Government Publications in Wilson Library
See Floor Plan of Government Publications in Wilson Library
Special Notes:
- The Quarto designation is ignored in GPL and quartos are interfiled with other publications.
- Unless noted below, all publications may be checked out with a valid University of Minnesota borrowing card from the Wilson Library circulation desks (see the Libraries' Borrowing Policies for more information).
| If the Location is: | Go to Row(s): | Check It Out? |
|---|---|---|
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (Canadian Docs) | Rows 97-100 | Yes |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (General CDROM) | CDROM Cabinets (near row 20, first-second drawers) | Yes |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (General Collection) | Rows 102-114 / Call Numbers by Row | Yes |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (General Reference) | Rows G - L | Yes (1 Day Loan) |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (IGO Collection) | Rows 95-96 (arranged by organization and title) | Yes |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (General Collection) Folio | Beginning of Row 102 | Yes |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (Map Case) | Map Case (near Row 81) | No |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (Office) | Ask at Wilson Service Desk - 1st floor | No |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (Reference) Mfiche | Microfiche cabinets (near Row 114) | No |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (Reference) Mfilm | Row DD (central aisle near Rows 71-72) | No |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (UN Docs) | South and West Walls Call Numbers by Row | Yes |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (US CDROM) | CDROM Cabinets (near row 20) | Yes |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Census) | Rows 1-7 (arranged by year) | 1790-1940 - No 1950-1990 - (3 Day Loan) |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Congress Serials) | ||
| Serial Set, Oversize (note) | Row 8 | Yes (3 Day Loan) |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Docs) | Rows 14-89 / Call Numbers by Row | Yes |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Docs) Oversize | Row BB-CC (near Rows 63-70) | Yes |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (Map Case) | Map case (near Row 81) | No |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Docs) Mfiche | Microfiche cabinets (near Row 114) | No |
| Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Ref) | Row A - F | No |
| General Collection Call Numbers by Row | |
|---|---|
| 102 | FOLIOS A-Z; A to HA 203.S65x |
| 103 | HA 203.S65x to HC 60.D523 |
| 104 | HC 60.D524 to HC 241.2.E98x |
| 105 | HC 241.2.E98x to HD 4826.I53 |
| 106 | HD 4826.I53 to HD 9525.E8 |
| 107 | HD 9525.E8 to HF 3499.5.A2 |
| 108 | HF 3499.5.A2 to HQ 3881.I626 |
| 109 | HQ 3881.I626 to HV 700.E86 F36 1990 |
| 110 | HV 703.U4766 to JS 1145.A2x |
| 111 | JS 1145.A2x - KFM 5418 |
| 112 | KFM 5418.M565x to KJE 924.5.R47 |
| 113 | KJE 924.5.R47 to QC 851.W63 |
| 114 | QC 851.W63 to ZA |
| UN Call Numbers by Row | |
|---|---|
| South Wall | A to ST/ESA/STAT/SER Q |
| West Wall | ST/ESA/STAT/SER Q to Z |
| US Call Numbers by Row | |
|---|---|
| 14 | A - A 57.38/28: |
| 15 | A 57.38/28: - C 3.134/5: |
| 16 | C 3.134/5: - C 3.204/3-48: |
| 17 | C 3.204/3-49: - C 18.271: |
| 18 | C 18.271: - C 21.15: |
| 19 | C 21.15: - C 51.9/3: |
| 20 | C 51.9/3: - CC 1.12/3: |
