Newspapers & Magazines (Primary sources)
Recent archives (1980-present)
- Access World NewsFull-text news from over 9,000 news sources in the U.S. and international newspapers, major wire services, and hundreds of local broadcasting outlets and blogs. There are over 100 Minnesota sources. Mostly English language news coverage with some 200 titles in Spanish, French, Afrikaans and other languages.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press from 1990, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
- MasterFile CompleteSearch magazines, with a small number of journals and newspapers, covering a broad range of disciplines and topics. Includes photos and multimedia.
- U.S. Newsstream This link opens in a new windowSearch the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format.
Historical archives (pre-1980...)
- Magazine archivesThe Libraries subscribe to a variety of magazine archives, including Time Magazine, Vogue, Forbes, Life, as well as historical collections of African American Periodicals and "Women's" Magazines.
- Proquest Historical NewspapersSearch old editions major U.S. newspapers and the Times of India. Papers include the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Other titles include the Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Sentinel, the New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
- Historical News SourcesGuide to getting articles from The New York Times, and other newspapers
Academic Sources (Secondary)
- JSTORFind full text articles in academic journals or books on the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. JSTOR provides articles from the journal's first issue. In some cases the most recent 2-5 years may not be available. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteSearch for journal articles on topics such as communication, mass media, film, television, marketing, business communication, health communication, and more.
- Historical AbstractsFind journal articles covering world history from 1450 to the present. Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
- Encyclopedia of Information Science and TechnologyThis online encyclopedia provides over 10,000 definitions to technology terms and concepts, with an emphasis on computer-related subjects.
Last Updated: Aug 1, 2022 4:03 PM