- Web of ScienceA comprehensive interdisciplinary collection of journal article citations. Subjects generally covered are within science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
- Libraries SearchSearch the University of Minnesota Libraries to find books, scholarly journal articles, news, magazines, media, and other items in the University's collection. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
- SSRNEarly access to research papers across disciplines.
News & Reports: search 'startup ecosystem' or similar
- American City Business Journals (BizJournals)Find articles from the Minneapolis St. Paul Business on local companies and other organizations. Students, faculty and staff have full access to Minneapolis/St. Paul Business Journal, including Digital content across 18 different Industries, access to the Weekly Edition, Book of Lists, the Search Archives. Register for an account with a valid @umn.edu e-mail address using the link above. NOTE: Full text access only includes Minneapolis/St Paul market.
- FactivaSearch millions of newspapers, business magazines, and newswires with international and foreign language coverage with all editions of the Wall Street Journal. Financial information for publicly traded companies, stocks, funds, currencies, and common market indexes. Limited to 7 simultaneous users.
- Kauffman FoundationFind reports and insight on regional startup and entrepreneurial endeavors.
- Policy Commons and North American City ReportsSearch millions of documents on thousands of topics from the world’s leading policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs and NGOs as well as from North American cities. Featured topics include Black Lives Matter, COVID-19, Climate Change, Gender Equity, and reports from the 500 largest cities in North America.
Sources to analyze Private Equity & Public Firm Activity
- PitchBookUse PitchBook to search thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. Establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details.
- CB InsightsNational Science Foundation-backed company that uses data to provide Venture Capitalists, corporate strategy and Mergers & Acquisitions groups, and investment bankers with intelligence on emerging companies and disruptive technology trends.
- Preqin Venture CapitalInvestors, fund performance, firms, funds, fund terms, deals and exits, service providers and more. NEW: Note large file download requests require you to enter your UMN email, Smaller downloads will occur immediately without entering email. Contact firstname.lastname@example.org with questions.
- S&P Capital IQ PRO (with access to ESG and Panjiva Supply Chain)S&P Capital IQ PRO (formerly known as S&P Market Intelligence and SNL) is a platform that integrates real time and historical financial and industry data, research and news. Analyze thousands of global public and private companies, their ownership structure, and related transaction data. PRO provides access to a wide range of ESG (Environmental, Social and Governance) data and analytics and trade and supply chain data with Panjiva. See "More Info" for detailed account creation instructions first time users.
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact email@example.com ahead of your visit to arrange for login access.
Case Studies - full text as part of library subscription
- Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new windowSAGE Business Cases is a digital collection of business cases tailored to library needs – providing faculty, students and researchers with unlimited access to more than 4,850 authoritative cases from over 120 countries. SAGE curates interdisciplinary cases on in-demand subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. Publishing partners include Yale University, Kellogg School of Management, Society of Human Resource Management, and more.
For Instructors: additional teaching note material is available; please contact the library for more information on how to access this content.
- HS Talks Business & Management Collection This link opens in a new windowSpecially commissioned talks from leading experts in industry, commerce, the professions and academia. The collection also includes 20 peer reviewed vocational journals.
Sample Documents - results from using databases on this guide.
- Toward an Entrepreneurial Ecosystem Research ProgramThe concept of entrepreneurial ecosystems has gained enormous popularity within research, policy, and practitioner fields over the last decade. This review article provides background and context for future development.
- Why your organization needs an innovation ecosystem2019 Harvard Business Review article.
- The Effect of Accelerators on the Regional Entrepreneurial Ecosystem: Financing, Economic Development and Cluster FormationNBER research report. Recent years have seen the emergence of a new institutional form in the entrepreneurial ecosystem: the seed accelerator. These fixed-term, cohort-based, "boot camps" for startups offer educational and mentorship programs for startup founders, exposing them to wide variety of mentors, including former entrepreneurs, venture capitalists, angel investors, and corporate executives; and culminate in a public pitch event, or "demo day," during which the graduating cohort of startup companies pitch their businesses to a large group of potential investors.
- Where Louisville ranks among the best Midwest startup citiesFrom Factiva database. This article highlights the ecosystem of one city, but refers to the ranking of other cities in the region.
- Examining the Connections within the Startup Ecosystem: A Case Study of St. LouisArticle from 2017, published in Entrepreneurship Research Journal. The authors critically examine how an entrepreneurial ecosystem is structured using an exploratory and bottom-up approach.
- PitchBook/NVCA Venture Monitor Q3 2022A definitive review of the startup ecosystem. Find earlier editions of this report in the PitchBook database.
- Beyond Silicon ValleyA report released in 2021 by investment firm, Revolution's Rise of the Rest initiative. Using PitchBook data the authors show geographic transition of private equity funding.
- Outside of metro coastal cities, innovation and entrepreneurship riseA September 2022 story on the Kauffman Foundation site. Search the site to find more like this.
- Start-Up Ecosystem (StUpEco): A Conceptual Framework and Empirical ResearchResearch article published in 2022. Start-up development, success, and sustainability are affected by contextual factors that constitute a regional entrepreneurship ecosystem. Based on previous literature, we propose the conceptual framework Start-Up Ecosystem (StUpEco) that highlights the contextual drivers of a start-up business affected by the entrepreneurial ecosystem entities involved within the quadruple helix model.
- Startup Biases2022 Law Review article from SSRN that explores the role of the private sector in the innovation ecosystem through a race/gender bias lens.
- How the Geography of Startups and Innovation Is Changing2018 article from HBR. Link to the full text through the Business Source Premier database.
Last Updated: Mar 9, 2023 4:42 PM