Russian and Slavic Studies (Advanced Researchers)

Access to Izvestiia (Известия) and Ogonek (Огонек) Digital Archives until Nov. 1, 2020

 East View in partnership with the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is providing temporary access to digital archives of the news periodicals Izvestiia (Известия)  and Ogonek (Огонек) until Nov. 1, 2020. As a member of CRL, UMN faculty, students, and staff will have access to these archives. Access these archives using the links below. 

 Izvestiia Digital Archive

 Izvestiia (Известия) Digital Archive covers the "complete archive" of Izvestiia (Известия), from its founding in 1917 through the present. The database presents "the Kremlin’s newspaper of record" as full-image text searchable files. UMN has temporary access to the full archive until Nov. 1, 2020

Among the longest-running Russian newspapers, Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. Remarkable for its serious and balanced treatment of subject matter, Izvestiia has traditionally been a popular news source within intellectual and academic circles.

The database contains Federal and Moscow editions of Izvestiia. The Moscow issues are marked with a letter "m" after each issue number.

Ogonek Digital Archive

The digital archive of Ogonek (Огонек) contains 4,481 full-text issues of the Russian illustrated magazine. The collection covers issues dating from 1923 to 2017. The archive is full-image with fully searchable text. UMN has temporary access to the full archive until Nov. 1, 2020.

Ogonek is one of the oldest weekly magazines in Russia, having been in continuous publication since 1923. Throughout its illustrious history Ogonek has published original works by such Soviet cultural luminaries as Vladimir Mayakovsky, Isaac Babel, Ilya Ilf and Evgeny Petrov, Yevgeny Yevtushenko, the photographer Yuri Rost, and others.

For questions or assistance with these or other resources, contact Brian Vetruba (bvetruba@umn.edu | book a virtual appointment).