| 21 | CC 1.12/3: - D 1.46/2: |
| 22 | D 1.46/2: - D 14.2: |
| 23 | D 14.8: - D 101.11:9- |
| 24 | D 101.11:9- - D 101.11:55- |
| 25 | D 101.11: - D 102.19/3: |
| 26 | D 102.19/3: - D 119.8: |
| 27 | D 119.8: - D 301.6/8: |
| 28 | D 301.6/8: - E 2.12: |
| 29 | E 2.12: - FEM 1.209: |
| 30 | FEM 1.209: - FS 5.280: |
| 31 | FS 5.280: - HE 17.617/4: |
| 32 | HE 17.617/4: - HE 20.3861: |
| 33 | HE 20.3862: - HE 20.8102: |
| 34 | HE 20.8102: - I 19.2: |
| 35 | I 19.2: - J 1.8/2: |
| 36 | J 1.8/2: - JU 11.7: |
| 37 | JU 11.7: - L 2.61:990 |
| 38 | L 2.61:990 - LC 3.6/3: |
| 39 | LC 3.6/3: - LC 30.9: |
| 40 | LC 30.9: - NAS 1.21: |
| 41 | NAS 1.21: - PM 1.8/10: |
| 42 | PM 1.8/10: - PREX 2.8: |
| 43 | PREX 2.8: - S 1.1: |
| 44 | S 1.1: - S 1.70/8: |
| 45 | S 1.70/8: - SE 1.2: |
| 46 | SE 1.2: - T 1.11/3: |
| 47 | T 1.11/3: - T 22.57: |
| 48 | T 22.57: - TD 2.30: |
| 49 | TD 2.30: - TD 5.18: |
| 50 | TD 5.18: - W 1.35: |
| 51 | W 1.35: - XJH: |
| 52 | XJS: - Y 3.AT 7:22 |
| 53 | Y 3.AT 7:22/AEC - Y 3.AT 7:22/K |
| 54 | Y 3.AT 7:22/K - Y 3.AT 7:22/TID |
| 55 | Y 3.AT 7:22/TID - Y 3.F 31/21-3: |
| 56 | Y 3.F 31/21-3: - Y 3.N 88: |
| 57 | Y 3.N 88: - Y 4.AG 4: |
| 58 | Y 4.AG 4: - Y 4.AP 6/1:AG 8 |
| 59 | Y 4.AP 6/1:AG 8 - Y 4.AP 6/2:AG 8 |
| 60 | Y 4.AP 6/2:AG 8 - Y 4.AR 5/2 A: |
| 61 | Y 4.AR 5/2 A: - Y 4.B 22/3: |
| 62 | Y 4.B 22/3: - Y 4.C 73/2: |
| 63 | Y 4.C 73/2: - Y 4.C 73/8: |
| 64 | Y 4.C 73/8: - Y 4.EC 7: |
| 65 | Y 4.EC 7: - Y 4.ED 8/1: |
| 66 | Y 4.ED 8/1: |
| 67 | Y 4.ED 8/1: - Y 4.EN 2: |
| 68 | Y 4.EN 2: - Y 4.EN 2/3: |
| 69 | Y 4.EN 2/3: - Y 4.F 49: |
| 70 | Y 4.F 49: |
| 71 | Y 4.F 49: - Y 4.F 76/1: |
| 72 | Y 4.F 76/1: - Y 4.F 76/2: |
| 73 | Y 4.F 76/2: - Y 4.F 76/2-10: |
| 74 | Y 4.F 76/2-10: - Y 4.G 74/7: |
| 75 | Y 4.G 74/7: |
| 76 | Y 4.G 74/7: - Y 4.G 74/9: |
| 77 | Y 4.G 74/9: - Y 4.H 75: |
| 78 | Y 4.H 75: - Y 4.IN 2/11: |
| 79 | Y 4.IN 2/11: - Y 4.IN 8/4: |
| 80 | Y 4.IN 8/4: - Y 4.IN 8/13: |
| 81 | Y 4.IN 8/13: - Y 4.J 89/1: |
| 82 | Y 4.J 89/1: - Y 4.J 89/2: |
| 83 | Y 4.J 89/2: - Y 4.M 53: |
| 84 | Y 4.M 53: - Y 4.P 96/6: |
| 85 | Y 4.P 96/6: - Y 4.R 31/3: |
| 86 | Y 4.R 31/3: - Y 4.SE 2/1 A: |
| 87 | Y 4.SE 2/1 A: - Y 4.UN 1/2: |
| 88 | Y 4.UN 1/2: - Y 4.W 36: |
| 89 | Y 4.W 36: - Z |
About the Serial Set
Serial Set volumes 8524 (70th Congress, 1st session, 1926) through the present are shelved in the basement of Wilson Library. Some volumes of the Serial Set are significantly larger than the rest of the collection, so they will be at the beginning of the Serial Set collection of Government Publications in the basement of Wilson Library.
Serial Set volumes 1 (15th Congress, 1st session, 1817) through 8521 (69th Congress, 2nd session, 1925) are in the Wilson Library Annex. Annex volumes are rare and may be copied by request only (please email Government Publications Librarian, govref@umn.edu).
An alternative to the paper Serial Set is the Libraries' subscription to ProQuest Congressional which provides full text online access to years 1789 - present. An alternative to the Annex volumes is the microfiche edition in the Law Library (hours) which can also be copied.
Wilson Library Annex
A collection of historical federal documents is housed in the Wilson Library Annex. While the collection is open to the general public, because of the fragile nature of many of the documents they may not be copied or circulated. The Wilson Annex materials additionally require making an appointment with staff in Wilson Library, wilscirc@umn.edu OR 612-624-3321.