German Language and Literature (Advanced Researchers)

Search the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

Find books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. All subject areas are covered. Request items through Interlibrary Loan using the ILLiad link on each item's record. A mobile version of this database is available. Limited to 65 simultaneous users.

HathiTrust provides access to millions of books and other materials. Full text searching of most books is available and books in the public domain (generally older books) can be freely viewed and/or downloaded. Books still in copyright have more limited access. Users with print-reading disabilities can apply for special access to digitized works by emailing wilsref@umn.edu.

Find documentaries and social issue films and view online. Includes films in foreign languages.

Academic Video Online (AVON) delivers 70,000+ videos, on a range of topics including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Video streaming platform hosting a wide variety of award-winning films and documentaries.

Consists of around 300,000 images, videos, audio, and other formats from teaching and research collections across the University of Minnesota. This is particularly useful source for foreign language film. Some items are password protected because of copyright considerations and can be used for educational purposes only.The DCL is run by LATIS.

CRL holds over four million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching. Holdings include such diverse materials as 800,000 doctoral dissertations (including those of Albert Einstein, Dag Hammarskjold and other Nobel laureates), some of the earliest African-American newspapers and the 100,000-plus-page archive of Cambodia's Khmer Rouge security force. Emphasis is on materials produced outside the United States, and the Center has special strength in publications and archives from many developing nations.

Single access point to millions of artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives.