German Language and Literature (Advanced Researchers)

Digital library of over 15,000 books, journals, newspapers, manuscripts, theses,and scientific essays covering the 11th century to the present. Texts available as images or PDFs.

Book Sales Catalogues Online (BSCO) offers a comprehensive bibliography of book sales catalogues printed in the Dutch Republic before 1801. A sophisticated search menu provides access to some 3,750 digital facsimiles from ca. 50 libraries across Europe.

Search back issues of German-language scholarly journals.

Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through the close of the seventeenth century. The resource represents a diverse array of printed sources and opens the door to some of the Europe's most significant collections of early printed books.

Over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).

Search books from the Enlightenment period in Great Britain between 1701 and 1800 with over 180,000 English-language titles and editions printed in the United Kingdom and the Americas. It includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more.

Portal to open access primary historical documents for European countries that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Texts, video, sound files, maps, photographs and other imagery, databases, and other documentation are also available. Coverage is from Prehistoric Europe to present day.

Single access point to millions of artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.

From the Georg Eckert Institute for International Textbook Research (GEI) , a historical digital collection of German textbooks for a variety of school subjects from about 1600 to 1918.

Primary source materials documenting Germany's political, social, and cultural history from 1500 to the present. It comprises original German texts with new English translations, and a wide range of visual imagery.

HathiTrust provides access to millions of books and other materials. Full text searching of most books is available and books in the public domain (generally older books) can be freely viewed and/or downloaded. Books still in copyright have more limited access. Users with print-reading disabilities can apply for special access to digitized works by emailing wilsref@umn.edu.

Search primary source collections of the nineteenth century (1800s) with books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Topics include British politics, theater and music; European literature, Asian exploration, photography, and more.

Digitized versions of the Frankfurt and Leipzig book fair catalogs, which offer an overview of German book production over a period of nearly 300 years (1594-1860)

400 volumes of German literature/literary studies, philosophy, and other subjects in the Humanities from the 16th-20th centuries reprinted by the publisher Georg Olms Verlag with additional information.

Major archive of historical volumes of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.

The Sophie Digital Library is an open-access, full-text-searchable source of literature written by German-speaking women from medieval times through the early 20th century. The collection covers a broad spectrum of genres and is designed to showcase literary works that have been not widely available.

Portal to searching digital collections from Germany for publications from the 15th century to the present