List of historical resources for Jewish newspapers
American Jewish Historical Society
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1836-1922 (Online) and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. The search string is Jewish Newspapers.
Minnesota Jewish Newspapers in Chronicling America
List as of 201- need to be updated.
- The American Jewish world. (Minneapolis, Minn.) 1912-current
- Jewish Fellowship news. (Duluth, Minn.) 1936-????
- St. Paul Jewish news. (St. Paul, Minn.) 1953-19??
- The Jewish times. (St. Paul, Minn.) 1961-19??
- Minneapolis Jewish community. (Minneapolis, Minn.) 19??-19??
Historical Multi-State U.S. Newspapers with Free Full Text Articles
Browse or search this long list created by Bowling Green State University
Seventy-seven publications indexed (as of February 2016).
Ohio Jewish Chronicle 1922-1994
The history of the Columbus Jewish community as recorded weekly in the pages of the Ohio Jewish Chronicle is now available online for viewing and research... it's even keyword searchable! Every page of every edition of OJC from its beginning in 1922 through 1994 is now available. The project has been a joint effort by the OJC, the Columbus Jewish Historical Society and Ohio Historical Society and was funded primarily by grants from the Community Grants Fund and the Thelma and Fred Gerson Endowment of the Columbus Jewish Foundation. The Ohio Jewish Chronicle is pleased to provide use of our archives so that this permanent legacy is available to everyone.
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project
The Pittsburgh Jewish Newspaper Project is composed of:
- The Jewish Criterion (1895-1962)
- The American Jewish Outlook (1934-1962)
- The Jewish Chronicle (1962-Present).
This project serves as both an online reference source and as a digitized historical documentation of the Jewish community of Pittsburgh and its outlying areas.
Internetarchiv Jüdischer Periodika.
Archive of Jewish periodicals from 1806 to 1938, in German
Multiple countries
Freely Available
Current resources for Jewish newspapers
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1990, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
Books about Jewish newspapers
- The Jewish press of the world byCall Number: 070 F841Publication Date: 1954Directory of Jewish newspapers and periodicals.
The Jewish Press in the Third Reich by ISBN: 0854966862Publication Date: 1993-03-03This study throws light on a neglected but very important aspect of Jewish life in the Third Reich - the Jewish press - the sixty-five newspapers and magazines published by the fifty-three publishing houses with a specific German-Jewish readership in mind. These publications appeared until the end of 1938 and provide a valuable insight into the situation of the German Jews under the Nazi regime. They movingly document the efforts of the Jews to cope with the increasing precariousness of their existence in Germany and to find solutions to the growing problems of survival.- The Joseph Jacobs directory of the Jewish press in America byCall Number: PN5650 .J67x 1990ISBN: 9991020039Publication Date: New York : The OrganizationA typical entry in this directory of the Jewish press includes address, frequency, circulation figures, date of establishment, and names of staff. It also describes the readership, the editorial emphasis, deadlines, the "size and mechanical requirements," advertising rates, and special issues. In short, the directory is commercially oriented, aimed at those who might want to reach the "prime" Jewish market: "a market of above average income, above average education, a market that is brand and quality conscious." Indeed, two introductory sections are "Top Jewish Markets," a tabulation of major cities and their Jewish population, and "Reaching the Jewish Market," an essay in "ethnic marketing."
- Jewish newspapers and periodicals on microfilm, available at the American Jewish Periodical Center. Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion. American Jewish Periodical Center. First supplement byCall Number: PN4888.J48 H4x 1957 Suppl.1Publication Date: 1960The Jewish press in the United States has appeared primarily in English and Yiddish but has also sustained publications in Hebrew, German, Ladino, and Russian. No single catalog or list represents the Library's holdings of the Jewish press. Readers must consult both the online catalogs and the Hebraic section catalogs located in the African and Middle Eastern Reading Room. In addition, readers should consult with the appropriate area specialist and reference librarians in order to definitively ascertain the status of specific titles (see Serial and Government Publications for more information about newspapers and how to locate them).
- Zwischen Selbstbehauptung und Verfolgung : deutsch-jüdische Zeitungen und Zeitschriften von der Aufklärung bis zum Nationalsozialismus byCall Number: PN5650 .Z85x 2002Publication Date: 2002Papers delivered at an international symposium on the German Jewish press, held in Bremen in 2000. Partial contents
