United Nations Resources
- AccessUN (United Nations)Bibliographic citations of current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications (1991-2018) including: the UN collections of the Government Publications Library, articles appearing in UN periodicals, the bilateral and multilateral treaties in the UN Treaty Series, and full text resolutions from the General Assembly, Security Council, and Economic and Social Council.
- UN iLibraryAccess to publications, journals, reports, and other series covering a wide range of topics: international peace and security, human rights, economic and social development, climate change, international law, governance, public health, and statistics from the UN Secretariat and its funds and programmes.
- United Nations Dag Hammarskjöld Library Research GuidesThe Dag Hammarskjöld Library, the library at the UN headquarters in New York, has put together several subject-based research guides to UN materials. Subjects include human rights, UN reform and peacekeeping operations.
- United Nations Digital LibraryThe United Nations Digital Library (UNDL) includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications. The platform provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979. System features include linked data between related documentation such as resolutions, meeting records and voting, and refining of searches by UN body, agency or type of document.
- United Nations Treaty CollectionIncludes all multilateral treaties deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations and those formerly deposited with the League of Nations - their latest status and a link to the full texts; bilateral and multilateral treaties registered with and published by the United Nations Secretariat in accordance with Article 102 up to a certain date - Detailed treaty references and full texts in all authentic languages; recently deposited multilateral treaties that have been deposited but not yet published - available for viewing and downloading in some or all of their authentic languages.
- Government Publications LibraryThe University of Minnesota Libraries provides access to government information both online and within its libraries' collections across campus. Besides being a full (regional) United States government depository, the Libraries also receive documents from Canada, the European Union, and the United Nations, as well as publications from other countries and international organizations. The Government Publications collection also contains state documents.
- UN Official Document System (ODS)ODS has full-text, born-digital UN documents published from 1993 onward, including documents of the Security Council, the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and their subsidiaries, as well as administrative issuances and other documents. The database also includes scanned documents published between 1946 and 1993, including all resolutions of the principal organs, all documents of the Security Council and the General Assembly Official Records.
European Union and United Kingdom Resources
- European Union Publications OnlineReports, studies, information booklets, magazines and other publications from the EU institutions and other bodies
- EUR-LexAccess to the authentic Official Journal of the European Union, EU law (EU treaties, directives, regulations, decisions, consolidated legislation, etc.), preparatory documents (legislative proposals, reports, green and white papers, etc.), EU case-law (judgments, orders, etc.), international agreements, European Free Trade Association (EFTA) documents, summaries of EU legislation, and other public documents.
- U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new windowFind House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1660. Includes Records of proceedings, the Debates (Hansard), and the House of Commons journal; Sessional papers providing information to parliament on matters of policy and administration: Bills, House papers, and Command papers. Also includes the House of Lords presented to the Commons, such as reports prepared by Lords Select Committees.
- British Parliamentary Papers GuideThese document the lawmaking activities at the national level for the United Kingdom of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new windowFBIS Daily Reports issued by the U.S. Government. Translations ofbroadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the world from 1941 to 1996.
- Government of Canada publications e-collectionOnline government publications from the Canadian Government. Date ranges from 1800s to present and most are available in an online format.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowHathiTrust provides access to millions of books and other materials. Full text searching of most books is available and books in the public domain (generally older books) can be freely viewed and/or downloaded. Books still in copyright have more limited access. Users with print-reading disabilities can apply for special access to digitized works by emailing email@example.com.
- International Monetary Fund (IMF) eLibraryAccess to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more.
- International Newsstream This link opens in a new windowInternational news from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. Over 800 of the world's top news sources.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowOECD iLibrary is the online publications portal of the 36-country Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (http://www.oecd.org/about/membersandpartners/list-oecd-member-countries.htm). OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD, and hosts all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters.
Coverage: OECD Books, Papers and Statistics, International Energy Agency (IEA) Statistical Databases, & International Trade by Commodity Statistics
- Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new windowThe Statistical Abstracts of the World is a growing collection of the statistical abstracts from many countries. These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere.
- World News ConnectionA subscription service bringing news from around the world, translated into English, typically within 24-72 hours from the time of the original publication or broadcast. The information is obtained from newspaper articles, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports.
Physical Resources in the Library
United Nations (UN) Depository Collection
- University of Minnesota-Twin Cities is a full United Nations Depository library. This means that the UN sends to the library printed copies of all of its official records, publications and masthead documents that are designated as "depository". However, because many UN documents and publications are not included in the deposit, we supplement the depository materials with the microfiche collection described below.
- Find in the basement of Wilson Library Gov Pub (UN Docs) South and West Walls (see floor plan)
- The Readex Microfiche UN Collection - this collection provides ready access to microfiche copies of UN documents covering the years 1946-1980 and 1986 to date. The microfiche collection includes virtually every document from the UN main bodies (depository or not), including "Limited" and "Restricted" documents which are generally not distributed in print. Sales publications are not included.
- Find in the basement of Wilson Library Gov Pub Microfiche Cabinets 1-9 (see floor plan)
European Union (EU) Depository Collection
UMN-Twin Cities is a member of the EU Depository Library program. This means that since the inception of this program in 1963 the library has received one copy of each officially published work designated for deposit. Many EU publications are also available at the University of Minnesota Law Library. A majority of the EU documents can be found in the UMN library catalog. Most are housed in Wilson Library.
Canadian Depository Collection
UMN-Twin Cities was a selective depository for Canadian government publications until the depository program ceased in 2014. This means that we received print copies of selected officially published Canadian documents until 2014. Most of our collection can be found in the UMN library catalog.
Today, all Canadian documents and most UN and EU documents are only published online, so use the resources listed above to find current (and older) documents.
- What Shelf is My Book On (Wilson Library)?Use call number and location information to find government documents in Wilson Library.