual brand data, frequency of usage and more. Users can create customized maps and reports; data is available at the State, County, City, ZIP Code, Census Tract and Block Group level as well as custom trade area and the entire United States. 

Click on Help to watch training videos. "Sign in as a guest" if you do not wish to register for a personal account. Personal accounts save your preferences, reports, and maps. Licensed for 5 concurrent users.

  •  
    Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: EV Data Center
    Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: EV Volumes.coEV Data Center requires that University of Minnesota users enter a Username/Password combination when accessing content on their site. Provides access to the global market information on electronically chargeable vehicles, including sales volumes, vehicle information, charging infrastructure, incentive schemes, and installed battery capacity by chemistry, supplier and vehicles in use.

Policy, Regulatory, Legislation

PolicyFile draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers. Some well known contributors include: the American Enterprise Institute, Brookings Institution, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Cato Institute, Center for Defense Information, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Council on Foreign Relations, Democratic Leadership Council, Economic Strategy Institute, Federation of American Scientists, Heritage Foundation, Hoover Institution, Hudson Institute, Institute for International Economics, International Monetary Fund, National Center for Policy Analysis, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, United States Institute of Peace, and the World Bank. Where available, access to home pages, electronic mail addresses and fulltext are made available within individual abstracts.

Congressional Publications & Executive Branch Documents provides access to full-text, indexing, and abstracts of published and unpublished Hearings, Congressional Committee Prints, and Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports. The full list of searchable congressional publications and date coverages includes:

Legislative Histories 1969-Present

Bills & Laws 1789-Present

Committee Prints & Misc. Publications 1789-Present

Congressional Record Bound Edition & Predecessors 1789-Present

Congressional Record Daily Edition 1985-Present

CRS Reports 1916-Present

Hearings 1824-Present

House & Senate Documents 1789-Present

House & Senate Reports 1789-Present

Serial Set 1789-Present

Executive Branch Documents 1789-1945

The National Conference of State Legislatures is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories. NCSL provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues.

Pharmaceuticals: Facts, Policies and NCSL Resources

The Council of State Governments is the nation's only organization serving all three branches of state government. CSG is a region-based forum that fosters the exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy.

Designed as a starting place for research, 48 reports per year provide background on current topics of widespread interest. The reports define the issues and include a chronology and extensive bibliographies.

Bloomberg BNA's coverage spans the full range of legal practice areas, including tax & accounting, labor & employment, intellectual property, banking & securities, employee benefits, health care, privacy & data security, human resources, and environment, health & safety.

Provides full-text access to primary and secondary materials relating to domestic and global securities, banking, trade regulation, government contracts, telecom, information technology, federal energy guidelines, transportation law, and products liability and safety.

Each user must create a User ID and Password. Click on the Create User IDlink and follow the registration steps.

Business News & Media

See section below in "Competitive Analysis" for relevant sources.

Corporate Finance & Equity Research

 

Search thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details. 

Each user must create a personal account while on campus using their valid @umn.edu e-mail address. Accounts expire in August of each year. Detailed instructions on how to create a personal account are available at:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1bVUTN3pg0-aspINDAiFqQXyQEi9al5-_EqRaekqPneM/edit?usp=sharing

Walk in users please contact busref@umn.edu ahead of your visit to arrange for login access. Walk-in Guest Users login in at: https://www.pitchbook.com

Data Downloads are available to faculty. Forward Pitchbook download requests to business librarian, Mary Schoenborn - hawki003@umn.edu.

 

Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Capital IQ, Standard & Poor's Capital IQ
Standard & Poor's Capital IQ is a resource for financial data, analytics, and research. The web-based platform combines deep information on public and private companies, markets, and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. An Excel plugin feature provides powerful analytic capability.
UMN affiliated users will create an individual account through a self-registration process. Follow the steps after selecting from the link above. To use the Excel plug-in feature, please log in to the Virtual Private Network (VPN). Information on VPN is available at Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Faculty who wish to use this tool for a class may request a batch class registration. Please contact Mary Schoenborn (hawki003@umn.edu) to request this access.

