Political Science Database and Resource Guides
These library guides have links to major Political Science databases and resources that the University Libraries subscribe to or that are available for free online. The first two are specific to Political Science, and the others are on related topics.
Librarian
What services are available through the Libraries?
- Library services for graduate studentsExplore a variety of services for graduate students from search tools, spaces for doing research, and more.
- Checking out or borrowing itemsYou can borrow books and other materials by using your U Card. As a UMN student you can check out an unlimited number of items and have full access to online library resources both on and off campus.
- InterLibrary Loan & Digital DeliveryInterlibrary Loan (ILL) & Digital Delivery offers access to materials needed for courses and research, including materials not currently available within the University of Minnesota Libraries, AND digital copies of articles and book chapters from our print and microform collections. Free for currently-affiliated University students, faculty, and staff.
- Meet with a librarianSchedule an online consultations for personalized research support primarily for University of Minnesota faculty, instructors, graduate and undergraduate students and staff.
More Library Services to Highlight
- Library workshopsLearn something new at a library workshop! Register for everything from using citation managers to finding grant funding.
- Accessibility servicesIncludes information about book delivery, proxy cards, and access available by library location.
- Assignment CalculatorEnter in the due date for your research project (paper, speech, lab report) and get a suggested timeline for completing with links to the resources to help you succeed in each step.
- Copyright ServicesThe University Libraries' Copyright program is focused on addressing the campus's informational and educational needs around copyright. We offer an expanding menu of education and training opportunities, including this website, personal and small-group consultations, tailored and course-integrated instruction, and workshops on fundamental copyright and scholarly communications issues.
- Data Management Training and WorkshopsThe library offers free drop-in workshops on data management best practices periodically throughout the year.
- Data Repository for the U of M (DRUM)DRUM is a publicly available collection of digital research data generated by U of M researchers, students, and staff. Anyone can search and download the data housed in the repository, instantly or by request.
- University of Minnesota Digital ConservancyThe University of Minnesota Digital Conservancy (UDC) is a venue for faculty to deposit open access copies of their scholarly work, a showcase for select student works, such as dissertations and honors theses, a home to the Data Repository for the University of Minnesota (DRUM), and centralized, searchable access to institutional digital records including those of the University of Minnesota Archives.
- ORCiDAn ORCiD ID is a lifelong digital name for an individual researcher that consists of a persistent, unique, numeric identifier.
Library checklist for new researchers
Set up off-campus access
-
Add proxy bookmarklet to Chrome/Firefox/etc.
z.umn.edu/proxy
Click the bookmarklet button to reload the page, prompting you to connect to the UMN Libraries system -
Download the UMN VPN software.
z.umn.edu/vpn
Connect to the UMN network off campus. Use “Full Tunnel” to get content provided by the Libraries. -
Add library links to Google Scholar.
Settings > Library Links > search “minnesota”. Adds “Find It” links connecting to the UMN Libraries system.
Get started with research tools
-
Sign into your library account to view loans & requests.
lib.umn.edu -
Log into Interlibrary Loan & Digital Delivery for the first time.
z.umn.edu/ill
The first time you log in, the ILL system will ask you to specify delivery settings and other preferences. Use ILL to request books and articles that the library doesn’t have. Digital Delivery will scan and deliver articles and chapters from our print collection via the same request forms. -
Download a citation manager.
lib.umn.edu/services/cm
A personal database to organize your papers and automatically create and format bibliographies. Start with Zotero, Mendeley, or Endnote. -
Register for an ORCiD if you plan to publish.
An ORCiD is a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and is often required for manuscript and grant submissions.
orcid.org to register.
z.umn.edu/orcid for more info. -
Reserve a carrel.
z.umn.edu/carrels
Wilson and Magrath Libraries have private carrels if you need a space to do library-intensive research. Magrath has limited availability. -
Sign up for a workshop.
z.umn.edu/workshops (citation managers & general library) + workshops.umn.edu (research tools & computing) +z.umn.edu/dmbootcamp (data management)
-
Bookmark the Political Science research guides.
A list of shortcuts to important research tools in your discipline.-
Political Science basic guide: libguides.umn.edu/political-science
-
Political Science advanced guide: libguides.umn.edu/political-science-advanced
-
What is a citation manager?
A citation manager is a software tool used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to:
- import and organize citation information from article indexes and other sources,
- export your citations into Word documents or other types of publications,
- format citations for your papers and bibliographies using APA and many other styles, and
- include your own notes.
Choosing a citation manager
Citation managers
| Feature | Zotero | Mendeley (not recommended) | EndNote 20 | EndNote Online |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cost | Free | Free | Price options | Free |
| Styles | Many citation styles | Many citation styles | Many citation styles | Fewer citation styles |
| Plug-ins | Microsoft Word, Google Docs | Microsoft Word (not compatible with UMN Office 365) | Microsoft Word | Microsoft Word |
| Access | Desktop/Web | Desktop/Web | Desktop/Web | Web |
| Storage | 300MB free | 2GB free | Unlimited | 2GB free |
| PDF reader | yes | yes | yes | no |
| Editor integration | Word, Google Docs | Word | Word | Word |
| Sharing | Unlimited | Limited | Unlimited | Limited |
| Support | Zotero support | Mendeley support | EndNote 20 support | EndNote Online support |
Extra Resources for TAs
If you are a TA for a class, there are some additional resources and options for support:
- Contact Molly for:
- Custom Library Course Pages (example: POL 3810)
- A Zoom classroom instruction session for your students
- If your students need one-on-one research help
- Course Reserves
- Instructor Support