Business Homepage
- Business Information WebsiteFind quick access to all of the business resources and databases on this homepage along with news, events, research guides, and video tutorials.
Remote help and contact
Have business research questions? Ask us!
Contact the business librarians at busref@umn.edu for research help
Looking for in-depth help? Let's meet!
Schedule an appointment for a virtual meeting with a business librarian @ calendly.com/busref
Come in for Office Hours!
Walk-in to meet our Business Reference Associate on Wednesdays from 1:00PM to 3:00PM in Walter Library's Toaster Innovation Hub. Ask for help with resumes, cover letters, business articles, business data, marketing reports, and a lot more.
Getting started ...
- Statistical Insight This link opens in a new windowSearch statistical publications from US and state government agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowProvides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository.
- IFS OnlineIFS (International Financial Statistics) Online provides statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance from 1948-. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowOECD iLibrary is the online publications portal of the 38-country Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (https://www.oecd.org/about/members-and-partners/). OECD iLibrary contains thousands of e-books, chapters, tables and graphs, papers, articles, summaries, indicators, databases, and podcasts. All content will be Open Access beginning in July 2024. Content is also indexed via Policy Commons.
Coverage: OECD Books, Papers and Statistics, International Energy Agency (IEA) Statistical Databases, & International Trade by Commodity Statistics
For additional resources, see the Comprehensive Guide for Government Data & Statistics.
Country Economic & Political Risk Data
- International Financial Statistics (IFS) OnlineSearch statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, (i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, population, government accounts, and national accounts).
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowOECD iLibrary is the online publications portal of the 34-country Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. OECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD, and hosts all content so users can find - and cite - tables and databases as easily as articles or chapters. Video User Guide.
- UNdataThis database provides international statistics on all major social and economic subjects.
- WDI OnlineWDI (World Development Indicators) Online contains statistics for over 550 indicators from 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Subjects include: social welfare, economies, natural resources, and the environment. Data may not be available for all years for all countries.
- FitchConnect (formerly BMI Research) This link opens in a new windowUMN affiliates: Please email busref@umn.edu to request an account.
Detailed reports on global industrial and municipal markets, companies and nonprofits, emphasizing emerging markets. Include extensive country risk and credit ratings, macroeconomic and financial analysis, and ESG scores. Find intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes.
US Census Information
- IPUMSProvides census microdata and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. Microdata allows the user to extract data at the individual response level, allowing for detailed and specific variable analysis
- Census Bureau Economic StatisticsThe Census Bureau collects data every five years for every industry. This portal provides access to national, state, county, and local statistics from the Economic Census and monthly economic indicator reports.
Corporate Data: Financials, Ownership, Executives
- Mergent Online (Business)Profiles of public corporations around the world that includes summaries, company histories, property, financials, subsdiaries, joint ventures, long term, press release and historical annual reports.
- S&P Capital IQ (with access to Aftermarket Research)University students, staff, and faculty must create a user profile. Click "New User?" and input your UMN credentials to gain access. Credentials will then work for both Capital IQ and Capital IQ PRO.
Standard & Poor's Capital IQ is a resource for financial data, analytics, and research. The web-based platform combines deep information on public and private companies, markets, and people worldwide with robust tools for analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. Capital IQ includes access to Aftermarket Research, an extensive collection of embargoed analyst research reports, offering coverage across more than 1,800 research providers including 30 million+ reports (current & historical back to 1995).
Guest users not affiliated with the University, please contact busref@umn.edu 2 business days ahead of your visit to arrange for login access. - PitchBookPitchbook is a mediated-access database. Please see Additional Information. Use PitchBook to search thousands of private equity and venture capital deals by hundreds of criteria. Establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details.
- Preqin Venture CapitalInvestors, fund performance, firms, funds, fund terms, deals and exits, service providers and more. Note: You must be connected to the University's VPN or Eduroam in order to access. Large file download requests require you to enter your UMN email, Smaller downloads will occur immediately without entering email. Contact busref@umn.edu with questions.
- PrivCoDatabase of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
This resource requires creation of a personal account using U of MN e-mail address. - Orbis (Company Research)The University Libraries no longer subscribes to this resource due to economic sanctions required by Moody’s. For interglobal company data please visit EMIS Professional or Capital IQ Pro
Orbis delivers information on over 170 million public and private companies across the globe. The information includes: financial strength metrics and projected financials, associated news and independent research, extensive corporate ownership structures and beneficial ownership, original filed documents, individuals associated with companies, global M&A deals and rumors. - CB InsightsNational Science Foundation-backed company that uses data to provide Venture Capitalists, corporate strategy and Mergers & Acquisitions groups, and investment bankers with intelligence on emerging companies and disruptive technology trends.
