Ask us
Librarian
Start a Research Project
- Library Research ChecklistCould you use a refresher on starting the library research process? Go to this page for a step-by-step description of the process.
- Search Strategy Checklist & TipsDefine the topic: know what you are looking for. Take the time to write down your topic and consider it from all angles. Try to be specific about what it is you want to discover about your topic (and more tips).
- Assignment CalculatorEnter in the due date for your research project (paper, speech, lab report) and get a suggested timeline for completing with links to the resources to help you succeed in each step.
Find Information (Articles/Books/Drugs & Supplements)
Primary article databases
Start with:
- Ovid MEDLINESearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Ovid MEDLINE is optimized for advanced literature searches. Coverage is from the 1940s to the present.
- PubMedSearches MEDLINE, which is the primary source of journal articles for the health sciences (fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, public health, health care systems, and basic sciences). Coverage is from the 1940s to the present. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- CINAHL Ultimate (Nursing & Allied Health)Covers nursing and allied health journal articles, book chapters, and dissertations, as well as providing summarized evidence-based resources such as care sheets and quick lessons.
- APA PsycInfoFind articles in thousands of psychology journals, from 1806 to current. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Secondary Article Databases
Then try these:
- ScopusSearch for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Special Databases
Also consider these specialized resources:
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)Find surveys, tests, observation checklists, and questionnaires used to assess health and behavior of infants, children, adolescents, adults, and the elderly. Topics covered include public health, communication, psychology, management, nursing, organizational behavior, medicine, sociology, physical education, psychiatry, human resources, gerontology and dental medicine. Includes information about the test such as title, author, publication resource, reliability and validity. Note: One users can access at a time.
Books/Background Information
- Clinical KeyContains clinical content (clinical overviews, drug monographs, calculators, guidelines) to help diagnose conditions and support decision-making. Also contains extensive current textbook, video, and multimedia content to facilitate deep background research. Create a personal account to download PDF book chapters.
- Access MedicineElectronic book (E-Book) collection of core basic sciences and clinical titles.
Drug & Supplement Information
- MICROMEDEXProvides access to drug information resources, including drug identification, packaging information, interaction and contraindication information, drug prices, international formulations, occupational safety sheets, safety in pregnancy, and more.
- Natmed Pro (previously titled Natural Medicines)Natural Medicines provides evidence-based information and ratings on over 90,000 dietary supplements, natural medicines, and integrative therapies. Includes these databases: Foods, Herbs, & Supplements; Health & Wellness; Sports Medicine; Comparative Effectiveness; Manufacturers; Commercial Products; and Medical Conditions.
Evidence-Based Practice and Point of Care Resources
- Evidence-Based Practice GuideFind resources and tools to help build skills in applying Evidence-Based Practice.
- DynaMedAn evidence-based clinical decision support tool. Contains over 3,000 topic summaries covering diseases, disorders, diagnostics, and drugs with extensive references to journals and practice guidelines.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library consists of a collection of regularly updated evidence-based health care databases. The Cochrane collection is designed to provide information and evidence to support health care decision-making.
- VisualDxTool to build and visualize a differential diagnosis based on physical signs and symptoms, lab results, history, environmental exposure, and more. Contains a large medical image library, with special emphasis on dermatology for skin of color.
Visual Resources
- An@tomy.tvA detailed, interactive, 3D model of human anatomy with customized, downloadable images. Focuses on muscles, ligaments, nerves, veins, arteries, and bones. Includes features such as zoom, rotation, angle, layers, extensive text, MRI, clinical slides and xrays, movies, animations, radiology slides, dissection and surface anatomy videos and slides.
- Bates' visual guide to physical examinationBates' Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content. To access, click "Continue as anonymous library user"
- Nursing Education in VideoThe collection streams full videos, with searchable, synchronized transcripts, which can easily be embedded into online courses. Topics covered include clinical skills, exam skills, procedures, communication (including cross-cultural communication), ethical issues, legal issues, and much more.
Culturally appropriate health care
A person’s culture is multifaceted, and culturally appropriate care requires a holistic approach. Some important factors include religious fasting holidays, cultural views of mental illness, and family structures. Taken together, knowledge of these factors can support respectful conversations between providers and patients and enhance the health care experience.
- EthnoMedFind information about cultural beliefs, medical issues, and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to the United States. Access relevant information through the Cultural Profiles, Clinical Topic, or the multilingual Patient Education categories.
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is a consumer health database that has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over hundreds of diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Geriatric Health Care
- Age-Friendly Care and Education CollectionEducational and clinical resources related to improving care for older adults. Contains assessment instruments, case studies, clinical guidelines, educational competencies, patient and caregiver education materials, practice and research toolkits, preceptor materials, teaching modules/toolkits, videos and narrated slide presentations, and more.
Patient Education
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is a consumer health database that has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over hundreds of diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
- Mayo Clinic Patient Care and Health InformationPatient-level information from the Mayo Clinic on diseases and conditions, symptoms, tests and procedures, and drugs and supplements.
- KidsHealthKidsHealth contains patient information at the child, teen, and parent reading levels. Includes lesson plans and programs for teachers and early childhood educators.
Manage citations
Citation Style Guides
- APA Style Guide (Purdue OWL)A brief online style guide that will show you how to format citations in-text and in your bibliography in APA style.
- APA Style from the Excelsior Online Writing LabThe APA style demos in this resource will provide you with more information regarding APA basic formatting, in-text citations, and the references list.
Tutorials
- Tutorial: Literature Searching in Ovid MedlineLearn about literature searching in Ovid Medline including how to use MeSH headings and keywords, how to limit a search, how to find full text and how to save a search.
- Tutorial: Researching & writing a literature reviewUnderstand the purpose of a literature review and the procedure for conducting one.
Health Sciences Library (East Bank)
- Health Sciences Library
The Health Sciences Library in Phillips-Wangensteen Building includes collections for medicine, nursing, public health, dentistry, pharmacy, basic sciences, and more.
Last Updated: Dec 10, 2024 2:27 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/c.php?g=987631