Research Guides: MBS 6001, 6110, and 6003 Biological Sciences: Home

Have questions?

Contact me for research help on this subject.

she/her

Email Me

PubMed
Searches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.

PubMed Help Guide
A help guide for PubMed published by the Health Sciences Libraries. Includes in-depth help for searching PubMed, accessing full text, exporting and saving search results, and video tutorials.

Web of Science
A comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)
Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
BIOSIS (Biology)
Via Web of Science, BIOSIS covers life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Access content from journals, meetings, patents, and books.
Biological Abstracts, 1969-2003
Biological Abstracts is one of the foremost sources of bibliographic references to the life science journal literature. Coverage is international, and includes agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology.

After completing this tutorial, you will be able to:

Genome Data Viewer
The Genome Data Viewer provides special browsing capabilities for a subset of organisms in Entrez Genomes. It allows you to view and search an organism's complete genome, display chromosome maps, and zoom into progressively greater levels of detail, down to the sequence data for a region of interest. The number and types of available maps vary by organism, and are described in the "data and search tips" file for each organism. If multiple maps are available for a chromosome, it displays them aligned to each other based on shared marker and gene names, and, for the sequence maps, based on a common sequence coordinate system.
UCSC Genome Browser
The Genome Browser provides a visual display of chromosomal informaiton, allowing zoom and scroll over chromosomal and DNA sequence, showing the work of annotators worldwide. Other tools included on the site provide other means of accessing genomic and proteomic data: Gene Sorter shows expression, homology and other information on groups of genes that can be related in many ways; Blat quickly maps your sequence to the genome; Table Browser provides convenient access to the underlying database; VisiGene lets you browse through a large collection of in situ mouse and frog images to examine expression patterns. The site contains the reference sequence and working draft assemblies for a large collection of genomes. It also provides a portal to the ENCODE genome annotation project.

Current Protocols
Current Protocols is a collection of updatable, step-by-step, reproducible laboratory methods.

OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man)
Extensive online catalog of human genes and genetic disorders, with detailed monographs on mechanistic and clinical aspects of the genes, disease states, and variations.
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols
Cold Spring Harbor Protocols is an interdisciplinary journal providing a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging. Each monthly issue details multiple essential methods—a mix of cutting-edge and well-established techniques. All protocols are up-to-date and presented in a consistent, easy-to-follow format.

A citation manager is a software tool used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to:

import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources,
export your citations into Word documents or other types of publications,
format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles, and
include your own notes.

Center for Writing
They take walk-ins, and both in-person and online appointments. Also find online quick help and resources for writers on the writing process, common assignments, grammar, punctuation, style and more. Put the polishing touches on your work.

Access Medicine
Electronic book (E-Book) collection of core basic sciences and clinical titles.
In order to access Study Tools (Flashcards; Review Questions and Cases; Play Showdown), users must first create and sign into a personal MyAccess account.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5-TR)
The American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders.

Last Updated: Jan 22, 2025 4:36 PM