ECON 4431W: International Trade

There is UN Comtrade data here. However, you have to get the data for one at a time and one trade flow at a time. For twenty years of data of imports and exports, that will be 40 separate downloads. In order to create custom queries, you can register for a free account. There should be no charge for the Comtrade data.

OECD iLibrary International Trade by Commodities Statistics provides trade statistics for 36 OECD member reporter countries crossed with much larger list of partner countries/entities. Harmonized system allows refining on several parameters: reporter countries partner countries, commodities, measure, flow, time. Related interactive statistical databases available under OECD.Stat cross-database query. To view data, go to Datasets Archived (Discontinued).

The U.S. Department of Agriculture's Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS) offers several different databases for data on international agricultural trade. These databases are maintained by FAS and other U.S. government agencies. Coverage varies widely and some statistics can be found in print publications back to the 1920s or even earlier.

Includes data on agricultural production and consumption for countries around the world. 1960-present.

The STAN Database for Structural Analysis (ISIC Rev. 3) or (ISIC Rev. 4) - have statistics on industry production/output, labor costs, employment rates, hours worked and wages. Overall time range is 1970-present with a two-year lag.

"STAN Indicators" has labor productivity indexes and labor cost indexes. Overall time range is 1970-present with a two-year lag.

The image below shows how to navigate to the STAN datasets within the OECD iLibrary interface:

ILOSTAT is a statistics database maintained by the International Labor Organization (previously LABORSTA). The ILOSTAT database contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies. Indicators include labor population, employment, unemployment, salaries, labor costs, strikes, and occupational injuries. It relies heavily on official data submission from national authorities.

1980-present with some projections. Data access via maps with exportable tables.

49 price series; 1980-present. Monthly. List of available data and Frequently Asked Questions.

UNCTAD is the principal organ of the United Nations General Assembly in the field of trade and development. UNCTAD works within the United Nations for the integrated treatment of development and interrelated issues in the areas of trade, finance, technology, investment and sustainable development.

International data on minerals including prices, employment, wages and major employers.

1980-present with some projections. Data access via maps with exportable tables.

Only source in the Libraries of consistent, comparable production expressed in physical quantities. Preceded by the Industrial statistics yearbook, 1982-1991 and the Yearbook of industrial statistics, 1974-1981.

Simpler of the two WTO Tariff databases. Good for tariffs as reported by countries other than the US. The User Guide is very helpful for understanding data provided. 1996-present.

Good for tariffs as reported by countries other than the US. The site provides explanations of jargon as well as instructions for use. 1996-present.

Requires free registration for each user.

Direct access to trade data, not tariff information (despite the name). Use "Quick Query". Make sure to look at the definitions for the values provided. Consider using the SITC classification system since it's also used in UNComtrade. Tariffs reported by the US (e.g. US tariffs on other countries and what the US reports was charged on US products exported). 1989-present.

The World Trade Organization Statistics Database allows you to retrieve statistical information from 1948- in the following ways:
-The Trade Profiles section provides predefined information leaflets on the trade situation of members, observers and other selected economies;
-The Tariff Profiles provide information on the market access situation of members, observers and other selected economies.
-The Time Series section allows an interactive data retrieval of trade statistics. Available data sets include merchandise trade by commodity group from 1980- for individual countries.

Central reference point for tables and maps made available on the Internet by the World Bank. Also includes information on methods, modelling tools and technical assistance for users of World Bank statistics.

This database provides international statistics on all major social and economic subjects.

1980-present with some projections. Data access via maps with exportable tables.

IFS (International Financial Statistics) Online provides statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance from 1948-. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.

UNCTAD is the principal organ of the United Nations General Assembly in the field of trade and development. UNCTAD works within the United Nations for the integrated treatment of development and interrelated issues in the areas of trade, finance, technology, investment and sustainable development.

Penn World Tables provide a number of variations on measures of GDP, PPP and capital stock for 182 countries from 1950-2014.

The Eurostat website contains a mix of statistical information in PDF pages, pre-defined tables and interactive databases. The coverage varies by topic, but some data goes back at least to 1929. All content is freely available.

Inward and outward foreign direct investment, 1970-present and 1980-present.