Resources for: Middle East Studies

Al-Mashriq is an online repository for cultural multimedia information from the Levant in general and Lebanon in particular.

Over 28,000 images from the holdings of the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library focusing on the countries of Asia and the Middle East.

AIF's collections focus on photographic objects and documents from and related to the Middle East, North Africa and the Arab diaspora

This collection from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries contains over four thousand color slides and black and white photographs of medieval Spain taken by the late Eugene Casselman (1912-1996) during his thirty years of travel throughout the Iberian peninsula.

Highlights of the Archaeology, Fine Arts, Jewish Art and Life collections.

A kind of "photographed history book" of the state of Israel that includes photographs of events and people in the life of the country as documented by the Government Press Office photographers.

This collection houses the works of 63 photographers and more than 150,000 photographs and comprises fifty years of photographs, from the country’s birth in 1940s to 2008.

This collection portrays the Ottoman Empire during the reign of one of its last sultans, Abdul-Hamid II. The 1,819 photographs in 51 large-format albums date from about 1880 to 1893.

Collection of historical images of the Middle East. The majority of the images depict Palestine (present day Israel and the West Bank) from 1898 to 1946.

This collection from New York Public Library includes over 5,000 images showing the Middle East through early prints and photographs.

The Middle East Photograph Archive at the University of Chicago consists of over 400 photographic prints dating primarily to the second half of the nineteenth century.

A sampling of images documenting the activities of the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago from 1892 to the present in the Near East.

This project is preserving Armenian History through photographs. The site includes a sample of the Armenian historical photos in their collection.

Images of Muslims and Christian missionaries working in Western China in the 1920s and 1930s form the core of this collection from Harvard University.

The RGS holds collections of photography, artwork and mapping which records over 500 years of travel, people, place, and geographical discovery from the 1480's to the present day.

A body of literature and images documenting travels during the 18th, 19th and 20th century of Europeans and Americans. Collections include historical maps and plans, and other visual materials.

Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, the World Digital Library provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries.