Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
This guide is an in-depth listing of German language & literature resources available to students and faculty at the University of Minnesota.
Online Encyclopedias, Handbooks, & General Surveys
- Bibliographie der deutschen Zeitschriftenliteratur, mit Einschluss von Sammelwerken. Beilage-Band.1909-1944. An index to the principal articles in German, and some Austrian, newspapers.
Location(s): TC Wilson Library Quarto 016.05 B47 Suppl.B Non-Circulating.
Some volumes of Suppl.B are bound with Wilson Quarto 016.05. B47. - Brockhaus Konversationslexikon - 14. Auflage (1894-1896)16 vols. Late 19th-century edition.
- Cambridge History of German literature (1997)eBook. Describes German literary history up to the unification of Germany in 1990. The book is designed for general readers as well as students and scholars: titles and quotations are translated, and there is an extensive bibliography. Also available in print
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowProvides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Search by full-text keyword, author, topic, volume title, publication date, or DLB series.
- Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture (1999)eBook. With more than 1,100 entries written by an international group of over 150 contributors, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture brings together myriad strands of social, political and cultural life in the post-1945 German-speaking world.
- Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur (KLG)Bio-bibliographical database of contemporary (post-1945) German-speaking authors.
- Metzler Lexikon Autoren: deutschsprachige Dichter und Schriftsteller vom Mittelalter bis zur GegenwartEncyclopedia of German-language authors from Middle Ages to present with short biographies and some references to primary works and secondary literature. In German.
- Oxford Companion to German LiteratureCovers German-language literature from the eighth century throught the mid-1990s. Has short, non-detailed articles with few bibliographical references. Includes authors, titles, themes, and characters.
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains 100 language and subject dictionaries and other reference works, and searches across these resources. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- XlibrisGerman reference source that has articles on literary periods and authors of German literature.
- Zedlers Grosses vollständiges Universal-LexiconThe major German 18th-century encyclopedia.
Online Biographical Sources
- Biographie-PortalCan search Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB), Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB), Österreichisches Biographisches Lexikon 1815-1950 (ÖBL), the Historisches Lexikon der Schweiz (HLS), and other German-language sources simulataneously.
- Deutsche BiographieBiographies for German-speaking Europe from Middle Ages to the present. Searches Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB, Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB), & other sources. German or English interface.
- World Biographical Information SystemSearch short biographical information on over 6 million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present. WBIS provides an index to the entire archive; we have full-text access to these language-area archives: Baltic, Czech & Slovak, German, Polish, Russian & Soviet, and Scandinavian Biographical Archives.
Selected Print Reference
Below is only a selected list of print reference titles. Consult MNCat Discovery for additional titles or browse the shelves in the range PT1-PT85.
Brockhaus Enzyklopädie in vierundzwanzig Bänden. by Call Number: AE27 .G672 1986 (Wilson)ISBN: 3765311006Publication Date: 1986-1996General encyclopedia in German.
Deutsche Biographische Enzyklopadie by Call Number: CT153 .D48 2005 (Wilson)ISBN: 3598250304Publication Date: 20052nd edition. 12-volume biographical encyclopedia of German-speaking Europe.
Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon by Call Number: PT41 .K67x 1968 (Wilson)ISBN: 9783907820001Publication Date: 1968-2019
Encyclopedia of German Literature by Call Number: Quarto PT41 .E42x 2000 (Wilson)ISBN: 1579581382Publication Date: 2000
The Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature by Call Number: PT41 .F46 1997ISBN: 0313293139Publication Date: 1997Provides a synthesis of the contribution women have made to German literature and culture. In entries for more than 500 topics, the volume surveys literary periods, epochs, and genres; critical approaches and theories; important authors and works; female stereotypes; laws and historical developments; literary concepts and themes; and organizations and archives relevant to women and women's studies.
Kindlers neues Literatur Lexikon by Call Number: PN44 .K54 1988 (Wilson)ISBN: 3463430010Publication Date: 1988-1998Comprehensive German-language encyclopedia of world literature from Antiquity to the present. Includes synopses and biographical sketches.
Metzler Literatur Chronik (1998) by Call Number: PT85 .M44 1998ISBN: 3476016013Overview of German literature organized chronologically.
Last Updated: Dec 2, 2024 4:53 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/moregerman