ECON 4721: Money and Banking

UN Comtrade is the largest and most detailed database of international trade data available. It supports research into bilateral trade of individual commodities (e.g. trade of wool between Uraguay and the USA). Commodities are classified according to SITC, the Harmonized System (HS), and Broad Economic Categories (BEC). Data are available annually and monthly from 1962-present. Bulk API access available through library subscription. When creating an account for full access, choose the "Google" option and login with your UMN email address. Detailed instructions on how to create a personal account are available at the following URL: https://uncomtrade.org/docs/premium-subscribers/

Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository.

Statista provides statistical data on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Sources include market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Data can be accessed by searching or browsing by industry, topic, country, digital market or infographic. The Global Consumer Survey offers a global perspective on consumption and media usage, covering the offline and online world of the consumer. It is designed to help marketers, planners and product managers understand consumer behavior and consumer interactions with brands.

OECD iLibrary is the online publications portal of the 38-country Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (https://www.oecd.org/about/members-and-partners/). OECD iLibrary contains thousands of e-books, chapters, tables and graphs, papers, articles, summaries, indicators, databases, and podcasts. All content will be Open Access beginning in July 2024. Content is also indexed via Policy Commons.

Coverage: OECD Books, Papers and Statistics, International Energy Agency (IEA) Statistical Databases, & International Trade by Commodity Statistics

Search statistical publications from US and state government agencies, international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, business organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, and universities.

Created by the Council for Community and Economic Research, this database includes the following: Cost of Living Index, State Business Incentives Database, State Economic Development Program Expenditures Database, and Diversity Index.

Data and statistics on online stores and markets from around the world. Includes revenue analytics, competitor analysis, market development, marketing budget, and other key performance indicators (KPIs) such as traffic, shipping providers, mobile app analytics, and more.

A database of elections data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical materials to help researchers investigate and understand voting and elections in America from 1789-present.