Research Guides: Private Equity and Venture Capital: Home

Have questions?

Contact me for research help on this subject.

Business Librarians

Desk Business Reference

Email Me

Find information on private equity and venture capital deals, organizations, financials and more.

Private Equity & Venture Capital

PitchBook
Pitchbook is a mediated-access database. Please see Additional Information. Use PitchBook to search thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. Establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details.
Each user must create a personal account while on campus using their valid @umn.edu e-mail address. Individual accounts must be reset every year on June 30th. Detailed instructions on how to create a personal account are available at: libguides.umn.edu/pitchbook

Walk in users please contact busref@umn.edu ahead of your visit to arrange for login access. Walk-in Guest Users login in at: https://www.pitchbook.com

Downloads set at 10/day and 25/month per user; resets monthly. All data and content available in PitchBook except Morningstar equity research

Faculty requiring larger data downloads may contact the library for assistance. Forward Pitchbook faculty download requests busref@umn.edu.
CB Insights
National Science Foundation-backed company that uses data to provide Venture Capitalists, corporate strategy and Mergers & Acquisitions groups, and investment bankers with intelligence on emerging companies and disruptive technology trends.
You must create a personal account to access this resource. Click on the SIGN UP link. Accounts expire after one year and must be renewed annually. Contact CB Insights at info@cbinsights.com to renew/reinstate account logins. Note: Users must connect to resource through Libraries site or be on VPN to use their personal login off campus.
PrivCo
Database of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.

This resource requires creation of a personal account using U of MN e-mail address.
Note: During the COVID-19 closure, if you have already created a personal account, you can log in directly at http://privco.com/. For first-time users, click on the title link above (PrivCo) and create an account by clicking the "Create an academic account" link.

Bloomberg Professional
News and analytics for over 129 countries and 250 exchanges for the financial services industry. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies.

Bloomberg Professional desktop is available in Wilson Library (West Bank Campus), and laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster). See access instructions below.
Using Bloomberg Professional in Wilson Library. Direct specific questions to the Libraries business specialists: busref@umn.edu.
Using Bloomberg Professional laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster)

S&P Capital IQ (with access to Aftermarket Research)
University students, staff, and faculty must create a user profile. Click "New User?" and input your UMN credentials to gain access. Credentials will then work for both Capital IQ and Capital IQ PRO.
Standard & Poor's Capital IQ is a resource for financial data, analytics, and research. The web-based platform combines deep information on public and private companies, markets, and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. Capital IQ includes access to Aftermarket Research, an extensive collection of embargoed analyst research reports, offering coverage across more than 1,800 research providers including 30 million+ reports (current & historical back to 1995).
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu 2 business days ahead of your visit to arrange for login access.
An Excel plugin feature provides powerful analytic capability.
UMN affiliated users will create an individual account through a self-registration process. Follow the steps after selecting from the link above. To use the Excel plug-in feature, please log in to the Virtual Private Network (VPN). Information on VPN is available at Virtual Private Network (VPN).
Faculty who wish to use this tool for a class may request a batch class registration. Please contact Mary Schoenborn (hawki003@umn.edu) to request this access.
Preqin Venture Capital
Investors, fund performance, firms, funds, fund terms, deals and exits, service providers and more. Note: You must be connected to the University's VPN or Eduroam in order to access. Large file download requests require you to enter your UMN email, Smaller downloads will occur immediately without entering email. Contact busref@umn.edu with questions.

News & Articles

Business Source Premier
Find business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
Web of Science
A comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
Factiva
Search millions of newspapers, business magazines, and newswires with international and foreign language coverage with all editions of the Wall Street Journal. Financial information for publicly traded companies, stocks, funds, currencies, and common market indexes. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.
American City Business Journals (BizJournals)
Find articles from the Minneapolis St. Paul Business on local companies and other organizations. Students, faculty and staff have full access to Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal, including Digital content across 18 different Industries, access to the Weekly Edition, Book of Lists, the Search Archives. Register for an account with a valid @umn.edu e-mail address using the link above. NOTE: Full text access only includes Minneapolis/St Paul market.
Once a personal account is created, you can access from anywhere at https://www.bizjournals.com/twincities/

Last Updated: Dec 19, 2024 6:39 PM