Related Course Guides
Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Librarian
Slides from Library presentation
- Library Resources for FSCN 4612WSlides from Megan Kocher's in-class presentation.
Tutorial: Choosing a research paper topic
After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
- Find ideas and language on a topic using online tools and techniques
- Use techniques like mind mapping, the 5W’s, and freeform writing to narrow a large topic
Searching For Peer-Reviewed Articles
Use these databases to find peer-reviewed articles on human nutrition. You can also use the Libraries' search box at the top of this page.
- PubMedSearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- AGRICOLA Agriculture (Ovid)Search agriculture, animal husbandry, animal and human nutrition, forestry, plant pathology, plant science, human ecology, agricultural economics, and rural sociology. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- SPORTDiscusThe world's most comprehensive bibliographic resources for all aspects of sport and fitness. Includes websites, conference papers, journal articles, unpublished papers and theses. It also includes Full-text access to over 350 journals. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- Guide: Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources in the Health SciencesSources are considered primary, secondary, or tertiary depending on the originality of the information and how close they are to the source of information.
Tutorial: How to read and comprehend scientific research articles
After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
- Read scientific research articles
- Find the main points of articles
- Engage with articles by taking effective notes
Citing your sources
- AMA Manual of Style, 11th EditionAccess the full style guide online.
- ZoteroBibZoterobib formats bibliographies in any style automatically. Just enter a doi or title.
- Citing Your Work: AMA Style RulesVideo tutorial from MD Anderson Cancer Center's Research Medical Library
Zotero
Zotero (download link) is a free, open-source citation manager that:
- imports and organizes citations and PDFs;
- recognizes and creates citations for wide range of file types;
- formats citations in thousands of styles including APA and Chicago;
- easily adds in-text citations to Word and Google Doc documents, and creates a bibliography from those citations;
- allows you to add notes to your citation information for later use.
Tutorial: What are citations?
After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:
- Understand what citations are
- Recognize why they are important
- Create and use citations in your papers and other scholarly work
Last Updated: Jul 18, 2024 5:01 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/course/FSCN/4612W