For College in the Schools students who are new to the libraries.
Welcome to the University of Minnesota Libraries
Do you have your UMN Email (also called Internet ID or x.500)?
Initiating or claiming your account will give you access to thousands of online journals, magazines, newspapers and ebooks at the University of Minnesota Libraries. Your teacher may need to provide information to complete this step. Ask them.
Setting up DUO
You also need to set up Duo Authentication to get access to things like your UMN email and to use many of the research tools on the U Library website. The IT Technology online help can answer questions on this.
Tip: If you are unable to initiate your account you can find scholarly articles with Academic Search Premier, find background information on your topic with Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition and find Pro/Con on current issues with Points of View Reference Center.
- EconLitContains bibliographic citations and selected abstracts to the professional and scholarly literature in the field of economics and allied disciplines.
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
- ScopusSearch for information from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Academic Search PremierA great place to start your research on any topic, search multidisciplinary, scholarly research articles. This database provides access to scholarly and peer reviewed journals, popular magazines and other resources. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- New Palgrave Dictionary of EconomicsA scholarly reference work written by leading figures in the field of economics.
Get help from the U Libraries - Online!
Peer Research ConsultantsMake an online 30 minute appointment for one-on-one peer assistance with your research. Get help with researching your topic, finding sources, citing sources and more. Peer Research Consultants can also help you get started with faculty-sponsored research.
Chat 24/7 online with the LibrariesAsk us anything! Chat with a librarian, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with any research or library questions.
Schedule an online consultation with the LibrariesSchedule an online consultations for personalized research support primarily for University of Minnesota faculty, instructors, graduate and undergraduate students and staff.
Sample of online books
- Principles of Microeconomics byISBN: 9781938168246Publication Date: 2014-03-15Principles of Microeconomicscovers the scope and sequence for a one-semester economics course. The text also includes many current examples, including; the Keystone Pipeline, Occupy Wall Street, and debates over the minimum wage. The pedagogical choices, chapter arrangements, and learning objective fulfillment were developed and vetted with feedback from educators dedicated to the project. The outcome is a balanced approach to economics and to the theory and application of economics concepts.
- Principles of Microeconomics byISBN: 9783319575889Publication Date: 2017-09-18This text provides a comprehensive and unique introduction to modern microeconomics. It pursues an integrative approach by putting the main findings of economics into a broader perspective; theories are critically reflected on from a philosophical standpoint and by comparing them to approaches found in the social sciences, while implications for the design of the legal system and business practices are highlighted throughout. In addition, the book presents brief examples and comprehensive case studies to facilitate an understanding of the theories' real-world implications. Starting from the question as to why and how societies organize economic activity, the book adopts an institutional perspective to analyze the potential and limitations of different market types with regard to alleviating scarcity and achieving distributive objectives. It not only covers traditional rational-choice models, but also systematically introduces readers to important findings from behavioral economics and psychology. A companion workbook is available which features a wide variety of exercises, ranging from basic multiple-choice questions to challenging mathematical problems and case study scenarios.
Last Updated: Nov 3, 2022 11:36 AM