- Data Explr This link opens in a new windowProvides access to more than 45 years of U.S. private company listings either as view-only or as manipulatable data. Content includes sales figures, employee counts, SIC Codes, addresses and family tree. Download specific years or a range of years of information. University of Minnesota subscription includes the D&B Historical Data File. Individual account creation using UMN email is required.
Corporate Affiliations Historical Data Files (1993-2015)
The access to the Corporate Affiliations Historical Data Files (1993-2015) remains available to researchers for downloading. Please send your request for access to this data to: busref@umn.edu.
Data set field descriptions are also available.
- Bloomberg ProfessionalNews and analytics for over 129 countries and 250 exchanges for the financial services industry. Offerings include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing, news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies.
Bloomberg Professional desktop is available in Wilson Library (West Bank Campus), and laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster). See access instructions below.
Using Bloomberg Professional in Wilson Library. Direct specific questions to the Libraries business specialists: busref@umn.edu.
Using Bloomberg Professional laptops in Walter Library (for use in the Toaster)
Minnesota Business/Economic Data
- Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic DevelopmentThe Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development is the state's principal economic development agency, with programs promoting business recruitment, expansion and retention, workforce development, international trade, community development and tourism. The department employs all available state government resources to upgrade the skills of Minnesota's workforce, foster economic independence and self-sufficiency, increase nonresident and resident tourism revenue, and facilitate an economic environment that produces net new job growth in excess of the national average.
- Federal Reserve Bank of MinneapolisThe Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis offers analysis, papers, research and policy writing on a variety of economic topics that impact the Fed's Ninth District region and its overall economy. Resources available include the Regional Economic Outlook, Ninth District Economic Forecasts, Ninth District Data, Agricultural Credit Conditions, Manufacturing Surveys, Professional Service Firms Survey, Beige Book, and the Ninth District Summary.
- Minnesota Secretary of State - Economic and Business Conditions ReportsThese quarterly reports from Secretary of State Steve Simon, in partnership with the St. Cloud State University School of Public Affairs Research Institute analyze Minnesota on a regional basis and present customized economic reviews and forecasts based on a comprehensive examination of several datasets, including business filings (incorporations, limited liability companies, non-profits, etc.), where businesses are being created in the state, labor market conditions (employment, unemployment, job vacancies, etc.), and much more.
Economic Time Series and Data Sets
- Bureau of Economic AnalysisBEA's national, regional, and international economic accounts present basic information on such key issues as U.S. economic growth, regional economic development, and the Nation's position in the world economy. Access to their statistics and the data used to derive the statistics comes in multiple forms, from static tables to downloadable data files for statistical analysis.
--The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) makes its Gross State Product, Regional Economic Information System (REIS), and foreign direct investment data available on its Web site. You can also use this site to access BEA's national income account data and its publication of record, the Survey of Current Business. - Data on the NetSearch or browse the listing of Internet sites of numeric Social Science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more.
- ECONDataThis Web site is a starting point for locating guides to regional economic activity. It provides 1,000 links to socioeconomic data sources, arranged by subject and provider and pointers to the Web's best data collections.
- Economagic.comThis Web site is a starting point for locating guides to regional economic activity. It provides 1,000 links to socioeconomic data sources, arranged by subject and provider and pointers to the Web's best data collections.
- EconStatsEconStats is a concise presentation of economic data and news from countries around the world. The data for EconStats is collected from a variety of sources, including government statistical agencies, private research organizations and investment banks. They also have an archived chat file on the page.
- FRED - Federal Reserve Economic DataThis site offers a wealth of economic data and information, including daily U.S. interest rates, monetary and business indicators, exchange rates, balance of payments regional economic data, and more. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.
- FRASERThe Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) is compiled by Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. This site provides access to historical economic statistics and data including economic indicators, banking and monetary statistics, business conditions, productivity, costs, and other time series.
- Economic Data from the Federal Reserve Bank in MinneapolisFeatures the Beige Book and BancSearch.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new windowSearch and find social science datasets, both publicly and privately collected and published. This includes data sets for US and other countries that cover demographics and census, opinion polls, urban studies, education, economics, geography, legal systems, governments and elections, political behavior and attitudes, health care and other social indicators. To download data and resources, create a free personal account by clicking the "Log In" on the top right and selecting "Create Account." Use your University of Minnesota email address.
- TaxStatsTaxStats from the Internal Revenue Service provide comprehensive statistical data. Use this source to find a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.
- WDI OnlineWDI (World Development Indicators) Online contains statistics for over 550 indicators from 1960 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Subjects include: social welfare, economies, natural resources, and the environment. Data may not be available for all years for all countries.
Frequently Requested Statistics
- How much is that?Have you ever wondered what the value of a dollar was in 1895? Or what the GDP was in 1929? Here is a place where you can ask questions of comparative value covering purchasing power, exchange rates, and other variables between the past and today.
Last Updated: Nov 20, 2024 3:18 PM
URL: https://libguides.umn.edu/business_statistics_data