Ask Brian!
Brian Vetruba
Contact:
Office: 1a Wilson Library
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
309 19th Ave. S. Minneapolis, MN 55455
Email: bvetruba@umn.edu
612-625-8161
This guide is an in-depth listing of European Studies resources available to students and faculty at the University of Minnesota.
Selected Online Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Blacks in European History and Culture by
Blacks have played a significant part in European civilization since ancient times. This encyclopedia illuminates blacks in European history, literature, and popular culture. It emphasizes the considerable scope of black influence in, and contributions to, European culture. The first blacks arrived in Europe as slaves and later as laborers and soldiers, and black immigrants today along with others are transforming Europe into multicultural states. This indispensable set expands our knowledge of blacks in Western civilization. More than 350 essay entries introduce students and other readers to the white European response to blacks in their countries, the black experiences and impact there, and the major interactions between Europe and Africa, the Caribbean, and the United States that resulted in the settling of blacks in Europe. The range of information presented is impressive, with entries on noted European political, literary, and cultural figures of black descent from ancient times to the present, major literary works that had a substantial impact on European perceptions of blacks, black holidays and festivals, the struggle for civil equality for blacks, the role and influence of blacks in contemporary European popular culture, black immigration to Europe, black European identity, and much more. Offered as well are entries on organizations that contributed to the development of black political and social rights in Europe, representations of blacks in European art and cultural symbols, and European intellectual and scientific theories on blacks. Individual entries on Britain, Spain, Portugal, France, Italy, Germany, the Netherlands, Russia, Central Europe, Scandinavia, and Eastern Europe include historical overviews of the presence and contributions of blacks and discussion of country's role in the African slave trade and abolition and its colonies in Africa and the Caribbean. Suggestions for further reading accompany each entry. A chronology, resource guide, and photos complement the text.
ISBN: 9780313344480Publication Date: 2008-12-08
Encyclopedia of European Social History by ISBN: 0684805820Publication Date: 2001The Encyclopedia of European Social History covers all aspects of European social history from the Renaissance to the present. This six-volume reference includes more than 230 articles, ranging from 5,000 to 10,000 words, on everything from serfdom and the economy, to witchcraft and public health. This reference provides a survey of hundreds of topics. Included are more than 700 photographs, drawings and maps. The sixth volume also includes biographies of prominent European figures and a comprehensive index.
Europe since 1914 by ISBN: 9780684314976Publication Date: 2006Presents the history of Europe from the Renaissance, the printing revolution, and the Protestant Reformation in the 1400s and 1500s through the Scientific Revolution of the 1600s, and the Enlightenment and the French Revolution of the 1700s.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies
Search all aspects of International Studies from theory and pedagogy to policy and practice, from identities, sexuality, and human rights to qualitative and quantitative methods, and more.
The SAGE Handbook of European Studies by ISBN: 9781412933957Publication Date: 2009The Handbook promotes the increasing diversity of perspectives employed in the study of contemporary Europe and EU integration is situated in the context of Europe's transformations. It offers balanced coverage of political, social, economic, cultural and institutional dimensions of Europe.
- How the European Union works: your guide to the EU institutions (2014)
2014 ed., from EU Publications
Online Reference Databases
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online This link opens in a new windowMajor encyclopedia with information on a wide range of subjects.
- EuroDocs: Online Sources for European HistoryLinks to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated. Video, sound files, maps, photographs and other imagery, databases, and other documentation are also available.
- Europa World PlusEuropa World is a source of information for more than 250 countries and territories. Find facts, statistics, history, political, economic and other information including geography, media outlets, education, government agencies, trade and industry, tourism and other organizations. A major bibliography is included for each country and survey articles on various issues are listed for each major region.
- European Country/Region Research GuidesCurated by librarians from the European Studies Section
- Gale EbooksSearch encyclopedias and reference books from various publishers in many subjects, including art, biography, business, cultural studies, education, the environment, history, religion, science, and social science.
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineOxford Handbooks contain peer-reviewed scholarly review articles in Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion. Included are classic works of scholarship along with newly-published works. Each handbook offers a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in a particular field of study. Individual articles by leading scholars review key issues and major debates, and discuss how those debates might evolve.
