The Center for Writing's program provides support for UMN faculty and instructors to learn more about how writing is conceptualized, taught, and learned (or unlearned) in the disciplines. This guide includes help find research on writing/literacy.
Program Information
- Grants for the Study of Writing in the Disciplines (WID Grants) programLearn more about the grant from the Center for Writing. The Center for Writing's program provides financial and consultative support for UMN faculty and instructors who want to learn more about how writing is conceptualized, taught, and learned (or unlearned) in the disciplines.
Getting Started
- WAC (Writing Across the Curriculum) ClearinghouseSupporting scholarly exchange about Communication Across the Disciplines.
Naming What We Know by ISBN: 9780874219906Publication Date: 2015-06-15Naming What We Know examines the core principles of knowledge in the discipline of writing studies using the lens of "threshold concepts"--concepts that are critical for epistemological participation in a discipline.
- Learn more about Data ManagementGot data? We’re here to help you manage, share, and preserve your research data. In addition to our Data Repository for the U of M curation services, the Libraries will help you navigate available campus resources throughout the data lifecycle.
Databases useful to find articles on writing, pedagogy, teaching of writing, etc.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteSearch for journal articles on topics such as communication, mass media, film, television, marketing, business communication, health communication, and more.
- Education SourceSearch full-text education journals covering all levels of education--from early childhood to higher education--as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
- ERIC Education (Ebscohost)ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a database of full-text education literature and resources. With coverage dating back to 1966, it is essential for education researchers of all kinds.
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- MLA International BibliographyUse the MLA International Bibliography to find scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. This index has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926.
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Sample of Journals
- Across the Disciplines journal (1994 to present)Search using Education Source database
- The WAC Journal (1989 to present)Search using Education Source
- Written Communication (1984 to present)Search using Education Source
- International Journal of Corpus Linguistics (2003-present)Search and browse using Communications and Mass Media Complete database
- Journal of Writing in Creative Practice (2008-present)Search and browse using Communications and Mass Media Complete database
- Review of Communication (2001 to present)Search and browse using Communications and Mass Media Complete database
- Communication Education (1976 to present)Search and browse using Communications and Mass Media Complete database
- Rhetoric Review (1982 to present)Search and browse using JSTOR and Communications and Mass Media Complete database
- College Composition and Communication (1950 to present)Search and browse using JSTOR and Literature Online
- Educational Researcher (1972 to present)Search and browse using JSTOR and Sage
Citing Your Sources (e.g. MLA, APA, etc.)
- Citation Managers (e.g. Zotero, EndNote Online, etc.)Citation managers are software packages used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to: import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources; save links to pdfs and other documents; format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles; and include your own notes.
Librarians, experts and archivists - ready to help!
The UMN Libraries has a librarian for every department on campus. Librarians do a bunch of different things -- more than just read books! Librarians buy our online and print collections, meet with students and faculty on their research topics and teach classes and workshops. Librarians help students at our service points and on chat 24/7 with research questions, use our equipment like video cameras and 3D printers, and use special software like making maps and data visualizations.
Archivists and curators help students and faculty with our unique and historic collections. They organize and grow these collections along with digitizing materials and objects. They also make exhibits and help researchers from around the country find what they need.
Even more ways to get help!
- Chat 24/7 Online with the Libraries
Ask us anything! Chat with a librarian, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with any research or library questions.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 3:06 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/WIDgrants