Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
This guide is an in-depth listing of German language & literature resources available to students and faculty at the University of Minnesota.
Online Bilingual Dictionaries
- Pocket Oxford German dictionary : English German4th edition, 2009. English to German dictionary
- Pocket Oxford German dictionary : German-English4th edition, 2009. German to English dictionary
- Beolingus German dictionaryOnline bilingual dictionaries from German-English/English-German and other languages
- LEO German-English/English-German DictionaryOnline bilingual dictionaries to and from German English, and other languages.
Online German Dictionaries
- DudenCollection of DUDEN German-language dictionaries, including Wrterbuch der deutschen Sprache, Deutsches Universalwrterbuch, Die deutsche Rechtschreibung, and more.
- Grimms' Deutsches Wörterbuch (1854-1961)Searchable version of the 32-volume Deutsches Wörterbuch by Jakob and Wihelm Grimm. This is the German equivalent of the OED. Copies in in print available.
- Das Wörterbuch-NetzPortal to 28 online German-language dictionaries. Allows cross-searching of all dictionaries at once. Includes Deutsches Wörterbuch (Grimm), Goethe Wörterbuch, Middle- and Old High German dictionaries, and several Mundart dictionaries.
Print Dictionaries
Collins German-English, English-German dictionary : unabridged by Call Number: Quarto PF3640 .C64 2004 (Wilson)ISBN: 0060733810Publication Date: 2004The Collins German Unabridged Dictionary gives you comprehensive coverage of both German and English and most up-to-date business, political, and technical terms.
Oxford-Duden German Dictionary by Call Number: Quarto PF3640 .O94 2005 (Wilson Reference)ISBN: 0198609744Publication Date: 3rd edition; 2005Updated to include the very latest vocabulary, with over 3,000 new words in each language, including blogger, destination wedding, and oxygen bar. Language is now studied in the context of its culture, so this new edition now includes cultural notes, providing interesting and helpful information on life in the German-speaking world.
Die deutsche RechtschreibungCall Number: PF3151 .H47 2003 (Wilson)ISBN: 3577100443Publication Date: 2003
Deutsches Wörterbuch by Call Number: Quarto PF3625 .G72 (Wilson)ISBN: 3740100001Publication Date: 1965-
Last Updated: Nov 14, 2024 4:46 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/moregerman