- Oxford BibliographiesSearch expert commentary and detailed annotated bibliographies to find high quality sources of information in these areas: African American Studies, African Studies, American Literature, Anthropology, Architecture, Planning and Preservation, Art History, Atlantic History, Biblical Studies, British and Irish Literature, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Criminology, Ecology, Education, Environmental Science, Evolutionary Biology, Geography, Hinduism, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Latin American Studies, Latino Studies, Linguistics, Literary and Critical Theory, Management, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, Sociology, Urban Studies, Victorian Literature
- Oxford Reference OnlineContains 100 language and subject dictionaries and other reference works, and searches across these resources. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Online Biographical Sources
- Biographie-PortalCan search Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB), Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB), Österreichisches Biographisches Lexikon 1815-1950 (ÖBL), the Historisches Lexikon der Schweiz (HLS), and other German-language sources simulataneously.
- Deutsche BiographieBiographies for German-speaking Europe from Middle Ages to the present. Searches Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB, Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB), & other sources. German or English interface.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowProvides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series. Search by full-text keyword, author, topic, volume title, publication date, or DLB series.
- Marquis Who's WhoOnline access to profiles on over 1.5 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science & technology, the arts, entertainment and sports. Search by name, gender, occupation, geography, hobbies and interests, religion and much more. Access provides for 5 simultaneous users.
- Oxford Dictionary of National BiographySearch through thousands of biographies and portraits of the significant, influential, and notorious people who shaped British history. Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
- Who's who in FranceParis : J. Lafitte 1956 -, Available since by via Factiva.
- World Biographical Information SystemSearch short biographical information on over 6 million people from the 8th century B.C. to the present. WBIS provides an index to the entire archive; we have full-text access to these language-area archives: Baltic, Czech & Slovak, German, Polish, Russian & Soviet, and Scandinavian Biographical Archives.
Additional print and electronic resources can be found by searching the University of Minnesota Libraries' Catalog.
- For national biographical dictionaries, enter the name of a country and "biography" and "dictionaries" as subject keywords (e.g. "spain" "biography" "dictionaries")
- For biographical dictionaries covering specific groups, enter the group, name of a country/region, "biography" and "dictionaries" as a subject keywords (e.g. "women" "great britain" "biography" "dictionaries")
Selected Print Reference
The European Union: a Very Short Introduction by Call Number: JN30 .P57 2018 (Wilson)ISBN: 9780198808855Publication Date: 2018-03-30Showing how and why the EU has developed from 1950 to the present day, this Very Short Introduction covers a range of topics, including the Union's early history, the workings of its institutions and what they do, the interplay between 'eurosceptics' and federalists, and the role of the Union beyondEurope in international affairs and as a peace-keeper.In this fully updated fourth edition, the authors cover the migrant crisis and the UK's decision to leave the Union, set in the context of a body that is now involved in most areas of public policy.
Historical Dictionaries of EuropeBook series of historical dictionaries covering nation-states of Europe. All contain well-written brief histories of the country and chronologies that, though they cover historical time periods, heavily feature more recent events. Brief A-Z entries cover the main people, politics, social issues, foreign affairs, institutions, and policies that make the country unique. Extensive bibliographies are divided into several general subject areas
Historical Dictionary of the European Union by Call Number: JN15 .R75 2016 (Wilson)ISBN: 9781442255142Publication Date: 2015This new edition has a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, member states, internal policies, external relations, basic theories, treaties, and law.
International Historical Statistics, Europe, 1750-2005 by Call Number: Quarto HA1107 .M5 2007 (Wilson)ISBN: 9780230005143Publication Date: 2007International Historical Statistics; Europe 1750-2005 is the latest edition of the most authoritative collection of statistics available. Updated to 2005 wherever possible, it provides key economic and social indicators for European countries over the last 255 years, serving as an essential reference source.
The Longman Handbook of Early Modern Europe, 1453-1763 by Call Number: D209 .C66x 2001 (Wilson)ISBN: 0582382173Publication Date: 2001The essential companion to Europe during the early modern period a user-friendly compendium of key facts and figures. This volume covers Europe from the fall of Constantinople in 1453 to the treaty of Paris in 1763.
Longman Handbook of Twentieth Century Europe by Call Number: D424 .C664 2003 (Wilson)ISBN: 0582235081Publication Date: 20033Covers the whole period from Tsarist Russia and Imperial Germany to the Balkan Wars of the 1990's and the final birth of the Euro in 2002, it provides a convenient user-friendly compendium of key fact and figures for the whole of Europe--from the Atlantic to the Urals.
Last Updated: Nov 14, 2024 4:45 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/moreeuropean