Get Librarian Help
Let's Meet!
Or
Schedule an appointment for a virtual meeting with a business librarian.
Come in for Office Hours!
Update 06/2025: During summer sessions, in person office hours are not available. Please schedule a virtual appointment above!
Walk-in to meet our Business Reference Associate on Wednesdays from 1:00PM to 3:00PM in Walter Library's Toaster Innovation Hub. Ask for help with resumes, cover letters, business articles, business data, marketing reports, and a lot more.
Business homepage
- Business information websiteFind quick access to all of the business resources and databases on this homepage along with news, events, research guides, and video tutorials.
Business Librarians
Local+ Housing Resources
-
GuideStar: The National Database of Nonprofit OrganizationsInformation on nonprofit organizations in the United States that register with the Internal Revenue Service. Includes financial information, mission, programs, board of directories and historical 990 tax returns filed with the IRS with more detail about expenditures and revenue. Search for nonprofits by location, size, and types of services.
-
The National Affordable Housing Management AssociationThe National Affordable Housing Management Association (NAHMA) is the leading voice for the affordable housing management industry, promoting developing, managing and preserving quality affordable multifamily housing. NAHMA advocates for legislative and regulatory policy and provides affordable housing professionals with the knowledge to advance excellence in the communities they serve. NAHMA’s membership represents 75% of the affordable housing industry and includes its most distinguished multifamily owners and management companies.
-
Minnesota HousingA site with resources for all things regarding housing in Minnesota. Scroll down to mid-page and underneath the "I am a..." select the most appropriate option from the drop down menu to get started.
-
Minnesota Housing Partnership Research CenterThis is a valuable resource with regular publications such as "State of the State's Housing" and market research reports like "Minnesota Housing Profile 2023" .
-
HUD Handbook: Subsidized Multi-Family HousingThis handbook describes the occupancy requirements and procedures governing the HUD-subsidized multifamily housing programs identified in paragraph 1-2. The handbook also addresses the procedures by which households apply for housing and the rights and responsibilities of in-place tenants and property owners. C. This handbook is addressed to tenants, owners, managers, HUD Field Office Staff, Performance-Based Contract Administrators and Traditional Contract Administrators. The first points of contact regarding information in this handbook are Office of Multifamily Housing staff in the corresponding local HUD Field Office for an area. D. This handbook does not supersede any Contract Administrator’s or owner’s rights, obligations, or requirements. Where the Handbook references HUD or Contract Administrator, the Contract Administrator will only perform those tasks required under the provisions of their Annual Contributions Contract (ACC).
-
Sustainable Property Management
by
Call Number: 139.168.383.7Publication Date: 2023This textbook explains how ecologically sustainable concepts may be implemented throughout the various property management operation functions while also considering the other spheres of sustainability. It also incorporates the theme of sustainable building practices as a human science as well as a building science by highlighting motivations and impacts to various stakeholders. -
Affordable Housing
by
ISBN: 1642652199Publication Date: 2020-10-30This is located at the Crookston Campus library, but can be requested for Pick Up at the Wilson Library front desk. Click "Get it" to request.
This volume of The Reference Shelf tackles the controversial issues of affordable housing. A collection of primary and secondary sources provides an example of American thought and media coverage on issues such as mortgage rates and the availability of real estate, homelessness, the development and management of government-sponsored housing programs in the present and past, and the impact of home ownership on prosperity and the perception of the American Dream.
Market and Industry Research
-
EMIS ProfessionalFind company and industry information, reports, statistics, proprietary mergers and acquisitions, credit analytics, benchmark indicators and trend comparisons to help understand emerging markets.
-
IBIS World (Business)Search US and Global industry reports. Searches also bring up Business Environment Profiles that have key drivers and data, such as Number of Households and Realty Statistics.
-
MarketsandMarketsProvides detailed niche market research reports on current trends and industries; including Blockchain, Big Data, Sustainability, and Materials used in construction & engineering: Reports are read-only. Researchers may download report charts and tables. Please contact busref@umn.edu for details.
-
Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowCreate customized maps and reports of demographic, housing, and employment patterns throughout the United States using data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Census data available from 1790 to the present. Includes additional data types such as crime, health, election, and development indicators.
-
Sage Data This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Select the "Population and Income" option to compare housing and demographic datasets.
-
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowCreate custom maps and reports on SimplyAnalytics using extensive data on demographics, consumers, real estate, housing, employment, crime, health, and more. Data includes Nielsen Scarborough local insights and crosstabs, AGS Census, Claritas PRIZM consumer segment, MRI Simmons consumer survey data, consumer expenditures and buying power, as well as public data sources such as the US Census, American Community Survey, FBI uniform crime reports, NOAA climate data, and CDC health data.
Limited to 5 simultaneous users. "Sign in as a guest" if you do not wish to register for a free personal account. A personal account allows you to save your work.
Articles/News/Cases
-
Business Source PremierFind business articles from journals and magazines in marketing, management, information technology, operations, human resources, accounting, finance and economics dating back to 1965.
-
Google Scholar (Setup connection to get to PDFs)Use Google Scholar to find articles from academic publishers, professional societies, research institutes, and scholarly repositories from colleges and universities. If you are using from off-campus access, change the "Library Settings" to University of Minnesota Twin Cities. Look for the "FindIt@U of M Twin Cities" links in your Google Scholar search results to access full text and PDFs. View this tutorial to learn how to go from a general idea to a very precise set of results of journal articles and scholarly materials.
-
Access World NewsFull-text news from over 9,000 news sources in the U.S. and international newspapers, major wire services, and hundreds of local broadcasting outlets and blogs. There are over 100 Minnesota sources. Mostly English language news coverage with some 200 titles in Spanish, French, Afrikaans and other languages.
-
Sage Business Cases This link opens in a new windowA digital collection of business cases – providing faculty, students and researchers with unlimited access to more than 4,850 interdisciplinary cases from over 120 countries on subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more. For instructors: Before creating an account, please contact busref@umn.edu for access to additional teaching materials.
Financial and Economic Research
-
S&P Capital IQ PRO (with access to ESG and Supply Chain)University students, staff, and faculty must create a user profile. Click "New User?" and input your UMN credentials to gain access. Credentials will then work for both Capital IQ and Capital IQ PRO.
Standard & Poor's Capital IQ is a resource for financial data, analytics, and research. The web-based platform combines deep information on public and private companies, markets, and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. Capital IQ includes access to Aftermarket Research, an extensive collection of embargoed analyst research reports, offering coverage across more than 1,800 research providers including 30 million+ reports (current & historical back to 1995).
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu 2 business days ahead of your visit to arrange for login access. -
Mergent Online (Business)Profiles of public corporations around the world that includes summaries, company histories, property, financials, subsdiaries, joint ventures, long term, press release and historical annual reports.
Last Updated: Jun 23, 2025 12:09 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/CCESpring2024