Have questions?
Contact me for research help on this subject.
Engineering Librarian
This guide provides links to sources that may be helpful for students in CEGE 3402W, Civil Engineering Materials.
Find Articles & Books
- KnovelOnline access to books, databases, and conference proceedings from a number of publishers that cover all areas of engineering and includes content relevant to related sciences (e.g., chemistry and earth sciences). It includes interactive graphs and tables.
- ASCE Library (Civil Engineering)The American Society of Civil Engineering (ASCE) Library provides online access to a high-quality collection of civil engineering content. It contains articles from ASCE journals, papers from conference proceedings, and e-books and standards.
- Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Environmental Engineering AbstractsEnvironmental Engineering Abstracts covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
Find Standards
- ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital LibraryProduced by the American Society for Testing and Materials, this resource provides instant access to the current digital edition of the Annual Book of ASTM Standards.
- AASHTO Provisional StandardsStandards from the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Offices.
- ACI Manual of Concrete PracticeStandards from the American Concrete Institute.
- ISO (International Organization for Standardization)ISO has set over twenty thousand standards have been set covering everything from manufactured products and technology to food safety, agriculture and healthcare
Writing & Presentation Skills
A Math-Based Writing System for Engineers : Sentence Algebra and Document Algorithms by Publication Date: 2020
A Scientific Approach to Writing for Engineers and Scientists by ISBN: 9781118899793Publication Date: 2014-05-21This book from the IEEE PCS professional engineering communication series explains the mechanics of good writing.
The IEEE Guide to Engineering Communication by ISBN: 9781119070115Publication Date: 2017-08-30This book from the IEEE PCS professional engineering communication series provides explanations of the different styles of writing needed for different audiences.
Academic Success Centers (peer tutoring and more)
- Academic Success Centers
The Academic success centers website provides you with a variety of services to help you succeed at the University. Find peer tutors for your courses, academic skills coaching, or get support with writing, research, or media projects.
These services are designed to:
- Boost your confidence as a student
- Help you stay on top of your coursework
- Offer a deeper understanding of the content
- Connect you to peers who know tips and tricks for various courses
- Teach you effective study strategies and time management
Last Updated: Feb 11, 2025 10:41 AM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/course/CEGE/3402W