This guide is intended to help with research into mail or correspondence art at the University of Minnesota as well as artistic inspiration to begin one's own mail art practice.
Start with
- Oxford Art OnlineThe most comprehensive online resource for all visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Access is limited to 8 simultaneous users.
Then try any of the following
- ARTbibliographies ModernIndex and abstracts of articles from periodical articles, books, exhibition catalogs, and index entries for dissertations. Covers all aspects of late 19th and 20th century art, including decorative and applied art, with particular reference to photography and three-dimensional design.
- International Bibliography of ArtSearch journal articles, magazines, reviews, and more on western and European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945 including painting, sculpture, drawing, video, installations, new media, decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art and material culture, classical studies, antiques, architectural history.
- Art Full TextSearch for articles in fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture. Limited to 20 simultaneous users.
- ARTstorARTstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology.
Also check out
- Ray Johnson EstateImages of mail art & ephemera of Ray Johnson, often regarded as the father of mail art. Includes a bibliography for the artist.
- International Union of Mail ArtistsAn online platform for mail artists to link with each other and participate in joint projects on an individual-to-individual basis or through IUOMA’s 125+ specialized groups.
- MailArt & ArtByMailA list of all active open calls for mail art exhibitions sorted out by due date, as well as a growing exhibition archive and links of interest
Helpful Books
Networked Art by ISBN: 0816637075Publication Date: 2001-06-19Craig J. Saper is associate professor of multimedia at the University of the Arts in Philadelphia.
Correspondence Art by ISBN: 0931818028Publication Date: 1984-01-01
Mail Art by ISBN: 0810824558Publication Date: 1991-06-01This comprehensive bibliography lists nearly 2,200 sources (from 36 countries) of information on mail art from books, magazines, newspapers, and catalog essays between 1955 and 1989.- Eternal network: a mail art anthology by Call Number: Quarto N6494.M35 E83x 1995ISBN: 1895176271Publication Date: 1995
- Als kunst bestempeld : Mail art internationaal by Call Number: N6494.M35 A46 1992ISBN: 9073244080Publication Date: 1992
Library & Archives Information
- Andersen Library (Archives and Special Collection)
Andersen Library (and the underground caverns) are the home of our world famous archival, historical and special collections. Explore our online websites and collections full of unique and rare materials such as rare books, artifacts, images, documents, maps, drawings, audio, video and more. The building also includes exhibits and a reading room for researchers.
- Mail Art History Annotated BibliographyA Bibliography of articles on the history of mail art found in the Mimi Holmes archival collection.
- Wilson Library (West Bank)
Wilson Library is the largest library on campus with books on Social Sciences (e.g. History, Business, Psychology, Education, Sociology, etc.) and Humanities (e.g. Art, Literature, etc.) including most of our books in languages including Chinese, Japanese, Korean, German, French, and dozens more.
Last Updated: Jul 19, 2024 2:41 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/mail-art