Government Data and Statistics Guide

The new platform to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau that replaced American FactFinder. data.census.gov

Use Google to find statistics and data. It's also helpful in identifying possible sources for the data i.e. who would collect this data and make it available.

Example searches:
organic produce prices
voter turnout data

Use the site filter to narrow to government website (.gov) results:
electoral college data site:.gov
organic produce prices site:.gov

Provides census microdata and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. Microdata allows the user to extract data at the individual response level, allowing for detailed and specific variable analysis

Provides data and reports for US economic measures including inflation, prices, pay, benefits, employment, and productivity.

Starting in 1997, the agriculture census has been conducted under the auspices of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS). For 1992 and earlier years, the census was conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau or its predecessors.

Source of open data from the US government. Includes data on agriculture, climate, energy, health, and manufacturing. Also includes some state and local government data.

This site offers a wealth of economic data and information, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, balance of payments regional economic data, and more. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.

Use Historical Statistics of the United States Millenium Edition to find statistics about the United States produced by the United States Census Bureau since 1790 with additions, revisions and analysis by noted social scientists. This edition includes statistics on migration, poverty, nonprofit organizations, slavery and Native Americans. Tables may be searched and downloaded in Excel or other formats, either individually or in large groups. Users may create custom tables and graphs. Citations may also be downloaded in multiple formats.

Search and find social science datasets, both publicly and privately collected and published. This includes data sets for US and other countries that cover demographics and census, opinion polls, urban studies, education, economics, geography, legal systems, governments and elections, political behavior and attitudes, health care and other social indicators.

Provides census microdata and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. Microdata allows the user to extract data at the individual response level, allowing for detailed and specific variable analysis

Provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks.

Longitudinal household survey data collected since 1968 with data covering employment, income, wealth, expenditures, health, marriage, childbearing, child development, philanthropy, and education.

Provides comparable data across all 50 states from U.S. counties, cities, and metropolitan statistical areas across a broad variety of topics that include economy, education, crime, government finance, health, population, religion, social welfare, and transportation.

The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. Annual reports available through the Census website for 1878-2012. See ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. for 2013-present.

Federal Reserve Board survey with data about family income, net worth, balance sheet components, credit use, and other financial outcomes.

Research guide from University of Wisconsin-Madison linking to 154 country statistical yearbooks

Data set comprised of more than 200 years of annual data from 1815 onward for over 200 countries including variables related to domestic conflict, economics, business, transportation, demographics, and others.

The Eurostat website contains a mix of statistical information in PDF pages, pre-defined tables and interactive databases. The coverage varies by topic, but some data goes back at least to 1929. All content is freely available.

FAOSTAT provides free access to food and agriculture data for over 245 countries and territories and covers all FAO regional groupings
from 1961 to the most recent year available.

Provides comprehensive international data across a wide range of labour-related topics.

A source of demographic and socio-economic statistics for 228 countries and areas of the world. The IDB combines data from individual countries with U.S. Census Bureau estimates and projections to provide information from 1950 to 2050.

Access macroeconomic and financial data including exchange rates, international liquidity, interest rates, prices, production, labor, and GDP.

Presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world.

Central reference point for tables and maps made available on the Internet by the World Bank. Also includes information on methods, modelling tools and technical assistance for users of World Bank statistics.

The WEO database from the International Monetary Fund is created during the biannual World Economic Outlook (WEO) exercise, which begins in January and June of each year and results in the WEO publication, which is released in May and October. Selected series that are available in the publication are now available on this website at the time of the release of the WEO press version (late April and September). If necessary, these figures will be revised in order to maintain consistency with the published World Economic Outlook. NOTE: GDP and GDP per capita for all countries in current prices from 1970 (where data available) can be viewed from here.

The Minnesota Historical Election Archive is the most complete, searchable online database of Minnesota election results. The Archive compiles nearly 20,000 elections conducted since statehood across 17 federal and state offices.

Contains comprehensive labor market information for Minnesota, including job vacancies; wages and benefits; employment outlooks; unemployment rates and more.

The main provider of demographic data and analysis for the state of Minnesota, 1900-present.

Presents key data about each state's student and school population and its NAEP (National Assessment of Educational Progress) testing history and results. The profiles provide easy access to all NAEP data for participating states and links to the most recent state report cards for all available subjects.

The City of Minneapolis seeks to provide increased access to public spatial geographic information systems (GIS) and non-spatial data that is regularly requested by private citizens and businesses. The data sets are shared free of charge and with minimal licensing.

The source to view and search City of Minneapolis interactive visualizations and dashboards covering topics of public health, community safety, elections, housing, and more.

Find some of the most commonly requested data and resources about Minnesota and Minnesotans arranged by topic.

A nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.

Minnesota Historical Society.

Use call number and location information to find government documents in Wilson Library.

Use call number and location information to find government documents in Magrath Library.

Use call number and agency information to find government documents collections on campus.