 

Includes investment research reports on companies and industries, prepared by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms worldwide.

  • Bloomberg Professional

Real-time financial services industry data integrator providing news and analytics for over 129 countries and 250 exchanges. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies. Its market coverage includes: Governments, Preferred, Corporate's, Mortgages, Money Markets, Municipals, Equities, Commodities, Indices, Currency & Derivatives. Also included is Bloomberg Government. 

Bloomberg Market Concepts is a 10-hour, self-paced e-learning certification program available to any student and is completed using the Bloomberg workstation in Wilson Library. See the link below for more details.

Bloomberg Professional is accessible via a stand alone terminal on the first floor in the Wilson Library. Review 
Using Bloomberg Professional in Wilson Library for detailed information. Direct specific questions to the Libraries business specialists: busref@umn.edu.

Competitive Analysis

Competitors

 

Find companies by industry, deal data, and more.

  • Orbis Authentication Required
    Orbis delivers information on over 170 million public and private companies across the globe. The information includes:
    • financial strength metrics and projected financials
    • associated news and independent research
    • extensive corporate ownership structures and beneficial ownership
    • original filed documents
    • individuals associated with companies
    • global M&A deals and rumors
    The access to the Royalty agreements is limited to two users.
  • PitchBook Authentication Required
    Search thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details. Each user must create a personal account while on campus using their valid @umn.edu e-mail address. Accounts expire in August of each year. Walk in users please contact busref@umn.edu ahead of your visit to arrange for login access.

    Walk-in Guest Users login in with this link

    Data Downloads are available to faculty. Forward Pitchbook download requests to business librarian, Mary Schoenborn - hawki003@umn.edu.

  • PrivCo Authentication Required
    Database of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
  • Reference USA Authentication Required
    Directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising. Toll free and fax numbers are given for some companies.
  • Mergent Intellect Authentication Required
    Mergent Intellect provides access to private and public U.S. and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. It also provides access to contact information for over 250 million U.S. consumers using WhitePages Pro data.
  • Mergent Online Authentication Required
    Profiles of public corporations around the world that includes summaries, company histories, property, financials, subsdiaries, joint ventures, long term, press release and historical annual reports.
  • NetAdvantage by S&P Global Authentication Required
    Overviews, rankings and comparative statistics for major industries that provides detailed information on public companies such as stock reports, bonds, stock valuation annual reports, and other detailed fianancial statistics. NetAdvantage also includes investment services such as the advisory newsletter Outlook and screening directories for stocks, bonds and mutual funds. There are also directories for private companies and the Register of Corporations, Directors, and Executives

    Subscription cancelled effective November 27, 2018.

  • CB Insights Authentication Required
    CB Insights is a National Science Foundation-backed company that uses data to provide VCs, corporate strategy and M&A groups and investment bankers with intelligence on emerging companies and disruptive technology trends. Users have to create an account using a U of M e-mail address.
  • GuideStar: The National Database of Nonprofit Organizations Authentication Required
    Information on nonprofit organizations in the United States that register with the Internal Revenue Service. Includes financial information, mission, programs, board of directories and historical 990 tax returns filed with the IRS with more detail about expenditures and revenue. Search for nonprofits by location, size, and types of services. Licensed for 3 simultaneous users
  • Leadership Connect (formerly: Leadership Library) Authentication Required
    Detailed information about people and organizational strucures for major corporations, nonprofits, news organizations, associations, law firm, courts and local, state, and federal government. Licensed for 1 user at a time.
  • Lobbyists.info Authentication Required
    Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Lobbyists.info provides reference information on and for the government relations and lobbying industry and is maintained by parent publisher, Columbia Books & Information Services (CBIS)
  • Thomas Net 
    This is a large online industrial product directory. Use it to find information on companies that manufacture products.
  • Associations Unlimited Authentication Required
    Directory of associations, professional societies, and other nonprofit membership organization. Includes international, national, and state organizations of all types. Brief profiles include contact information, budget, number of employees and specialized publications.
  • American Hospital Directory (free version) 
    6000+ US hospitals with information about number of beds, type of services offered, top zip codes of most patients treated, teaching/non-teaching status, profit/non-profit organization, as well as financial information such as average cost for certain procedures.

