Economics Data Resources

Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository.

Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Data can be accessed by searching or browsing by industry, topic, country, digital market or infographic. The Global Consumer Survey offers a global perspective on consumption and media usage, covering the offline and online world of the consumer. It is designed to help marketers, planners and product managers understand consumer behavior and consumer interactions with brands.

OECD iLibrary is the online publications portal of the 38-country Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (https://www.oecd.org/about/members-and-partners/). OECD iLibrary contains thousands of e-books, chapters, tables and graphs, papers, articles, summaries, indicators, databases, and podcasts. All content will be Open Access beginning in July 2024. Content is also indexed via Policy Commons.

Coverage: OECD Books, Papers and Statistics, International Energy Agency (IEA) Statistical Databases, & International Trade by Commodity Statistics

Search statistical publications from US and state government agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.

Created by the Council for Community and Economic Research, this database includes the following: Cost of Living Index, State Business Incentives Database, State Economic Development Program Expenditures Database, and Diversity Index.

Data and statistics on online stores and markets from around the world. Includes revenue analytics, competitor analysis, market development, marketing budget, and other key performance indicators (KPIs) such as traffic, shipping providers, mobile app analytics, and more.

A database of elections data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical materials to help researchers investigate and understand voting and elections in America from 1789-present.

Search and find social science datasets, both publicly and privately collected and published. This includes data sets for US and other countries that cover demographics and census, opinion polls, urban studies, education, economics, geography, legal systems, governments and elections, political behavior and attitudes, health care and other social indicators. To download data and resources, create a free personal account by clicking the "Log In" on the top right and selecting "Create Account." Use your University of Minnesota email address.

IPUMS provides census & survey data from around the world. Includes: USA; Current Population Survey (CPS); International; Global Health; NHGIS; IHGIS; Time Use; Health Surveys; & Higher Ed.

UN Comtrade is the largest and most detailed database of international trade data available. It supports research into bilateral trade of individual commodities (e.g. trade of wool between Uraguay and the USA). Commodities are classified according to SITC, the Harmonized System (HS), and Broad Economic Categories (BEC). Data are available annually and monthly from 1962-present. Bulk API access available through library subscription. When creating an account for full access, choose the "Google" option and login with your UMN email address. Detailed instructions on how to create a personal account are available at the following URL: https://uncomtrade.org/docs/premium-subscribers/

UN Comtrade is the largest and most detailed database of international trade data available. It supports research into bilateral trade of individual commodities (e.g. trade of wool between Uraguay and the USA). Commodities are classified according to SITC, the Harmonized System (HS), and Broad Economic Categories (BEC). Data are available annually and monthly from 1962-present. Bulk API access available through library subscription. When creating an account for full access, choose the "Google" option and login with your UMN email address. Detailed instructions on how to create a personal account are available at the following URL: https://uncomtrade.org/docs/premium-subscribers/

FAOSTAT, from the Food and Agriculture Organization, contains over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in the following areas: Production, Trade, Food Balance Sheets, Fertilizer and Pesticides, Land Use and Irrigation, Forest Products, Fishery Products, Population, Agricultural Machinery and Food Aid Shipments from 1961 to the present.

Find statistics of overall industrial growth for countries complied by the United Nations. Find detailed data on business structure and statistics on major indicators of industrial performance by country in the historical time series.

The variables in the INDSTAT databases are: number of establishments, number of employees, wages and salaries, output, value added, gross fixed capital formation, number of female employees.

The 4-digit level is the most detailed, 2-digit less detailed. Further information and descriptions available here.

OECD iLibrary is the online publications portal of the 38-country Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (https://www.oecd.org/about/members-and-partners/). OECD iLibrary contains thousands of e-books, chapters, tables and graphs, papers, articles, summaries, indicators, databases, and podcasts. All content will be Open Access beginning in July 2024. Content is also indexed via Policy Commons.

Coverage: OECD Books, Papers and Statistics, International Energy Agency (IEA) Statistical Databases, & International Trade by Commodity Statistics

Search statistical publications from US and state government agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.

Search statistical publications from US and state government agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.

IPUMS provides census & survey data from around the world. Includes: USA; Current Population Survey (CPS); International; Global Health; NHGIS; IHGIS; Time Use; Health Surveys; & Higher Ed.

The IPUMS project is a collaboration of the Minnesota Population Center, National Statistical Offices, and international data archives. Major funding is provided by the U.S. National Science Foundation and the Demographic and Behavioral Sciences Branch of the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development. Additional support is provided by the University of Minnesota Office of the Vice President for Research and the Minnesota Population Center.

Minnesota Population Center datasets are available to researchers who complete an online registration form and agree to use the data responsibility.

Offers the ability to create customized maps and reports of demographic, housing, and employment patterns throughout the United States using data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

iPOLL is a collection of polling sources from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. It includes surveys from 150 polling organizations that include all major news outlets, Gallup polls, and other research institutions. Use these polls to compare public opinion from 1935-present on a range of issues.

Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 700,000+ questions and responses, from 18,000+ surveys and 1,700+ polling organizations, conducted from 1986 through the present in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world. Limited to 4 simultaneous users.

Gallup Analytics provides trends in public opinion polling, using Gallup US Daily Poll questions and Gallup World Poll questions . Output formats include tables for time-series trends, charts and scatterplots, and maps for individual poll question responses. Questions in the World Poll vary by year and country. Gallup has a tool for identifying questions and when they were asked in a country. The subscription to Gallup Analytics includes mediated access to Gallup poll data for the US Daily Poll and World Poll. Contact library staff at busref@umn.edu for more information.