This guide is an in-depth listing of Scandinavian and Nordic Studies resources available to students and faculty at the University of Minnesota. Countries covered include Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden.
New eBooks on Scandinavian and Nordic Studies -- Fall 2020
by Brian Vetruba on 2020-11-05T23:05:00-05:00 in Scandinavian Studies | 0 CommentsList of selected eBooks on Scandinavian and Nordic Studies recently added to the UMN Libraries
Basic Swedish : a grammar and workbook by
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781351169660
Publication Date: 2018
Basic Swedish: A Grammar and Workbook combines an accessible basic reference grammar and related exercises in one volume.
A Companion to Nordic Cinema by
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781118475270
Publication Date: 2016
Considers Nordic cinema's engagement with global audiences through coverage of such topics as Dogme 95, the avant-garde filmmaking movement begun by Danish directors Lars von Trier and Thomas Vinterberg, and the global marketing and distribution of Nordic horror and Nordic noir Offers fresh investigations of the work of global auteurs such as Carl Th. Dreyer, Ingmar Bergman, Lars von Trier, Aki Kaurismäki, and Roy Andersson. Includes essays on Danish and Swedish television dramas, Finland's eco-documentary film production, the emerging tradition of Icelandic cinema, the changing dynamics of Scandinavian porn, and many more.
Encyclopedia of Nordic Crime Fiction by
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780786475360
Publication Date: 2016
This reference guide introduces the world of Nordic crime fiction to English-speaking readers.
Fascism and Modernist Literature in Norway by
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780295742281
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Focusing on the works of Nobel Prize-winning novelist Knut Hamsun and modernist poets Asmund Sveen and Rolf Jacobsen, all of whom collaborated with the Nazi regime during the occupation of Norway in World War II, and those of the anti-fascist novelist and critic Sigurd Hoel, Dean Krouk reveals key aspects of the modernist literary imagination in Norway.
Intermediate Swedish : a grammar and workbook by
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781138779594
Publication Date: 2019
An intermediate reference grammar and related exercises in one volume that covers most of the topics that students might expect to deal with in their second year of learning Swedish.
Introduction to Nordic Cultures by
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781787354005
Publication Date: 2020
Spans the whole Nordic region, covering historical periods from the Viking Age to modern society, and engages with a range of subjects: from runic inscriptions on iron rings and stone monuments, via eighteenth-century scientists, Ibsen's dramas and turn-of-the-century travel, to twentieth-century health films and the welfare state, nature ideology, Greenlandic literature, Nordic Noir, migration, 'new' Scandinavians, and stereotypes of the Nordic.
Masculinities in Old Norse literature by
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781843845621
Publication Date: 2020
The essays collected here introduce and analyse a spectrum of masculinities, from the sagas of Icelanders, contemporary sagas, kings'' sagas, legendary sagas, chivalric sagas, bishops'' sagas, and eddic and skaldic verse, producing a broad and multifaceted understanding of what it means to be masculine in Old Norse-Icelandic texts.
Nordic film cultures and cinemas of elsewhere by
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781474438070
Publication Date: 2019
Nordic Film Cultures and Cinemas of Elsewhere introduces a new concept to Nordic film studies as well as to other small national, transnational and world cinema traditions.
Norwegian : a comprehensive grammar by
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781351059800
Publication Date: 2018
Norwegian: A Comprehensive Grammar is a complete reference guide to modern Norwegian (the Bokmål standard). The Grammar is an essential source for the serious student of Norwegian and for students of comparative linguistics.
Old Norse-Icelandic Literature : A Critical Guide by
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780802038234
Publication Date: 2019
The contributors summarize and comment on scholarly work in the major branches of the field: eddic and skaldic poetry, family and kings' sagas, courtly writing, and mythology. Taken together, their judicious and well-written essays, each with a full bibliography, make up this vital survey of Old Norse literature in English - a basic reference work that has stimulated much research and helped to open up the field to a wider academic readership.
Swedish : an essential grammar by
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781315559131
Publication Date: 2020
This fully revised third edition of Swedish: An Essential Grammar incorporates changes proposed to Swedish grammar by Svenska Akademiens grammatik. Examples have been fully updated and the bibliography has been expanded.
More eBooks via UMN Libraries
Danish language | Danish literature | Finnish language | Finnish literature | Icelandic language | Icelandic literature | Norwegian language | Norwegian literature | Old Norse | Scandinavia | Scandinavian Film | Scandinavian literature | Swedish language | Swedish literature
Contact Brian (bvetruba@umn.edu) with questions about these or other resources!
Add a Comment
Search this Blog
Recent Posts
Welcome to the New Resources Blog for Scandinavian and Nordic Studies
New eBooks on Scandinavian and Nordic Studies -- Fall 2020
Docuseek2--Streaming Database of Documentaries and Social Issue Films
New eBook--Nordic childhoods 1700-1960 : from folk beliefs to Pippi Longstocking
eBooks Added July to Nov, 2019--Finnish/Scandinavian Film, Language, and Literature
Subscribe
Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.
Archive
Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.
Last Updated: Sep 16, 2025 5:14 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/morescandinavian
0 Comments.