Find streaming audio
The University of Minnesota Libraries offers access to a number of options for finding streaming audio. Check below this list for more information on how to use several of these resources!
TIP: There's no need to search each of these resources individually to see if they have what you need. See the Locate materials in the Libraries catalog tab linked from the menu for this guide for guidance on searching for streaming recordings by title!
- American MusicListen to 170,000+ tracks from America's past including country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, shape note singing and more.
- Classical Music LibraryClassical Music Library is an extensive collection of recordings with a supplementary reference database that users may search and listen to music delivered to their desktop. Classical Music Library is cross-referenced to a database of supplementary information and features fully licensed recordings, thousands of program notes and composer biographies, advanced searching, and hundreds of recommended playlists themed by genres.
- Contemporary World MusicWorld Music streams over 1.5 million audio tracks from about 130,000 albums, plus 22 videos. The content ranges from reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
- Met Opera on DemandUnlimited browsing to more than 450 Met Opera performances. Video playing access is limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- Music & Performing ArtsFind streaming audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles including American music, classical, world music, jazz, dance and more.
- Music Online: Jazz Music LibraryJazz Music Library streams over a half-million audio tracks from about 45,000 albums issued by such major labels as Verve, Impulse, Jazzology, Black Swan, Circle Records, Paramount, Concord, Fantasy, Milestone, Monterey Jazz Festival Records, Original Jazz Classics, Pablo, Peak, Prestige, Riverside, Stretch Records, and Original Jazz Classics. The list of artists ranges from Buddy Guy, Charlie Parker, Chuck Mangione, Dinah Washington, Diana Krall, Ella Fitzgerald, Etta James, Grover Washington, Jr., Les Paul, Louis Armstrong, Nina Simone, and Peggy Lee, to Quincy Jones, Ramsey Lewis, Sarah Vaughan, Stan Getz, Bill Evans, Billie Holliday, Thelonius Monk, Tony Bennett, and many others.
- Music Online: Popular Music LibraryMusic Online: Popular Music Library from Alexander Street contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
- Music Online: Smithsonian Global SoundStream music online including the collections of the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings with music from cultures all over the world.
- Naxos Music LibraryOnline collection of recorded music in streaming audio -- primarily classical music, plus smaller collections of world music and jazz.
Note: Users who create/use a personal Playlist account are required to log-in to the Library's Naxos website at least once every 6 months, to guarantee the re-authentication of their account. Accessing NML through the NML app is not considered re-authentication.
- Philadelphia Orchestra Listen On DemandCheck out streaming recordings of the Philadelphia Orchestra, free of charge. The growing Listen On Demand collection does not duplicate Philadelphia Orchestra
content found on physical media or downloadable content.
Tips for using Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library and Naxos Music Library Jazz are great places to find hundreds of thousands of streaming audio tracks. The Naxos interface allows you to search for something specific; to browse by category (concerto, opera, ballet, blues, and many more); and to discover new music by checking out Naxos's suggested albums. If you're looking for a playlist created for your UMN Music History class by a faculty member, you'll also find these linked from the Naxos Music Libary homepage.
Once you open an album in Naxos Music Library or Naxos Music Library Jazz, select individual tracks or the whole album and start the player by clicking the large "Play" button on the right side of the screen. Many albums also include PDF versions of liner notes, which are great resources for music research! If there's a link that says "Booklet" on the left side of the screen, click it and you'll be directed to a PDF of the album's booklet. Lastly, Naxos gives you the information you'll need to cite the resource you're using; check for this under "Album Information" on the left side of the screen.
Tips for using Met Opera on Demand
Met Opera on Demand offers access to over 50 years of audio and video recordings from the Metropolitan Opera's archives, and it even includes some of the most recent productions in HD. Scroll down past the images of highlighted performances to find a search box that will allow you to search for specific composers and titles:
Scroll farther down and you'll find the options for browsing the resource by title, composer, or performer. Some titles are included as video and audio, and some as one or the other:
Once you've chosen an opera to watch/listen to, you'll find useful features and information in the record for it. Use the individual tracks on the right side of the video to navigate through the recording:
Met Opera on Demand also provides helpful information for citing a performance like the cast and performance date. This information is available below the video or audio player:
Tips for using Classical Music Library, Music Online: Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound
The Alexander Street Press audio databases include Western classical, contemporary and historical world music, jazz, and more. The interface for each of these databases looks similar - you can browse by title, genre, place, performer, and more. Use the search box in the middle of the page (not the one at the top!) to search in individual collections, and sign up for a free account to make playlists and create clips by clicking the "Sign in" icon at the top right corner.
Liner notes can be a great resource for your research! In Classical Music Library, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound, you can find these accompanying select recordings by clicking on the "Related Documents" tab and locating the link to download the PDF of that recording's liner notes:
Instructions for creating playlists and clips in Alexander Street Press streaming databases:
- Alexander Street Press's video tutorial on creating a playlist: This tutorial focuses on playlists and mentions creating clips but doesn't go into too much detail on this topic; see the resource below for more information on creating clips
- A text-based set of instructions for creating playlists published by the University of Illinois Music Library
- A text-based set of instructions for creating clips published by the University of Denver Music Library: After you've found a track in one of the Alexander Street Press databases from which you'd like to create clips, start with Step 4 of these instructions!