Business News & Media

  • Minneapolis / St. Paul Business Journal and Book of Lists Authentication Required
    This monthly magazine on companies, people, and business in the Twin Cities is available as a digital edition in the American City Business Journal database. It includes the annual Book of Lists with over 100 rankings of organizations and companies in manufacturing, services, real estate, banking and finance, health, construction, education, media, technology, hospitality and entertainment. Special lists are also compiled for minority businesses, best employers, and other categories.

    Access is limited to 10 simultaneous users. If you are on the Twin Cities campus, go to https://www.bizjournals.com/twincities/portal/uofminnesotaMN. If you are affiliated with the University of Minnesota Twin Cities and would like to access this resource off campus, click on the following link to go through the authentication process: http://www.lib.umn.edu/ejournals/restricted/16519

  • Regional Business News Authentication Required
    This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
    Full text coverage for regional business publications; Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis
  • Wall Street Journal (WSJ.COM) Authentication Required
    Access to the articles, photographs, charts, podcasts, videos and other premium content available on the WSJ.COM website back to the 2010. Each user must set up a personal account to save articles, create alerts, download apps, and use other features. Access available only for University of Minnesota Twin Cities students, faculty, and staff. No guest access available.

    WSJ.COM will transition to a new platform on March 15th, 2018. If you are already a registered user, you will be asked to reactivate your WSJ account by visiting the link below. You will have the option to log in with existing credentials to streamline the process. You will not be able to access paid articles on WSJ.COM directly until you have reactivated your account.

  • Financial Times Authentication Required
    Current students, faculty, and staff must register and create personal accounts using University of Minnesota e-mail addresses at the link below. Once registered, you can use your account to log in to the FT.com from anywhere on any device by clicking on the "Sign in" link in the upper right-hand corner.

    Guest access for non-affiliated users is available at the CD-ROM workstation (computer ID: ULPAWil-101-ROM) located in the Smart Commons area of Wilson Library basement.

  • Bloomberg BNA Premier Authentication Required
    Bloomberg BNA's coverage spans the full range of legal practice areas, including tax & accounting, labor & employment, intellectual property, banking & securities, employee benefits, health care, privacy & data security, human resources, and environment, health & safety.
  • Environment & Energy Publishing Authentication Required
    Provides news and analysis of developments in environmental, energy, and natural resources policy. The E & E Package consists of five daily publications: ClimateWireEnergyWireEnvironment & Energy DailyGreenWire, and E & E News PM. Also includes E&ETV (featuring video interviews). The Reports tab retrieves compiled news and special reports on specific issues, events, and areas of the world. The former weekly publication, Land Letter (natural resources policy), is available via the site search feature.
  •  
    Find business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
  • Factiva Authentication Required
    Full text articles and transcripts from news sources, business magazines, and websites with international and foreign language coverage. Includes daily newspapers, television transcripts, newswires, and all editions of the Wall Street Journal. Financial information for publicly traded companies, stocks, funds, currencies, and common market indexes. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.
  •  
    News and analysis on alternative energy sources and the U.S. electricity industry. An individual account is required to access this resource. Click on the link below to register using a University of Minnesota e-mail address. Note that the third step of reigstration shows the "Purchase" button, which you can click to associate your account to the Libraries' paid subscription. Once registered, use your e-mail address and password to log in to www.gtmsquared.com from anywhere.
  • ProQuest Global Newsstream Authentication Required
    Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring content from newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. Provides access to news from the United States, Canada, Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia.
    • Star Tribune (access via ProQuest Newspapers) Authentication Required
      This resource is licensed by the MINITEX Library Information Network with state appropriations from the Minnesota Higher Education Services Office (MHESO) and the Minnesota Department of Education.
      Full text available from 1986 - Current. Access to freelance articles and other features within this publication such as photographs or classifieds may not be available.

Market & Industry Context

See section in Market Sizing, above.

Last Updated: Jul 30, 2019 8:48 AM